We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Oslo
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very central location”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in the perfect location. The room was generous in size, clean and comfortable. The bathroom is rather small. The hotel is undergoing some remodelling which we could not hear in the bedroom but we could hear in the breakfast room in fact at times we were not able to hear each other. The staff are polite and helpful and the breakfast was very good once the noise stopped. They provided gluten free bread and I was able to find enough that was gluten and lactose free although this did rule out the majority of what was on offer. They had fresh carrot juice which was delicious.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    342
    106
    42
    16
See reviews for
182
555
124
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Hotel Continental is a true pearl. The interiour is exquisite, the staff is friendly and efficient, the food is excellent and the atmosphere is homely, yet exclusive. The history and the traditions of a long line of family owners are in the walls, and it is obvious that the owner/management have eyes for all the the little details that makes you feel relaxed and appreciated as a guest.Always looking forward to come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuridElisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I use this hotel regularly, fantastic service and has the best restaurant in Oslo (with a christmas serving that is amazing!) Rooms are stylish and comfortable, I would highly recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nstaff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Excellent hotel just across the street from the National Theatre and train stop. The bed was luxuriously comfortable. The included breakfast was exquisite - made to order omelets and waffles plus a buffet with everything you could think of beautifully presented. The hotel is undergoing some remodeling so there was a little noise in the afternoon in the bar when we were having drinks. Remember though that this is a luxury hotel in Norway which is already quite expensive. But this room was only 25% more a night than other hotels we stayed at in Norway so considering that, it was good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It is supposed to be one of the nicest hotels in Oslo, with lot of history behind it. On the plus side, it is very centrally located, and has a great restaurant (the "moules-frites" are to die for). Service is very friendly. On negative side, it is quite pricey. But I think Oslo is a very expensive city in general. Also, my wife and I now prefer more modern hotels.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BecharaYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

For nearly US$500 per night the heat is "on central service but we can bring a space heater for you" even though the room thermostat is on the highest setting. I'm just looking for a room temp above 65F which should be simple when it's about 30f outside. Oh, and SkyTV nor BBC are not working due to service issues....so enjoy CNN as your sole English channel. For the price, amenities should match. They absolutely do not. I am a world traveler. I know what my money gets me in various countries. This hotel is sub-par relative to the price. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zou95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Hotel Continental is so fantastic. Location, service, atmosphere - it so great. I have been there a lot of times the last 10 years and it is only getting better as well. Especially the restaurant Theatercafeen. Last week I stayed in one of the modernized room and it was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#14 of 100 in Oslo
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
1,606 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
777 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Oslo

Property: Hotel Continental Oslo
Address: Stortingsgata 24-26, Oslo 0161, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Continental Oslo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family runned property, centrally located in the middle of Oslo nearby Nationaltheatre station where the Airport Express Train stops. Hotel Continental can proudly present 155 beautiful suites and hotel rooms perfect for corporate and Leisure travellers. The unique Meeting and Event facilities serves customized menus and five star service. And the legendary and very popular restaurant Theatercafeen is still the place to see and to be seen- don`t miss the atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing