We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Afternoon tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Continental Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Continental Oslo
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Perfect for Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a stylish and very comfortable hotel with a lovely front room perfect for afternoon tea or cocktails. The service is great - attentive but not intrusive and the big cosey couches and warm ambience make this the perfect meeting place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    328
    102
    42
    16
See reviews for
170
519
118
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
209 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful stay in this classic, elegant, hotel. The staff is warm, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The location is perfect... you are in the heart of the city. We had a fantastic suite. This is where we will stay on our next visit to Oslo!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelContinentalOslo, Daglig leder at Hotel Continental Oslo, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Mark T. I am happy to read that you describe your stay at Hotel Continental as wounderful, and I really appreciate your nice comments about our staff. Welcome back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansund, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I must first say: Wow!

This hotel is very elegant, cozy, relaxing, romantic, and very good value for money.

I stayed three nights in a 40 square meter Deluxe room and loved the brightness and spaciousness.

The hotel is extremely comfortable, quiet, discreet and beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. The staff is very friendly and helpful, attending to your every need to make this a wonderful experience.

Access to public transportation, bus and trams, and the center of town is less than a minute walk away making it a perfect choice for those who want to be close to everything.

Without a doubt I can recommend this hotel! I will defintely stay here again when travelling to Oslo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farsund, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Classic family owned city centre hotel vis a vis the National Theatre. Undoubtedly the finest hotel experience in Norway with fantastic service.
At other five star hotels we sometimes feel the staff are diverted to serve socalled celebrities or arab princes or whatever, but not at Continental. You have their attention 110 per cent at all times, never any waiting.
Your desires are satisfied almost before you become aware of them yourself :-)
This is the Ritz of Oslo, but even better service and much more charming and friendly. And enormously less expensive. Only at Shangi La Valley Wing I have experienced similar attention and service.

Dont forget to dine at Theatercafeen, a wonderful Belle Epoque Viennese style cafe full of poets, actors and interesting people and mercifully free of noisy loudtalking tourists ;-)

Room Tip: All roms are fine, but rooms facing Klingenberggaten may have some noise from a nearby nightclub at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with the best location in Oslo. The hotel is going through a refurbishment which will improve a lot of the facilities which only add to the bow. It is a charming hotel with a great bar. The rooms are fresh and modern and the staff is always there to help. Would recommend over any other Oslo hotel

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank L82London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Frequently travelling in Norway, I can say that there is simply no other hotel that compares to Hotel Continental! I have stayed in many of the hotel's rooms during the last few years and I have never been let down by the quality - even in the older classic rooms (that are now all being updated). This time I had a Jr Suite and all the amenities were excellent, furniture comfortable for both work and relaxing and a very comfortable bed, you will definitely have a great night's sleep. As classically beautiful as the hotel is, the real stars are the staff. The service is impeccable, from doormen, front desk, bell men and housekeeping. Don't miss having good time for the breakfast which is absolutely topclass - and in the afternoon/evening a drink at the downstairs bar, Dagligstuen, very classy and historic with the Munch collection! To me this Continental is like a Rolls Royce - there may be more flashy options out there in Oslo and Norway, but Continental sets the standard they're all trying to catch up with.

Room Tip: In Summer, try to get one of the Jr Suites with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thrascfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I spent two nights here on the 5th to 7th April 2014, to celebrate a significant wedding anniversary. We were met on arrival by the most helpful doorman, had a very pleasant greeting from the Guest Relations Manager and Receptionist, who congratulated us on our anniversary and told us that we had been given a room upgrade to a Junior Suite. The room was just perfect.
Breakfast in the Caroline Restaurant was very good, both hot and cold buffets are well stocked with high quality food and freshly squeezed juices (the pastries are to die for).

Our celebration dinner in the Theatrecaféen restaurant was superb. Excellent professional service, delicious menus and fine wines served in a truly amazing and stylish room with live piano and opera singing in the background; a terrific atmosphere for such an occasion.

We could not find fault with this hotel or its friendly, efficient and helpful staff.

This hotel is perfectly position in the centre of Oslo, with easy access to the many sights being close to the underground, bus and tram stops. The high speed "Flytoget" train from the airport stops just a block away which is a bonus.

Just perfect for us and much appreciated. 10/10 and a Gold Star for the Hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PopsPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelContinentalOslo, Daglig leder at Hotel Continental Oslo, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear PopsPeter, Again - Happy Anniversary to both of you! I am so happy to hear that we were able to create a good atmosphere for your very special occasion. I have just shared your wounderful comments with our employees, and this really inspires us in our daily work! Thank you so much and welcome back for your next anniversary! Best regards, Karin Holme, general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#17 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Oslo

Property: Hotel Continental Oslo
Address: Stortingsgata 24-26, Oslo 0161, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Continental Oslo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family runned property, centrally located in the middle of Oslo nearby Nationaltheatre station where the Airport Express Train stops. Hotel Continental can proudly present 155 beautiful suites and hotel rooms perfect for corporate and Leisure travellers. The unique Meeting and Event facilities serves customized menus and five star service. And the legendary and very popular restaurant Theatercafeen is still the place to see and to be seen- don`t miss the atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Continental Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing