We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Oslo
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim Municipality, Norway
1 review
“Fantastic hotel with a great location!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hotel Continental is a uniqe hotel, and a stay here gives you a luxurious feeling!
It is a kind of "old-fashioned" service you experience, a feeling of being taken good care of.
We stayed in a newly renovated room, and the attention to details is overwhelming. The bathroom was also very spacious. I must also mention the breakfast, which was superb, and the staff in the breakfastroom who is right there for you.
We look forward to visiting you again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mai16mai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    342
    106
    42
    16
See reviews for
182
555
124
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I had the chance to stay at Hotel Continental during a business trip in April. Although there might be newer and trendier options in Oslo, Continental delivers warm, classy and timeless service throughout. The location is unbeatable, right in the center of the city and just a short walk away from the harbour. The hotel has undergone mayor renovation during the last years, with a sophisticated style with high quality materials. I stayed in a renovated room, which was lovely. Aparently, the hotel is about to finalize its last round of renovations this year, which will include the remaing old guest rooms and function rooms. Make sure to save enough time for breakfast - it's delicious! I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PA1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great location, great style, very nice lobby bar, good breakfast, nice staff. But there was a lot of noise in the street outside at night (side street, music and shouting). And the bathroom was worn and seemed not to be clean (discolored toilet bowl etc). All in all not worth the (very steep) price.

Room Tip: Avoid the side street with bars/music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelContinentalOslo, Daglig leder at Hotel Continental Oslo, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Vegard T.
Thank you for you good review of Hotel Continentals location, style, lobby-bar, breakfast and our staff. I really appreciate that! I would also like to apologize for your experience with the the noise from the outside bar and the bathroom in your room. I would really appreciate it if you would contact me directly and give me some more information so I could look more closely into the matter. Best regards, Karin Holme, General Manager ( Karin.Holme@hotelcontinental.no)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ytre Enebakk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We live close to Oslo, and spent recently a night here at our wedding anniversery. This is a great and exclusive hotel - yet friendly and relaxing. The hotel holds a very strong and reputable position in Oslo. It is "one of a kind", as is does not belong to one of the Norwegian hotel Chains. This gives it a certain uniqueness.

The staff is friendly and seem to thrive. Therefore I felt very appreciated here. We had a great stay with view towards the ocean and right next to an well-established part of the Oslo nightlife.

Have a nice trip to Oslo ! :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelContinentalOslo, Daglig leder at Hotel Continental Oslo, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Anne Marie H. Thank you for you good review of Hotel Continental! You write that we have "a certain uniqueness", and I am glad you describe us this way. Since we are not part of a hotel chain, uniqueness is our privilege, and something we work for every day. I am also very happy to hear that you felt appreciated as a guest while you stayed with us. Our wounderful guests are an important part of Hotel Continentals uniqueness. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a stylish and very comfortable hotel with a lovely front room perfect for afternoon tea or cocktails. The service is great - attentive but not intrusive and the big cosey couches and warm ambience make this the perfect meeting place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful stay in this classic, elegant, hotel. The staff is warm, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The location is perfect... you are in the heart of the city. We had a fantastic suite. This is where we will stay on our next visit to Oslo!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelContinentalOslo, Daglig leder at Hotel Continental Oslo, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Mark T. I am happy to read that you describe your stay at Hotel Continental as wounderful, and I really appreciate your nice comments about our staff. Welcome back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansund, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I must first say: Wow!

This hotel is very elegant, cozy, relaxing, romantic, and very good value for money.

I stayed three nights in a 40 square meter Deluxe room and loved the brightness and spaciousness.

The hotel is extremely comfortable, quiet, discreet and beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. The staff is very friendly and helpful, attending to your every need to make this a wonderful experience.

Access to public transportation, bus and trams, and the center of town is less than a minute walk away making it a perfect choice for those who want to be close to everything.

Without a doubt I can recommend this hotel! I will defintely stay here again when travelling to Oslo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#14 of 100 in Oslo
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
1,606 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
777 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Oslo

Property: Hotel Continental Oslo
Address: Stortingsgata 24-26, Oslo 0161, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Continental Oslo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family runned property, centrally located in the middle of Oslo nearby Nationaltheatre station where the Airport Express Train stops. Hotel Continental can proudly present 155 beautiful suites and hotel rooms perfect for corporate and Leisure travellers. The unique Meeting and Event facilities serves customized menus and five star service. And the legendary and very popular restaurant Theatercafeen is still the place to see and to be seen- don`t miss the atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing