We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Graet location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Continental Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Continental Oslo
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Graet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

A lovely hotel in walking distance to nearly all tourist sites. Renovation is in progress but was isolated so well that you did not hear or notice anything. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff is extremely helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    328
    102
    42
    16
See reviews for
170
520
118
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel Continental Oslo is located right in the main street in the middle of everything. We stayed a week in this hotel and had a double de luxe.
Very comfortable real king bed. The room was spacious, comfortable and the temperature was perfect. I didn't have to fiddle with the aircon controls as I do in many places. Exceptionally good service. Friendly and courteous staff.
The breakfast was perfect with excellent cafe and great restaurants and bars just down the street nearby Aker Brygge.
You will not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great location and close to city centre. Staff are very helpful and the concierge desk is one of the best we have encountered. Breakfast was great and the room very comfortable. Would certainly recommend hotel to anyone planning a visit to Oslo

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santos, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent only 2 nights at the Continental last summer and our stay was very nice. The hotel is very well located, close to many restaurants, shops and landmarks. You are also a 5-10 minute walk to the beautiful Pier, crowded of people from afternoon to evening, where you'll find many bars with music and restaurants too, very nice!!

This is not a 5 star property in anyway (3* 1/2 - 4* max) but I think it's the best hotel in Oslo. Staff was very polite and service was good, so was the buffet breakfast. Our room was very clean but a little small for what I'm used to. We ordered dinner one night in our room and the food was very good! It's a little bit pricey for what they offer, there is no pool, SPA neither fitness center.

Metro station is right in front of the hotel, crossing the street, very convenient if you want to go to some place outside the city center, like I did when visiting Holmenkollen Ski Jump (very cool!!).

All in all, the hotel served to all my needs so that's what matters to me (you won't find those 5 star luxury hotels like Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, etc. nowhere in Norway).

I recommend this hotel and I'll be staying here for sure when back in Oslo.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodolphoBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
356 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here on two separate occasions. It is conveniently located near the harbor and the fantastic City Hall. And the hotel just minutes away from the National Theater Train Station. Since there was no A/C and our room was getting warm and stuffy, we opened the window. But there are no screens so be prepared to swat some flies. At night the street noises were too much, so we shut the window. That blocked out the noise but again the room became stuffy. The room had a tiny little clock with no illumination. There was no bath mat. The front desk staff were great and very informative.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarJan6861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Continental earlier this week and had a wonderful time. The location is absolutely perfect - a 2 min walk to the Palace., the main Street and the harbour as well as being across the road from Nationaltheatret station which is a stop for the airport train.
The staff were all very helpful, friendly but not intrusive. Breakfast was wonderful too. We'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLM8991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
346 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our group of six hit the Hotel Continental in June 2014. The negatives first: First, I think in central Oslo it is wise if you adjust two settings mentally -- a "five star" hotel would be a "three star" hotel in Asia; second, these old world hotels are extremely expensive. Finally, the Hotel Continental is undergoing renovations. We had renovation noise until 8pm. There were no pictures hung in our hallway when we arrived: While we were there six were hung -- so maybe that's good for the next guest. A lot of the Fourth Floor was under heavy construction. Windows don't fully keep out the street noise -- again, not what you ordinarily expect from a five star hotel around the world.

That said: (1) the Front Desk was great to us. We were jet-lagged but our entire itinerary was thoughtfully laid out to the jet lagged in about five minutes. We had a great day following the Front Desk recommendations and clear instructions, even navigating the bus system and ferry -- which are excellent for tourists in Oslo (immaculately clean, clear instructions, tourist friendly).

(2) we upgraded our four kids to the junior suite -- Room 434 -- was what we got which has a beautiful balcony and table. Tremendous. But our room was tiny and underwhelming on the fifth floor.

(3) The breakfast is among the very best in Oslo. Amazing spread. Great wait staff. One of the best in the world. It's a vacation to get breakfast at the Hotel Continental in and of itself.

(4) The coffee shop/cafe downstairs was blisteringly overpriced, with two cups of coffee and two slices of cake running at USD$100. So we didn't linger there, although there's some history in the sketches of past patrons (think the Palm). If you want part of the hotel's experience, the cafe is a Vienna-style cafe and open to all with money.

The Hotel Continental I think is better than the Grand Hotel. Both need something more to be really world class. But if you like old world charm, and can deal with the renovations (elevators did not stop on EVEN floors during our stay), this is a good choice. If budget considerations matter, we went one night for a totally different stay at Comfort Grand Central.

The location is worth a note. This hotel is right at the National Theatre train stop from the airport (which is a different stop than Oslo Central "Oslo S") -- make sure your airport train is not the express. But you are right in the magic "quadrangle" of Oslo.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#17 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Oslo

Property: Hotel Continental Oslo
Address: Stortingsgata 24-26, Oslo 0161, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Continental Oslo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family runned property, centrally located in the middle of Oslo nearby Nationaltheatre station where the Airport Express Train stops. Hotel Continental can proudly present 155 beautiful suites and hotel rooms perfect for corporate and Leisure travellers. The unique Meeting and Event facilities serves customized menus and five star service. And the legendary and very popular restaurant Theatercafeen is still the place to see and to be seen- don`t miss the atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Continental Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing