We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Hotel in Oslo,were I always stay😀”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Oslo
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
“My favorite Hotel in Oslo,were I always stay😀”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Hotel is situated in the center of Oslo. The staff is always helpful and friendly. They will do everything they can to make your stay as pleasent as possible They will help you with restaurant reservations and finding your way around the city or outside the city. If you want to keep your room longer, it is never a problem and they never charge you extra!
The rooms are spacy and very elegant decorated. Internet is free, which is a very good thing.
I am especially fond of Dagligstuen and Theatercafeen. When you are a hotelguest , you are sure to get a table, even if it is fully booked. On my last stay an was given one of the newest room
on the fifth floor with a small veranda overlooking the National Theatre and the view was just amasing.

I especially also love the breakfast, so tasty. You have everything. If there is something you want and cannot find they will make it for you,e.a. Porridge,omelett ,all sorts of coffees or teas and also
several of todays papers. Everything is served in a polite and pleasent way. It is also proper napkins, not these thin papers !!
Continental is a Hotel I can and will always recommend to friends and I will never stay anywere else when I am in Oslo

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    358
    109
    45
    17
See reviews for
204
584
127
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very pleasant hotel - good location, very friendly, nicely renovated rooms and the whole place has understated elegance. The breakfast may be slightly better at the Grand but that's the only advantage it's got, overall the annoyingly jumbled floor layout, room lottery and shabbiness of the Grand best avoided.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Got in very early after a red-eye from the New York and the staff went out of their way to ready a room for us to get some much needed rest. The room was exceptionally comfortable, the hotel within easy walking distance to the Oslo sights. Breakfast was exceptional, food was not the run of the mill that is served in many hotels when breakfast is included. If an in-city location is needed within a short distance to the express train to/from the airport I doubt that one could do better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is centrally located and close to shopping, museums, trams and buses. The location was perfect.

After a slight hiccup with a room on the 4th floor overlooking a construction scaffold etc we spoke to the manager and changed rooms to a newly renovated room, still on the 4th floor.

From that moment on, I can't praise the hotel staff, quality and comfort of the room enough --- It was perfect in every sense.

I have no idea what the quality or prices are of the other Oslo hotels, but I would highly recommend this hotel to all my fellow Australians who are traveling to Oslo, but make sure your request a room that's been renovated and check to ensure the builders have finished their noisy works.

Room Tip: Request coffee and tea making facilities in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed twice at this hotel on our recent visit to Norway/Sweden. The first room had an incredible balcony looking out toward the square and the theatre. The second room had just been renovated and was very nice. The only hangup was the temporary construction elevator outside the room that was used as early as 7 am. The breakfast that was included in the room rate was average, with additional hot menu items on request. The staff was incredible. Our group was not an easy one to accomodate, but they went above and beyond to make our stay an enjoyable one. Two potential improvements. One, a bellman that greated cars at the curb. Two, tea for the coffee bar in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I travel to Oslo often and used to stay at any of the Radisson Blue's in the city as it was the tarvel agency's default hotel. About a year ago I started coming to the Continental and it is now my preferred hotel in Oslo. The refurbished rooms are a great improvement and the location can't be beaten (right next to the Flytoget National Theater station). Highly recommended. Tip: in the summer, try avoiding the rooms looking over the alley behind the hotel as it can get a little noisy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NordicHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, MA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The front desk staff provided superb service. We enjoyed eating at the bar. Our room was immense. The location was terrific: easy to walk to the waterfront, museums and restaurants. Although renovations were underway while we were there, and access to our room was temporarily complicated, the hotel staff had planned very well for this. I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RollCaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 102 in Oslo
1,682 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
814 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Oslo

Property: Hotel Continental Oslo
Address: Stortingsgata 24-26, Oslo 0161, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Continental Oslo 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family runned property, centrally located in the middle of Oslo nearby Nationaltheatre station where the Airport Express Train stops. Hotel Continental can proudly present 155 beautiful suites and hotel rooms perfect for corporate and Leisure travellers. The unique Meeting and Event facilities serves customized menus and five star service. And the legendary and very popular restaurant Theatercafeen is still the place to see and to be seen- don`t miss the atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing