We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in The center city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Continental Oslo
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

From the airport, direct access with oslo airport express train. Stop at national theater. In room Free Wi-Fi . Large bathroom. Good breakfast. At that time, due to lift renovation, only three room floors were available. we needed to walk one floor down by staircases.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amexGosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Hotel is situated in the center of Oslo. The staff is always helpful and friendly. They will do everything they can to make your stay as pleasent as possible They will help you with restaurant reservations and finding your way around the city or outside the city. If you want to keep your room longer, it is never a problem and they never charge you extra!
The rooms are spacy and very elegant decorated. Internet is free, which is a very good thing.
I am especially fond of Dagligstuen and Theatercafeen. When you are a hotelguest , you are sure to get a table, even if it is fully booked. On my last stay an was given one of the newest room
on the fifth floor with a small veranda overlooking the National Theatre and the view was just amasing.

I especially also love the breakfast, so tasty. You have everything. If there is something you want and cannot find they will make it for you,e.a. Porridge,omelett ,all sorts of coffees or teas and also
several of todays papers. Everything is served in a polite and pleasent way. It is also proper napkins, not these thin papers !!
Continental is a Hotel I can and will always recommend to friends and I will never stay anywere else when I am in Oslo

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very pleasant hotel - good location, very friendly, nicely renovated rooms and the whole place has understated elegance. The breakfast may be slightly better at the Grand but that's the only advantage it's got, overall the annoyingly jumbled floor layout, room lottery and shabbiness of the Grand best avoided.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NickiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Got in very early after a red-eye from the New York and the staff went out of their way to ready a room for us to get some much needed rest. The room was exceptionally comfortable, the hotel within easy walking distance to the Oslo sights. Breakfast was exceptional, food was not the run of the mill that is served in many hotels when breakfast is included. If an in-city location is needed within a short distance to the express train to/from the airport I doubt that one could do better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is centrally located and close to shopping, museums, trams and buses. The location was perfect.

After a slight hiccup with a room on the 4th floor overlooking a construction scaffold etc we spoke to the manager and changed rooms to a newly renovated room, still on the 4th floor.

From that moment on, I can't praise the hotel staff, quality and comfort of the room enough --- It was perfect in every sense.

I have no idea what the quality or prices are of the other Oslo hotels, but I would highly recommend this hotel to all my fellow Australians who are traveling to Oslo, but make sure your request a room that's been renovated and check to ensure the builders have finished their noisy works.

Room Tip: Request coffee and tea making facilities in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed twice at this hotel on our recent visit to Norway/Sweden. The first room had an incredible balcony looking out toward the square and the theatre. The second room had just been renovated and was very nice. The only hangup was the temporary construction elevator outside the room that was used as early as 7 am. The breakfast that was included in the room rate was average, with additional hot menu items on request. The staff was incredible. Our group was not an easy one to accomodate, but they went above and beyond to make our stay an enjoyable one. Two potential improvements. One, a bellman that greated cars at the curb. Two, tea for the coffee bar in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I travel to Oslo often and used to stay at any of the Radisson Blue's in the city as it was the tarvel agency's default hotel. About a year ago I started coming to the Continental and it is now my preferred hotel in Oslo. The refurbished rooms are a great improvement and the location can't be beaten (right next to the Flytoget National Theater station). Highly recommended. Tip: in the summer, try avoiding the rooms looking over the alley behind the hotel as it can get a little noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NordicHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
THE THIEF
#3 of 103 in Oslo
1,875 reviews
Grand Hotel
#11 of 103 in Oslo
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 103 in Oslo
881 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Oslo

Address: Stortingsgata 24-26, Oslo 0161, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £224 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Continental Oslo 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family runned property, centrally located in the middle of Oslo nearby Nationaltheatre station where the Airport Express Train stops. Hotel Continental can proudly present 153 beautiful suites and hotel rooms perfect for corporate and Leisure travellers. The unique Meeting and Event facilities serves customized menus and five star service. And the legendary and very popular restaurant Theatercafeen is still the place to see and to be seen- don`t miss the atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Continental Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing