We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
norway
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

very good hotel i Oslo next to Holmenkollen ski arena..Very good breakfast , nice rooms , fantastic wiev , we will be back

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a wiev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    356
    175
    61
    16
See reviews for
174
313
42
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Great hotel high on a hill with beautiful view. The breakfast was amazing, such good food.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellecorrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volos, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My husband , our three adult children and me stayed at this superb hotel on August.
Both rooms ( superior ) had a breathtaking view ( the Oslofjord and a magnificent scenery ).
The good things started as soon as we took the taxi from the Oslo airport to the hotel : the taxi driver told us , that we had chosen the best Oslo area !!
Since we arrived at 20.30 p.m. we had dinner at the hotel .
The restaurant was excellent : silver forks and knives , wooden wall cover , a luxurious touch . Food was very tasty . Nevertheless , I should say expensive , BUT : approximately the same price as an Oslo down town descent restaurant !!
Our rooms were descent .We have stayed in more spacious rooms in other countries hotels, but the view was astonishing !! Windows were from wall to wall , so we had the pleasure to enjoy a breathtaking view !!
Next day breakfast was very - very rich !! Salmon , sausages , omelets , many kinds of bread etc . !!
The swimming pool , free , was a very relaxing idea .
Internet connection was fast and free ,
There were offee making facilities in room , also.
In order to visit town , we walked downhill for 5 minutes to take the metro to the city .It passes every 15 minutes .
At night , we enjoyed a night cap at the bar ( the lady in charge is sooo friendly and welcoming ).
Lounge area and the lovely terrace kept us during the morning for some time .
If we ever visit again incredibly expensive Oslo , certainly we will stay at the Holmenkollen Rica hotel , because last but not least : the price ( through Rica's site ) was certainly a bargain .

Room Tip: superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyriaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The location of the hotel is far from the city centre, you must choose this hotel if you have a car or need to get away from the city buzz. The location is beautiful and serine. The view from the hotel front is simply amazing. Feels like a hill station. New block rooms are very well appointed, spacious and elegant , but lacks good views. The next best thing would be the mind blowing breakfast.Everything on table is more or less fresh. Don't miss the breakfast for anything.
Now, the annoying things. Poor TV menu and channel selection. Paid Parking for guests at 150 NOK per night ( a rip off) , guests who are annoyed by this could walk 2 minutes down hill and park at the vacant place near the ski slope. The wireless internet speed is satisfactory, but the security password changes every day, which is very annoying for customers staying for few days. These are the small annoying things which could be easily rectified by the management. Also, you must specially ask for room with a nice view or else might end up in a room facing a rock wall in such a beautiful room.
Hotel Emergency procedures and evacuation plan need to be revised thoroughly. Fire alarm rang and we exited through the nearest emergency exit to end up nowhere! thats scary.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerX9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We decided to take a look at the rooms before we asked for the roomkey since normally a nice view would do us just fine but with a baby boy travelling along it is also nice to have a space where he can sleep quietly. So we looked at the superior room, the deluxe room and the junior suite. Superior room and deluxe room are almost identical, only the deluxe room is all fitted with wood. The deluxe room would cost us 500 NOK extra and the junior suite 510. But the Junior suite surely was something else. What a pleasant, 2-floor room. Beds soft and clean, a minibar on both floors, big tv-screens and all looked very modern and updated. And the view from the balcony it was amazing, although the tower of the hotel was keeping us from viewing downtown Oslo. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful, the metro station and Holmenkollen skislope just minutes away and in the morning a delicious, complete breakfast buffet awaits the guests. I can’t think of any downside to this great hotel and just because of its great panorama, I think it is a must to stay here when visiting Oslo, which is a city best viewed from above, not downtown.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Junior Suite, it is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

had a lovely time in this hotel, the hotel is lovely, the breakfast great with plenty to choose from, the staff are fab,
they have a lovely small indoor pool but its very cold they could do with warming it a little. but all in all this hotel is fantastic

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niamhy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

In Summer it does tend to get a bit busy with busloads of tourists. I was here on a business trip, but quiet and wireless included.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James290774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
0.9 mi away
Soria Moria Hotel
Soria Moria Hotel
#41 of 101 in Oslo
177 reviews
3.4 mi away
Saga Hotel Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 101 in Oslo
798 reviews
3.7 mi away
Frogner House - Skovveien 8
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
4.1 mi away
Scandic St. Olavs plass
4.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Holmenkollen Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holmenkollen Park

Property: Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Address: Kongeveien 26, Oslo 0787, Norway (Formerly Rica Holmenkollen Park Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#13 Business Hotel in Oslo
#15 Family Hotel in Oslo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Holmenkollen Park 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perched high above the city like a palace out of a Norwegian fairytale, it offers stunning views over the city and the surrounding landscape. A magical place for a family holiday, and a unique venue for activities in the nature, just 15 minutes' drive from Oslo city centre. We can arrange all types of meetings, conferences and events in venues that can accommodate up to 850 participants. You can work out in the gym or pool then retreat to our spa. There is free parking available and as a guest you have access to free WiFi in all our rooms and public areas. Located close to the Holmenkollen Ski Stadium and access to wonderful skiing, walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Holmenkollen Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmenkollen Park Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing