We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best rooms with a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Holmenkollen Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best rooms with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed here two nights for a work event and the only negative thing was that i did NOT get enough time to spend in my junior suite on the 5th floor - work kept me busy all day and evening. On first glance the room appeared quite ordinary... facing to the rear of the hotel without a view, but then I climbed the winding staircase to arrive in a darling little lounge area with the most wonderful view over Nordmarka (the hills to the north of Oslo) to the right and the town and fjord to the left. Sliding doors opened (easily) onto a fine balcony complete with small table and chairs. This would be a perfect spot to relax after a day's sightseeing down town or indeed an active afternoon's skiing in the hills nearby. The bed was big and comfortable. The window beside the bed could be opened and that's not always possible in hotels.

The breakfast selection was top class, but so are the prices at this exclusive hotel. Nevertheless, it would certainly warrant a private visit for a special occasion or holiday of a lifetime.

This hotel is quite a way from the city center, but right beside the wooded hills and Oslo's top Holmenkollen Ski Jump attraction. The metro stops nearby, though be prepared for a bit of an uphill walk to hotel. A taxi from the lively Majorstuen shoping and eating area would cost ca nok 250.

My room was in the new part of the hotel. Try for a room as high up as possible, and do stop to take a photo from the top floor elevator lobby.

I have stayed in the old part of the hotel before - on the ground floor - and this very pleasant room also had a nice, though not as spectacular, view.

Highly recommended if you want to spoil yourself or a loved one.

Room Tip: Ask for new part of hotel and a high room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    325
    153
    51
    16
See reviews for
148
285
42
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tryon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed at the Holmenkollen Park Hotel Rica for three nights as all other hotels in Oslo center were full. The hotel is about a 20 minute T-Bane ride from the city center. (When visiting Oslo, be sure and get an "Oslo Pass" which will cover public transportation and many museum admission fees). Once you exit the T-Bane, you need to walk 10 minutes straight up a steep hill to the large hotel. The hotel architecture is a combination of modern and old world. The hotel overlooks Oslo and the water. Our bedroom and bathroom were both extremely large and well appointed. Linens were clean and fluffy. Our room was on the first floor and was very quiet. The breakfast buffet was terrific with an enormous selection of delicious foods. The staff was helpful. There are two restaurants in the hotel, one very expensive and the other slightly less so. Go for the less expensive one. You can walk to the famous Holmenkollen ski jump, which is located next to the hotel.

Room Tip: When visting Oslo, be sure to get the "Oslo Pass", which covers all public transportation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USNA2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

very good hotel i Oslo next to Holmenkollen ski arena..Very good breakfast , nice rooms , fantastic wiev , we will be back

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a wiev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Great hotel high on a hill with beautiful view. The breakfast was amazing, such good food.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellecorrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volos, Greece
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

My husband , our three adult children and me stayed at this superb hotel on August.
Both rooms ( superior ) had a breathtaking view ( the Oslofjord and a magnificent scenery ).
The good things started as soon as we took the taxi from the Oslo airport to the hotel : the taxi driver told us , that we had chosen the best Oslo area !!
Since we arrived at 20.30 p.m. we had dinner at the hotel .
The restaurant was excellent : silver forks and knives , wooden wall cover , a luxurious touch . Food was very tasty . Nevertheless , I should say expensive , BUT : approximately the same price as an Oslo down town descent restaurant !!
Our rooms were descent .We have stayed in more spacious rooms in other countries hotels, but the view was astonishing !! Windows were from wall to wall , so we had the pleasure to enjoy a breathtaking view !!
Next day breakfast was very - very rich !! Salmon , sausages , omelets , many kinds of bread etc . !!
The swimming pool , free , was a very relaxing idea .
Internet connection was fast and free ,
There were offee making facilities in room , also.
In order to visit town , we walked downhill for 5 minutes to take the metro to the city .It passes every 15 minutes .
At night , we enjoyed a night cap at the bar ( the lady in charge is sooo friendly and welcoming ).
Lounge area and the lovely terrace kept us during the morning for some time .
If we ever visit again incredibly expensive Oslo , certainly we will stay at the Holmenkollen Rica hotel , because last but not least : the price ( through Rica's site ) was certainly a bargain .

Room Tip: superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyriaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The location of the hotel is far from the city centre, you must choose this hotel if you have a car or need to get away from the city buzz. The location is beautiful and serine. The view from the hotel front is simply amazing. Feels like a hill station. New block rooms are very well appointed, spacious and elegant , but lacks good views. The next best thing would be the mind blowing breakfast.Everything on table is more or less fresh. Don't miss the breakfast for anything.
Now, the annoying things. Poor TV menu and channel selection. Paid Parking for guests at 150 NOK per night ( a rip off) , guests who are annoyed by this could walk 2 minutes down hill and park at the vacant place near the ski slope. The wireless internet speed is satisfactory, but the security password changes every day, which is very annoying for customers staying for few days. These are the small annoying things which could be easily rectified by the management. Also, you must specially ask for room with a nice view or else might end up in a room facing a rock wall in such a beautiful room.
Hotel Emergency procedures and evacuation plan need to be revised thoroughly. Fire alarm rang and we exited through the nearest emergency exit to end up nowhere! thats scary.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerX9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We decided to take a look at the rooms before we asked for the roomkey since normally a nice view would do us just fine but with a baby boy travelling along it is also nice to have a space where he can sleep quietly. So we looked at the superior room, the deluxe room and the junior suite. Superior room and deluxe room are almost identical, only the deluxe room is all fitted with wood. The deluxe room would cost us 500 NOK extra and the junior suite 510. But the Junior suite surely was something else. What a pleasant, 2-floor room. Beds soft and clean, a minibar on both floors, big tv-screens and all looked very modern and updated. And the view from the balcony it was amazing, although the tower of the hotel was keeping us from viewing downtown Oslo. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful, the metro station and Holmenkollen skislope just minutes away and in the morning a delicious, complete breakfast buffet awaits the guests. I can’t think of any downside to this great hotel and just because of its great panorama, I think it is a must to stay here when visiting Oslo, which is a city best viewed from above, not downtown.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Junior Suite, it is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
4.0 mi away
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
0.9 mi away
Voksenasen AS
Voksenasen AS
#54 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
3.4 mi away
Saga Hotel Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Soria Moria Hotel
Soria Moria Hotel
#50 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#16 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lysebu
Lysebu
#27 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Holmenkollen Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holmenkollen Park

Property: Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Address: Kongeveien 26, Oslo 0787, Norway (Formerly Rica Holmenkollen Park Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#13 Business Hotel in Oslo
#15 Family Hotel in Oslo
#17 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Holmenkollen Park 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perched high above the city like a palace out of a Norwegian fairytale, it offers stunning views over the city and the surrounding landscape. A magical place for a family holiday, and a unique venue for activities in the nature, just 15 minutes' drive from Oslo city centre. We can arrange all types of meetings, conferences and events in venues that can accommodate up to 850 participants. You can work out in the gym or pool then retreat to our spa. There is free parking available and as a guest you have access to free WiFi in all our rooms and public areas. Located close to the Holmenkollen Ski Stadium and access to wonderful skiing, walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Holmenkollen Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmenkollen Park Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing