We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High class hotel with a beautiful view over the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I really enjoyed my three night stay at this excellent hotel. Located on a mountain near the very impresive Holmenkollen ski jump it offers a fantastic view over Oslo city and fyord. The hotel has a beautiful old wooden part with a very homely atmosphere. My room was located in the new part of the hotel and featured modern minimalist but highly functional interior which left nothing to be desired. Just the right size, too.
Food was of above average quality - one of the better dining experiences I've had in Norway.
I was especially inpressed by the very well equipped gym in the basement which could put some of the public gymns I've visited in my life to shame. There's a swimming pool, too, so bring your bathing trunks.
Staff spoke excellent English (but who doesn't, in Norway) and was very helpful.
It really puzzles me how anybody could rate this excellent hotel as "poor" or "terrible" - an annoying detail cannot possibly make the whole hotel a dump....
I liked the Holmenkollen Parc Hotel Rica very much and would go there again, great location for a conference.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are very recommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertLockwoodJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

The location and standard of this hotel is very good. Excellent views, good food, nice service and clean. if interested in skiing there is no better place to stay overnight in Oslo.

Room Tip: View towards the south on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PederOsloNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Very friendly and nice staff. The hotel is located in the hills outside Oslo. It is about a 20 minute train journey to the city center and the train line is located just a short walk away. The room was clean and comfortable. Excellent spread in the breakfast. Wifi signal was not very strong.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

That should be an ordinary business trip. But when we arrived to the hotel's parking, I left my suitcase, took the fotocamera (I was lazy to take my big Canon) and tripod and went to take a picture of Olso's panorama! It's great in the morning, at noon and in the evening. Good rooms for meetings, ecpecially in old part of the hotel. Tasty breakfast with norwegian cousine. Hot sauna. All you need for pleasant stay and effective meeting!

Room Tip: Ask rooms with Oslo view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Located on top of Oslo, it was a fantastic drive up the mountain road covered with snow on a winter day going past the Ski Jump slope, a famous land mark on Holmenkollen mountain. Its a very historical landmark in Oslo and the excellent rooms. They do have a good swimming pool, fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi. The hotel also has a spa, which I didn't you, so no comments. Has a choice of two restaurants on the reception level and a nice bar on the first level. One of the two restaurants is Italian and I refrain to comment on the food and would like the readers to check out.

Room Tip: City view rooms are fantastic, which are located on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prakashroops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

As a regular guest to Oslo, I truly enjoy Rica Holmenkollen Hotel. Parking is free if you walk the 200 meters from the old parkingspace, but expensive if you use the one beneath the hotel. I love the drive up along the nice villas along the Holmenkollen mountain, and the traditional norwegian Logde style hotel. The wiew is absolutely stunning and the staff is very nice. I am mostly there for business purpose, but would be happy to bring my family as well to the hotel.
The breakfast is really good

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Arrived at 2 pm and wanted to check inn. Was promptly told that it was not possible to check inn before 3 pm. Disappointing, but at least the hotel has a nice lounge and free internet and I also ordered a beer while waiting so an hour went quick.
The hotel is great located with a marvelous view over Oslo and the Oslofjord. It's also neighbor to Holmenkollen skijump and ski-arena.
The hotel has a long history and is an icon in Oslo with the oldest part looking like its straigth out of a fairytale. The oldest part is housing a restaurant and meetingrooms and all the hotelrooms are located in two new wings. We got a room toward the backside with no view, but the room was great. Modern, fresh and clean with a 32" lcd tv and a nice stone wall.
The breakfast was very nice, buffet-style with a cook making eggs any style on demand.
All in all a good experience, but due to the unnecessary strict check-inn/out policy I will not rate it as exellent. No check-inn before 3pm and 100nkr pr hour for late check-out is to strict.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlXII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Soria Moria Hotel
#27 of 102 in Oslo
204 reviews
Quality Hotel 33
#45 of 102 in Oslo
496 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Solli
#30 of 102 in Oslo
964 reviews
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Holmenkollen Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holmenkollen Park

Address: Kongeveien 26, Oslo 0787, Norway (Formerly Rica Holmenkollen Park Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#13 Business Hotel in Oslo
#15 Family Hotel in Oslo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £96 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Holmenkollen Park 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perched high above the city like a palace out of a Norwegian fairytale, it offers stunning views over the city and the surrounding landscape. A magical place for a family holiday, and a unique venue for activities in the nature, just 15 minutes' drive from Oslo city centre. We can arrange all types of meetings, conferences and events in venues that can accommodate up to 850 participants. You can work out in the gym or pool then retreat to our spa. There is free parking available and as a guest you have access to free WiFi in all our rooms and public areas. Located close to the Holmenkollen Ski Stadium and access to wonderful skiing, walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Holmenkollen Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmenkollen Park Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing