We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and atmosphere but getting dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was my second stay in Rica Holmenkollen. It's on the top of a hill, right by the famous ski jump center, with magnificent views over Oslo and the surrounding waters. There is a metro stop nearby but coming by car is a lot easier. The old building is a beautiful example of old Norwegian style and has beautiful details. The (recently renovated?) lobby area is nice too, and of our two rooms one was very nice and modern while the other one was a bit dated but nevertheless OK. Staff was helpful and competent.
But - the swimming pool and sauna had a lot to improve, the floor tiles were in major need of cleansing and the pool area was not tidied up after clients, so there were wet slippers etc everywhere.
The breakfast was OK and so was also the evening buffet for most part, although the warm choices were a disaster.

All in all, I think that for my next trip to Oslo I will select another hotel. Rica Holmenkollen has good offers these days but after relatively many disappointments I could rather pay (and get) a bit more for my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satu68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent our first night at the Rica Hotel in downtown Oslo . The location is fantastic its right across the street from the rail road station. This is a big deal because a lot of us take the fast train from the airport. (200+ miles per hr) You probably don't want a car in Oslo, parking is very expensive along with the fact that they charge for bringing a car into Oslo. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. People talk about the Norwegian breakfast, well the breakfast at the Rica Hotel downtown is unbelievable. I wish I would have taken pictures of the FREE buffet. We has some of the most delicious salmon and locks you have ever tasted.

We stayed at the Rica at the airport on the way home, it was nice and the breakfast was great, but not close to the one downtown.

Room Tip: The hotel is a business hotel so during the week it is very expensive, but on the weekend great deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerranceGoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights for business trip. Service is good and friendly, rooms are spacious but are getting aged. Bathroom is outdated, needs to be renovated. Shower inside bath is old fashioned and could hardly stand uprised (I am 1,90 m). Also cleaning was an issue, there was black mould on the tiles in the bathroom. Otherwise satisfied with my stay, the hotel is a good distance from the city center, and a stiff walk from the tube, there is also little to do in the direct vicinity, keep that in mind when booking. Pricewise it is ok but got a reduced price, enjoyed my breakfast which was good, ate dinner in the pizza restaurant, quite ok for a quick bite but nothing more. The swimmingpool is ok, but getting dated, sauna is getting tired and is in dire need for refurbishment. All in all I give it a 3/5.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RELC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

clean large room, my bathroom was amazingly big, and all very clean, I noted that other people had a lot smaller bathrooms, and I did not have a good view which would have been extra, but probably worth it,

either fine dinning restaurant option or help yourself pizza restaurant, went for the pizza option which was ok,
in general food seemed to be a weak point of the week staying there, but the deserts were amazing

Room Tip: ski museum is really worth a trip -less than 5 min walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexS1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This year's ELMi meeting ws held at the Holmenkollen Park Hotel and it was a perfect venue! It is a beautifully situated hotel high above Oslo with gorgeous views, nice rooms, very nice personnel, and good infrastructure and rooms for a meeting. Food was also very nice, especially the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lupus_arcticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Certainly the best room with view in Oslo, with sports facilities around.
It's what you need if you take time to visit the city because the train ride is 25 mins.
The breakfast (buffet) was nice and the pool is ok.
Hope to come back soon during winter time !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JIckyMahoupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed at the Rica Holmenkollen Park Hotel during May of 2014. I was a solo US traveler on vacation. There were many positive aspects of the hotel including location, staff, and décor. The hotel has a view of the city and the distant coastline. It was beautiful even on a cloudy day. The staff was very kind and helpful. My room had a charming B&B décor. The room and bathroom were clean and nicely decorated. There was even a chocolate on my pillow. Breakfast was included in the cost of the room. As I had to leave early, they offered to make me breakfast to go. I think that is a first for me. The challenges included meal options, and location (sic). Pretty much, only the pizza restaurant was open when I visited (off-peak season) and I ended up paying the equivalent of $26 for my personal pizza--which turned out to be the norm in Norway. Food prices are exorbitant by American standards. The location is also a challenge. It is not in the center of the city. It is near the end of subway line. Fortunately, Norwegian transportation is easy to figure out, clean, and precisely on time! What you want to do is take the Flytoget train (about $35) from the airport to Oslo Central Station and then take the local subway to the hotel. Do not take a taxi from Oslo Central station to the hotel! it could easily cost you more than $100. I learned the hard way. I took a 10 minute taxi ride from Oslo Central Station to the Viking Ship Museum and it cost me the equivalent of $60. At the museum, a kind lady told me how to catch the bus and train to my hotel. I spent less than $10 on that trip! :-) The walk from the subway station to the hotel is probably 10-15 minutes, but the last half of that trip is straight up a 30 to 45 degree slope upwards toward the hotel. I was out of breath hauling all of my luggage with me! LOL In summary, it is a lovely hotel and worth the trip with the caveats that I have noted above.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrien J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Soria Moria Hotel
#35 of 103 in Oslo
217 reviews
Scandic Solli
#33 of 103 in Oslo
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Vulkan
#23 of 103 in Oslo
706 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Holmenkollen Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holmenkollen Park

Address: Kongeveien 26, Oslo 0787, Norway (Formerly Rica Holmenkollen Park Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#13 Business Hotel in Oslo
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £76 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Holmenkollen Park 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perched high above the city like a palace out of a Norwegian fairytale, it offers stunning views over the city and the surrounding landscape. A magical place for a family holiday, and a unique venue for activities in the nature, just 15 minutes' drive from Oslo city centre. We can arrange all types of meetings, conferences and events in venues that can accommodate up to 850 participants. You can work out in the gym or pool then retreat to our spa. There is free parking available and as a guest you have access to free WiFi in all our rooms and public areas. Located close to the Holmenkollen Ski Stadium and access to wonderful skiing, walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Holmenkollen Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmenkollen Park Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing