We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificient Oslo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Magnificient Oslo”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is based on Holmenkollen hill which has a wonderfull view of the Oslo fiord. The rooms were very nice with a perfect landscape. In winter season it is possible to make ski. Holmenkollen has perfect ski jump towers. The hotel has a perfect breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    327
    157
    52
    16
See reviews for
152
289
42
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed in a two story suite in the new part of the hotel during The May 17th festivities, and had a wonderful time.
A lovely, both old-fashioned, and at the same time modern, hotel. With a magnificent view of The Oslo Fjord.
An extremely quiet area , just on the tip of the beauty of Norway, though still not too far from the center of the city

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I am a little surprised to see such glowing reviews as our recent experience (and if I'm honest the one last year) didn't bear them out. This is probably the fifth or sixth time we have stayed in this hotel over 10 years or so, and have enjoyed most of the visits, but sadly we have found that the standards have been dropping slightly in the last few years. We like to stay in the older, more traditionally decorated rooms - great views and very spacious (they aren't the cheapest rooms in the hotel) but this time we found several annoying small faults such as a light not working (which apparently couldn't be fixed during our four nights there), chipped furniture in need of a facelift, and the carpet in the corridor torn and a definite safety hazard - I saw one of the staff catch her toe and almost fall, and even though we reported it, nothing was done to remedy it, or warn. One day our bed was left unmade, and the room uncleaned, and although a reduction was made in the final bill, this was really not to be expected of a superior hotel. The swimming pool area also needs some attention - nothing in the way of safety equipment and no supervision. Children of all ages are apparently allowed free unsupervised access to both the pool, and the jacuzzi - which would be unthinkable in the UK or France - and the final straw was to find a small piece of excrement left on the side of the jacuzzi. The hotel staff were naturally horrified but we have no idea whether the jacuzzi was subsequently drained and cleaned.

The breakfasts are plentiful, true, but it's a bit like a school canteen scrum to find a table and negotiate round dozens of hungry kids and their parents (Scandinavians are no great respecters of personal space!) and often the hot food was lukewarm, or had run out. The staff were very friendly and did their utmost to keep everyone supplied, but breakfasts were not a particularly relaxing experience. We didn't try the evening summer buffets. We have stayed during the winter, and the experience was very different - less frenetic and fewer coach parties.

Can't really say whether it's a charming or romantic hotel - the National Romantic style of the older part of the hotel (where De Fem Stuer is situated) is impressive, and the art in the public areas is good, however we were not charmed by this latest experience I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the fjord and the Marka - to the west end of the hotel and on the third floor, whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 days and were very pleased.
The hotel is situated in the hills near the holmenkillen ski-jump, not far from Oslo.
The view on Oslo and surroundings is fantastic.
When we arrived our room was double booked, but they gave us a free upgrade to a bigger room which was very nice of them.
The room was very large and comfty, and the bathroom was also top.
We had the evening buffet in the restautant, the food was excellent and the staff was very friendly.
The continental breakfast buffet is also worth a reccommandation, amazing variety of food.

Go there and enjoy some real scandinavian comfort, hospitality and friendliness.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardener667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Difficult to find any fault with this place. The location, whilst out of Oslo, was only a short 20-30min journey and well worth it for the views. The room was spacious, well laid out and decorated whilst the bathroom was very attractive. The bed was very comfortable and looked out down into the Oslo fjord. Excellent.

The whole building was very nice outside and in.

The breakfast is simply fantastic with a selection of fish, omelettes, breads, fruit and juices with a reasonable selection of gluten free alternatives. A selection of hot items was available, a range of coffees and leaf tea as well as bags.

If I must find fault then the pool was more of a child's play area than a place to relax and the room lacked storage space for clothes although was adequate for our week visit.

All in all, this was an excellent hotel, very comfortable stay and highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

If you want to stay on the top of Oslo, just next to the Holmenkollen ski jump you get fresh air and a stunning view as a bonus. This is a traditional Norwegian place. The old part of the hotel with the restaurant "De fem stuer" is authentic and beautiful. We were taken care of very professionally in the reception. We appreciated the art on the walls and the atmosphere. Lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda031CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent hotel up in the hills close to Holmfenkollen skijump. The room was nice and clean, with a spotless bathroom. The breakfast was amazing, had to get up half an hour earlier than needed just to enjoy the fresh and tasty food. Nice place and staff . Would stay there again if I am going to Oslo again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3amigosNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
4.0 mi away
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
0.9 mi away
Voksenasen AS
Voksenasen AS
#52 of 100 in Oslo
170 reviews
3.4 mi away
Saga Hotel Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Soria Moria Hotel
Soria Moria Hotel
#53 of 100 in Oslo
149 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Thief
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
1,543 reviews
3.7 mi away
Frogner House - Skovveien 8
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Holmenkollen Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holmenkollen Park

Property: Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Address: Kongeveien 26, Oslo 0787, Norway (Formerly Rica Holmenkollen Park Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#13 Business Hotel in Oslo
#15 Family Hotel in Oslo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Holmenkollen Park 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perched high above the city like a palace out of a Norwegian fairytale, it offers stunning views over the city and the surrounding landscape. A magical place for a family holiday, and a unique venue for activities in the nature, just 15 minutes' drive from Oslo city centre. We can arrange all types of meetings, conferences and events in venues that can accommodate up to 850 participants. You can work out in the gym or pool then retreat to our spa. There is free parking available and as a guest you have access to free WiFi in all our rooms and public areas. Located close to the Holmenkollen Ski Stadium and access to wonderful skiing, walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Holmenkollen Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmenkollen Park Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing