We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb view, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb view, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

I had to stay in this hotel because all city hotels were booked out due to a trade fair. The hotel is on a hill/Mountain on the edge of the city. This is the same hill where you can find the Holmenkollen Ski Jump. The drive to the hotel from the city is long (around 30 min) but is rewarded with a spectacular view onto the the entire city and the Oslo Fjord. I have never had a better view onto the city from any other vantage point in Oslo.

The hotel itself consists of a quaint wooden structure in traditional Norwegian style which forms the nucleus of the hotel. Today, it hosts the conference area.

The hotel rooms are in a modern annex which seems to be from the late seventies or early eighties. The hotel is in good shape mainentance wise and the rooms are furnished in a modern, puristic way.

The rooms contain the bare necessities of modern hotels. However, my room (which was utterly expensive) did not even have enough space to place shirts and did not have an ironing board, despite the rather large size of the room itself.

Breakfast was adequate.

This was all in all ok for me. What I did not like in the hotel was the service. The staff in the breakfast area could not have been less attentive and unfriendly. If anyone showed up to serve coffe at all, they would not bring you any milk to the table and tell you to pick it up at the service station. The front dest twice forgot to make a wake up call !

The room service was particularly poor because the staff only changed towels but did not empty trash cans, make the bed or otherwise clean up the room. I have never seen anything like that anywhere else in the world.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    329
    157
    53
    16
See reviews for
155
290
42
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

We stayed here for two nights, and enjoyed it very much. We were down at the end, in a huge room with a bathroom that was very large. It was very quiet, and had a lot of character to it. It must have been a suite. Although it is on the outskirts of Oslo, it is very nice to be up on the hill, within easy walking distance to the ski jump of Holmenkollen.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonAngelwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

Stayed one night at the Holmenkollen hotel, be aware that a major construction is ongoing, preparing for the WC skijump in 2011, so forget about going until then. A lot of noise from the construction. This used to be a nice hotel, but service level have dropped two classes, and service is poor. There is no shuttle bus to Oslo City, so you need a car or a cab. And with the rediculous prices of taxi in Norway (have to be the most expensive in the world) it will be a NOK 800 (EUR 100,-) trip back and forth to downtown. That's about the room price on a lucky day!!! - rooms are ok, breakfast ok - probably ok if you care for going skiing - otherwise this is a complete waste.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coastalrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugotheboss62, Manager at Scandic Holmenkollen Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
It is true that there is a lot of construction being carried out in this area at the moment, especially with regard to the new Ski Jumping Arena and we are sorry that this guest was disappointed about this.

However on the plus side we now have a spectacular new ski jump right next to us - possibly the best in the world !!

With regard to getting into town, there is a bus that stops approx 200m from the hotel every 15 minutes that will take you into the center of town within 25 minutes - cost only NOK26 ( €3 ).

Also it should be pointed out that all of our guest rooms have now been refurbished over the winter and we are in the process of building 100 new guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo, norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

Stayed for one night mid-week.
Hotel from the outside is fantastic fairytale Norwegian style, with a beautiful view over Oslo.

Our room (lowest priced std room) was 1990 style, and batchroom needed refurbishment big time, bathroom door falling off/half open, and not very suitable for two persons in the room...

Always wanted to test the pool/spa facilities; First of all the door was locked and noone of staff located nearby could help me, and no sign in the door. It turned out all guests had to obtain a key in the front desk. Inside the place was dirty, smelly and also 1990 style and needed refurbishment! This is not what you expect for an upper priced hotel like this, sorry to say.

Next morning building works started just outside our window at 7am... adding a new wing to the hotel.. guess they could have waited a bit

Otherwise location outside city, but fantastic view over the city and nice for forrest walks etc.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermans35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugotheboss62, Manager at Scandic Holmenkollen Park, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Hi,

Thanks for the review.

Would just like to point out that all of our guest rooms have now been refurbished within the last 3 years, the last 100 front rooms being completed in January 2010 just after this review was made.

We are also in the process of completing 100 new rooms that will take the total number of guest rooms to over 300.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holmenkollen Park hotel Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

I wanted to see Oslo but travelling alone, I wanted to escape the city, which is how I came to the Holmenkollen Park Hotel. It's a lovely hotel, but be warned - like all the other reviews say, it is a bit out of the city, which is a plus or minus depending on what you're looking for. I liked the idea of escaping from the city to the mountains, and I got what I was looking for.
The room was comfortable, nice bathroom with a bath but there wasn't much of a view from my room, but from outside of the hotel was lovely.

As all of the other reviewers have said, it is about 20-25 minutes from the city but the Metro runs often (indicated by a T in a circle - don't get confused and think this is the sign for trams!) and while it ends the stop before Holmenkollen, there's a frequent feeder bus. And the walk from Holmenkollen to the next stop is fine and downhill. The only drawback - and this is for any solo travellers, particularly female, is there's a fairly lonely walk from the bus to the hotel, and you can cut through some steps through a little mini forest. It feels safe enough but it's very isolated. I was lucky to find other people on the bus to walk with most evenings but my first evening I was alone and did feel a little nervous. People are lovely and friendly but the walk was at the back of my mind on my return. Beyond that, couldn't recommend the hotel enough, great value rate for Oslo and would recommend to friends.

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Dlisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

We read all the reviews so came in knowing that the hotel is pretty far away from the city center of Oslo. However, the 25 minutes in train is easy peasy, there's a little connector bus since the last train station isn't currently open that comes regularly, and the walk up the hill wasn't bad at all (although wouldn't recommend it for the elderly or extremely lazy).

Beds were super comfy, staff was friendly, the wireless internet access in all the rooms is fast. Breakfast was quite a large spread. Gym is well-equipped compared to a lot of other hotels I've been in and the machines were reasonably modern. We felt we got our money's worth and very much enjoyed staying here.

I saw a lot of criticism of the room decor and while it's true the decoration style isn't super modern, it isn't shabby either.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyleracine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

Typical norwegian in a positive sense - adds to the flair. A wooden historical building on top of Oslo looking over the fjords.
Walking distance from ski jump but fairly far from the centre - train station however close by.
Spacious room with nice views - however this room had certainly not been dusted for a while - only negative.
Service staff a bit slow - this could however be the norwegian pace of life.
Hotel has very good and modern amenities - fitness room, swimming pool, lounges etc etc
We would 100% stay here again and would recommend further.
Very good prices during summer holidays.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKNL2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
4.0 mi away
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
0.9 mi away
Voksenasen AS
Voksenasen AS
#53 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.4 mi away
Saga Hotel Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Soria Moria Hotel
Soria Moria Hotel
#54 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Thief
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
3.7 mi away
Frogner House - Skovveien 8
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Holmenkollen Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holmenkollen Park

Property: Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Address: Kongeveien 26, Oslo 0787, Norway (Formerly Rica Holmenkollen Park Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#13 Business Hotel in Oslo
#15 Family Hotel in Oslo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Holmenkollen Park 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perched high above the city like a palace out of a Norwegian fairytale, it offers stunning views over the city and the surrounding landscape. A magical place for a family holiday, and a unique venue for activities in the nature, just 15 minutes' drive from Oslo city centre. We can arrange all types of meetings, conferences and events in venues that can accommodate up to 850 participants. You can work out in the gym or pool then retreat to our spa. There is free parking available and as a guest you have access to free WiFi in all our rooms and public areas. Located close to the Holmenkollen Ski Stadium and access to wonderful skiing, walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Holmenkollen Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmenkollen Park Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing