We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More pluses than minuses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellingsens Pensjonat
Ranked #2 of 20 Oslo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in April - two friends travelling together.

Good:
1. Location - nice quiet residential area, near to shops and restaurants, 15 mins walk from Vigeland Sculpture Park and about 20 mins from the main centre of Oslo. Area felt very very safe.
2. Price - a fairly reasonable price in mega expensive Oslo.
3. Breakfast - although it cost 85kr this was quite a good deal compared with the alternatives and for that price there was cereal, juices, lovely bread to toast, warm rolls, hard boiled eggs, a good selection of meats and cheese, yogurts, crackerbreads, tea and coffee.
4. Decor - really well decorated in Scandinavian style. Felt very homely.
5. Staff - staff were very friendly and helpful, a pleasure to deal with. Cosy and very warm.
6. The hotel was full during our stay but we never once had to wait to use the toilet or shower.

Bad
1. We had asked for a twin bed room but when arrived we had what seemed like a small double bed. The bed was actually 2 beds put together so we were able to separate them but that meant losing the top part of the mattress, so beds not as comfortable as they could be. Bedding slightly old and tired - a few bobbles etc. It would be better if bed preferences were honoured.
2. We were on the third floor and both the corridor and our room had a funny smell - possibly smoke? musty? heaters? Not sure what it was but downstairs didn't have the same smell.

All in all we thought this hotel was lovely and we would go back. But would ask for a second floor room.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citylivin187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

Nice location, but 700nkr is too mutch when you wake up in the night that the room is ice cold and no staffed reception to ask for additional oven. We should have been offered a discount.
Possibly a nice accommodation in the summer, but redirect if it's cold outside.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

oslo in winter . Ellingsens perfect location stayed 2 nights . Its clean ,good atmosphere nice breakfast quiet and reaaly will come back soon as its a nice and perfect hotel for me !! Oslo see you soon and than again in Ellingsens Pensjonat !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veugel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed there 3 nights and was satisfied with the hotel. it's nothing spectacular but the rooms are clean and it's not too far from the city centre (15 min walk to national theatre)
The only problem was that the bed was not a real double bed but two single beds combined so it was not too nice.
however overall and especially considering the prices in Oslo I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariiiiiiiiiiiiiiiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Booked a single room for 2 nights at short notice, not really wanting to spend the £120-plus a night that most places in Oslo charged (this was less than half that). Perfectly functional single room, and the shared WC and shower were no problem (though the toilet roll took ages to get replaced when it ran out, and I ended up 'borrowing' a spare from the floor below !) Very comfortable bed and didn't have any trouble sleeping even though I was at the front where the No19 trams rattle past. Didn't try the breakfasts (I think about 85NOK ?) but the soft drinks and snacks in the fridge were a bonus, and weren't extortionate by Norway (or hotels generally)standards.

A moderate walk down to the main city centre (if you don't take the tram) but much of it is through the lovely Shottspark, past the Royal Palace so well worth it. A bonus was finding the Oslo microbrew pub barely 200 yards away opposite the tram-stop.

In most other cities you might expect a wee bit more for £50 a night, but in a place with the prices of Oslo (and London, Paris, NY, Tokyo etc) this represented great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndySDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Well actually in fairness, I dont know much about Cochs Pensjonat, though have seen it and been in the lobby; seemed okay, though more like a Hostel, Elly's (from what seemed like the front desk woman called it) is more like a quant guest house.
And my experience began there, with that same woman, as I booked on the phone back home from New York, I was a bit second-thought (not about staying here, just about going to Norway) when I heard her thick accent "Vie ave vahn zingl vroom, zee baff in zee CH-oarahdoor (hebrew ch - clear your throat) -we have one single room, bath in the corridor-
The reviews online were quite good, i figured why not, and booked the european adventure. (for the record for those who never been, there were no problems with language in Norway, completely 50/50 bilingual; just say to anyone "hello" and they will switch the norwegian "hey-hey" to the english "where in the states are you from?"
This is a good, basic bargain for those on a budget, and quite honestly, only gets a average rating cause thats what it would be in the USA, compared to the other hotels in Oslo (other then the continental) this place is pretty darn good.
Location is right in the middle of the fashion district, convenient to the train, and very close to the palace, which is only a stones throw from downtown (take the ferry to the other islands, there are some things to do in this cold dank city)
Typical Euro furniture (think ikea) the pictures up here pretty much got it right. Be warned, no elevator. You get 2 keys, one for the front door after hours (you gotta buzz your way in during the day, apartment style) and one for your room. Go up the creaky circular staircase to the front desk (where the same woman is always working (Elly?) seems she owns the place. The room had a fridge (which came in handy as I was there for almost a week, perfect place to store my big seafood salad from the close by underground shopping food market superstore) and the tv, which only had very basic channels, only one in english - and showed endless reruns of the simpsons, king of the hill and family guy; 3 of our countries wonderful diplomats. 
I did not mind so much the bathroom in the hallway, which seems to be the norm for Europe, even in some hotels. They said it was pretty much booked that week, but there never seemed to be anyone around, and not once did I ever have to wait for a bathroom. The lighting was a bit strange in the bathrooms and so did the controls for the shower-head. Remember to squiggy when you are done, there is no shower-floor just a drain, and be praying no one showers to long or you are locked out of a toilet. The rooms do come with a bathroom like sink and compartment so you can shave and brush teeth etc in the room.
I do not remember if they serve a breakfast, but I do remember the difference between here and America, such hospitality; the cleaning ladies (high school aged girls) seemed to genuinely like their job and the kind lady at the desk told me simply to leave the keys to my room under the door with the remaining payment as I had to leave at 4 am for the airport (try that in the states, though then again, try finding a hotel in the USA where the front desk is vacant at certain hours)
I dont know how the bigger non single rooms are, but I do hope the bed is not the one I had, smaller then a twin, and if you are a roller you will wake up on the floor.

p.s. if you want to see the city this is the place to stay, very close is downtown theatre, palace with a changing of the guards, and murrays coffee shops abound. Only 2-3 stops on the train away is the famous sculpture garden, university and Ibsen grave. First timers to Scandinavia, eating out is expensive; US equivalent of 25 dollars for mcdonalds, 20 for fgifridays, and the breakfasts (in which Ellingsens gives a coupon for at a nearby cafe) are a whopper of a joke, 10 dollars for assorted bread, jams and butters, and all the coffee you can drink. This is not America, no eggs, toast, pancakes and steak. The pension is located right in the middle of the political center of the foreign consulates. Ellingsens is right across the street from the Palestinian consulate, in which anytime passerby walked or I looked out my window, 2 men in suits and sunglasses came out from either the front door or bushes hands in pockets and whistling. w-e-i-r-d.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank speedotorpedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I stayed for two days at Ellingsens. I arrived form Tronheim with a car full of equipment, which I could park safely on the terrain of the pensionat. I had a good breakfast at Apent Bakeri, just a 5 min walk from the pension. I felt very welcome. the only thing is that I didn't need an alarmclock because of the trams passing by in the morning... Clean, good beds, warm people.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anotthes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
846 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#21 of 102 in Oslo
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellingsens Pensjonat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellingsens Pensjonat

Address: Holtegata 25, Oslo 0355, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Oslo
Price Range: £65 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellingsens Pensjonat 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Elligsens Pensjonat, feel at home in the middle of the Norwegian capital of Oslo. Opened in 1963, our bed&breakfast has quickly gained a reputation as a place to relax and withdraw from the bustling city life, while offering its rooms at rates for every travelers budget. Our team is always available to help and works relentlessly to provide you with everything to accompany your stay in this beautiful city.The villa itself is located close to the center, only a few steps away from the public transportation and shopping opportunities, offering you a wide array of ways to spend your days.The rooms has been newly in 2014 and 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ellingsens Pensjonat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellingsens Pensjonat Hotel Oslo
Ellingsens Pensjonat Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing