We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Ho(s)tel, just a bit far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ellingsens Pensjonat
Ranked #2 of 20 Oslo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very nice Ho(s)tel, just a bit far”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I was very impressed with the hotel (or is it a hostel?) when I arrived: everything was so clean, nice and well organized! My room had a table with TV, a small sink, a fridge with drinks and a basket with food (which you have to pay if you use, it's not for free); the bath was communal, but it was also very clean. Breakfast was not included, and I had to leave really early, so I cannot say anything about it.

The only negative point about this hotel is that it is a bit far from the city center (around 20 minutes walk), but it has a tram stop just in front of the door. Also, the girl at reception was very helpful but not very smily; anyway, I prefer that to a non-helpful smily person...

All in all, very good conditions for its price (considering it's Oslo).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    68
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
20
51
41
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in September. Our room on the third floor was spacious and fresh and nicely decorated. There was a sink and a fridge in the room so we were able to keep food for picnics and snacks- we made sandwiches to take with us for lunch during the day (I am sure you know by now how ridiculously expensive meals are in Norway!).
We shared a toilet and shower but never even saw any of the other people on our floor. There was wifi down in the lobby that was free. The location is in a lovely neighborhood a short tram ride into the center of Oslo...or anywhere else we wanted to go. Just a note on transportation- if you will be here for several days it is a good deal to get a weekly card for tram, bus, T bana, even the boat to Bygdoy. You can just get on and off and go all over the city and see the different neighborhoods. Ellingsens is a short walk to Frogner Park where the beautiful Vigeland sculptures are, a nice thing to do in the evening. The staff at Ellingsen's is very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here any time we can come back to Oslo.

Room Tip: The third floor room we had was quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, ordered a double room, but got 2 seperate beds.
Parking in the street is terrible- no free spots!!!
The hall on the 3rd floor was stuffy, but in the room it was ok. Our room was nicely decorated.
Too bad the reception is closed after 6 pm (I wanted to book a room over the phone and had to wait til the next day to get some information about it).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankwiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Lovely room in an elegant house in the upscale area behind the palace. Room is nicely decorated and overlooks the garden in back. Tram stops almost across the street and nice to walk from the B&B downhill towards the Karl Johans gate area (maybe 20 minutes) through some streets with shops and restaurants. Enough shared bathrooms and showers that I never had to wait for one. Wi-fi is an extra charge and reception is not there 24 hours, but they were pleasant when there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeropostale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I was in town 2 nights for the Bruce Springsteen concerts. I ended up partying too much the last night,and missed my flight. The staff at the hotel was so nice. They got me another room at the same discount price,and helped me print new plane tickets.They also helped me get an early morning taxi.. The place is located right where you need to be in Oslo. Beautiful place,and people. I will stay there any time I go to Oslo.

Room Tip: There are small apartments downstairs for only $20 more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istan, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

excellent service at reception (an exception in the digital days of budget hotels), great living room and kitchen, nice garden (we had a day of sunshine!),friendly staff and a great bed. Oslo has become one of the most expensive places in the world and staying in one of these old style villas in the centre of Oslo at this price level is a welcome change from "the charge you for everything mentality" that most hotels apply. Breakfast was great, nice ambiance and great staff. If you want to sleep in a nice and comfy bed and you want to feel what service still means at this price level we can highly recommend this "renaissance" environment.

Room Tip: pay a little more for a larger room and ask for garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greybennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berg en Dal, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

comfortable, friendly surrounding with nice home feeling atmosphere. Clean, centrally located.
Always nice to stay a few days in this hotel.easy walking distance to the nice places in oslo and the friendly staff is Always there to assist if required. Good breakfast to start the day . for family holdiday or business trip its a great palce to stay. my third time here and will come back for sure

Room Tip: book early as Always quite full
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veugel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 101 in Oslo
800 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#22 of 101 in Oslo
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellingsens Pensjonat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellingsens Pensjonat

Property: Ellingsens Pensjonat
Address: Holtegata 25, Oslo 0355, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellingsens Pensjonat 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Elligsens Pensjonat, feel at home in the middle of the Norwegian capital of Oslo. Opened in 1963, our bed&breakfast has quickly gained a reputation as a place to relax and withdraw from the bustling city life, while offering its rooms at rates for every travelers budget. Our team is always available to help and works relentlessly to provide you with everything to accompany your stay in this beautiful city.The villa itself is located close to the center, only a few steps away from the public transportation and shopping opportunities, offering you a wide array of ways to spend your days.The rooms has been newly in 2014 and 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ellingsens Pensjonat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellingsens Pensjonat Hotel Oslo
Ellingsens Pensjonat Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing