We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice small boutique hotel with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A nice small boutique hotel with good service”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

It is located in a quiet side street 3 minutes walk from the tram station. Very nice interior and remodeled into a modern hotel. Very serviced minded staff. Single room large and well furnished.
However, very disappointing that they still have large old fashioned TV with real poor quality.
Great Breakfast and in addition nice included evening meals.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eiler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trude R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Eiler L,
First of all; thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your visit to Oslo. I am very pleased to see that you had a nice stay and that you will recommend our hotel.
Welcome back to Gabelshus next time -

Trude Rørvik, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    260
    78
    33
    13
See reviews for
84
312
63
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

As part of our mini-cruise Kiel - Oslo arrangement, we chose this hotel for our overnight stay.
A ten minute walk from the ferry brings you to this hotel. It is located in a quiet street not far away from the castle. The surrounding houses are nice and the hotel itself is charming. The lobby is a mixture of traditional arm-chairs and very stylish bar and lounge area. We had a room under the roof which was not very big but cozy and clean. Breakfast was great, complementary coffee is served throughout the day (in the afternoon you can also make yourself some waffles) and in the evening a "light dinner snack" is served (buffet)- be aware that there is no service (you can get drinks at the bar, and that it is called a light snack!. Breakfast, coffee, waffles and light snack where included in the hotel rate. We loved the athomsphere in the hotel and although there are some smaller "mistakes" we would recommend this hotel for a short term stay. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToMaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A great hotel for frequent business travelers as it is a small hotel with a personal touch such as seating area in the reception with fire place, a library, cozy dining room and very friendly staff. Good location in a quiet and charming neighborhood, away for the bussy city center, but still easy to get to the main attractions - either to walk or go by tram.
Very good service and convenient that the hotel guests are offered dinner (included in the room price).
Individual rooms, nicely decorated and good beds. Only minus is that the bathroom was a bit small.

Room Tip: The newer designer rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
639 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The Hotel clean and quiet not so far from downtown. from there is very easy to get main place, closely to National theatre. Important thing is, lunch and dinner are inclusive. You will get traditional Food from Norway everyday.!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NarisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I was recommended to stay at this hotel because of its proximity to the offices of the people that I was to meet. So I found myself slightly further from the centre of Oslo than if I had chosen myself. Having said that, during my stay I did walk from the Opera house via the main shopping area at Karl Johans Gate back to the hotel in about 30 minutes. It was minus 15 Celsius though, so I didn't hang around.

I arrived at the hotel by car and was able to park at the rear of the property in the modestly sized parking area, but I'm not sure that it would be so easy to find a space in the summer months. The hotel has a relatively small reception area but the check-in was very efficient and I was in my room very quickly.

The room was very northern European, sparse but clean and adequate, I must admit that I like this kind of room décor. The bed was comfortable the room temperature easy to regulate, which was a major plus considering the outside temp. And all other in room things including free wi-fi were as expected, there is no coffee making in room, but there is a coffee station on each floor within easy reach if you need a fix.

The major problem with the room for me though was the size of the bathroom, in fact there was no bath, and the shower was a tiny cubicle type that rendered it almost impossible to move within the shower when the door was closed.

I didn't use the other amenities of the Hotel other than to have breakfast, which I have to say was an excellent buffet with very good breads, meats, cheeses etc. and a good selection of hot dishes. And for those who are a bit more adventurous there were also some fishy things, not sure but I think it was the fermented Rakfisk, I didn't try it...

This hotel is a franchise of the same group as comfort hotels so I was not expecting great things, however I was pleasantly surprised by my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a reasonably sized bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This Hotel looks very exclisive from outside. BUT inside is it DIRTY, and low profile rooms.

The Television is the old boxes from 80`s. If you get a flat screen it is a plasma from 2000.

The rooms are dirty, special the bathrooms. In the showers and around the toilet.

The evening food is the same. Always. They serve the same food in the syclus.

In the mean areas is it also very dirty, special in all stairs....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k_7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Oslo in November may not be the best choice, but the warm cozy atmosphere in this old world hotel can very much improve your spirits. I found both breakfast and buffet dinner (surprisingly included in the price) very good and the staff very helpful.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
777 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
Address: Gabels gate 16, Oslo 0272, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#14 Business Hotel in Oslo
#20 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at Hotel Gabelshus offers a deep dive into the culture and history of Oslo. The interior is composed of historical details and fantastic paintings. Being in the heart of an elegant residential area and in walking distance from Vigelandsparken, Aker Brygge and the Royal castle you are guaranteed an exciting stay in Oslo.The hotel offers tasty meals in a charming atmosphere with access to our popular terrace for outside dining. Enjoy your breakfast or complimentary evening meal surrounded by murals reflecting the history of the area. The special atmosphere of the dining room and lounges around has been a background of various fashion shoots.Hotel Gabelshus offers a range of salons with a relaxing atmosphere- the hotel library has a dignified style where you can relax with a book, watch TV or enjoy a glass of wine. The so- called fireplace room is furnished with antique furniture and calming colors offering relaxation in comfortable armchairs in front of the open fireplace.Hotel Gabelshus has a long and exciting history. The mansion was erected in 1912 and was originally a lodging house. The three first managers and owners were women, one more special than the other. Miss Sommerfeldt who ran it from 1933-45 lived herself in the building with her two parrots that had free access to anywhere in the building. She ran the place in a caring and authoritative manner at daytime and used to relax with her guests smoking a pipe in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Gabelshus Hotel Oslo
Clarion Collection Oslo
Clarion Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing