We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel accommodation and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel accommodation and food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Food very good,but evening meal included in price which is a great plus as eating out in Oslo can be very expensive.also coffee available all day in dining room.
Rooms very wel laid out and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOPMCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Very dear guest from Dublin,

We are grateful for your review on TA and truly hope we will meet you again at Hotel Gabelshus in the future. In the meanwhile We all wish you a nice summer and all the best!

Naira Lalayan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    257
    77
    32
    12
See reviews for
82
307
61
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Overall, we enjoyed staying here. The hotel is beautifully decorated and in a very nice neighborhood. The breakfast buffet was great, but the dinner buffet was really awesome and saved us a lot of money vs. having to go out to restaurants in this expensive city. The window in our room did not open very much and it was very hot...a fan would have been nice. The main gripe, however, was the bathroom. I have never seen anything like it, even on a cruise ship or downtown Manhattan - it was ridiculously small! There is a nice patio area out front where you can take your food or drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mns06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay and the nice review. In old days the building of the hotel Gabelshus was a guesthouse, that had separate bedrooms but one big bathroom for all the inhabitants to share. When after The Second World War the house was transformed into a hotel, it was not possible to make big enough bathrooms everywhere, hence this is the reason that some bathrooms in this part of the house are very small. The Hotel Gabelshus as it is called today includes 2 historical buildings, the other one called Hotel Ritz on the old times. In the Ritz part we have from normal size to very specious bathrooms, but this summer none of those rooms were in use, since they are being fully renovated now. The renovation is estimated to be finished by the 19.th of September. From then we will be able to offer those rooms with modern, nice size, brand new bathrooms to our guests. Welcome back another time to test one of those rooms in the future.

Naira Lalayan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed for three nights in the older part of the hotel ( second floor facing the street) at the end of June. It is a lovely relaxing place to come back to after a day sightseeing. Coffee, tea, cappuccino is available 24/7. Waffles!!! In the afternoon! A coffee maker is also in the room. Breakfast was delicious, as was dinner. We probably saved US$80 to $100 a day not having to eat dinner at a restaurant.
The only quirk was the bathroom. The door is glass. Now I must say in our room the door did NOT face directly out to the room, so my sister and I were able to maintain privacy.
Other than that, I don't think I would ever stay anywhere else in Oslo.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellaluna0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest from North Carolina.

I am delighted to read your review! I hope the readers will appreciate what you have mentioned about the value of the stay, and it will help us attract more satisfied guests in the future.

The glass door issue we are working on. We have frosted the glass doors in a variety of rooms already and we are planning to do the same in the remaining rooms as well by the end of this year.

Hope to welcome you at Gabelshus when in Oslo next time and wish you a pleasant summer!

Naira Lalayan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It was a pleasant stay! Excellent service offered all the time. Feels like home - ... all was comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable.
Special service at breakfats, coffe-time and dinner at Gabelshus made this trip unforgetable!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Markus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Marcus,

What a pleasure to read your so fantastic review! It made us feel that we are doing something right - helping you feel comfortable as at home!

Thank you for your time and review and welcome back to us again when in Oslo:-).
Best regards.

Naira Lalayan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Easy to find on our arrival by rented car from the airport and easy on site free parking, great and helpful staff. Rooms nice size in this 1900 era building and absolutely fabulous breakfast included. All the usual with stuff like smoked salmon plus the ability to cook your own eggs. Fabulous. We were quite stunned to learn that dinner was also included in the reasonable price. Okay, it wasn't a gourmet dinner but lots of salads and pastas as well as a meat dish and a delight when still sleepy from an overseas flight. Quite unusual for Oslo there was a heat wave and our room on the top floor was hot. Few rooms in Oslo hotels are air conditioned but they provided a fan and it did cool in the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms in front were quiet but I suspect rooms in rear would be even quieter and get less sun and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hkavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest from Massachusetts.

I just want to thank you so much on behalf of the whole staff for you generous and very kind review. We loved reading it and felt that our efforts to make it a pleasant stay for you were rewarded.

We all hope to meet you again and wish a lovely summer!

Best regards,

Naira Lalayan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

If the prices for this hotel were not so high, we would have enjoyed it. However, because of the high price range, we were expecting too much. Breakfast was nice and the rooms were lovely, but this hotel did not meet out high expectations.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Zachary,

We are not a full service hotel however we offer a cozy hotel in an elegant area, breakfast included in the rate and a free of charge evening meal, with fruit and coffee/Tea and afternoon waffles available without payment. I hope you had a nice place even though it was not fully up to expectations and wish you a pleasant summer and a warm welcome to us for another occasion.

Best regards,

Naira from Hotel Gabelshus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nice hotel with a beautiful outdoor terrace-a great place to unwind and relax after flying all night from US. Dinner buffet tasted pretty good with both European and more western style dishes. Our room was quite clean although not roomy. We were not in Oslo to sightsee but rather as an overnight stay before touring the west coast of Norway; therefore, being close to the city center was not crucial for us. I would recommend this hotel for it being in a quiet neighborhood with a few restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchoolmarmAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairaOslo, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Austin.

Thank you for the review! We are truly not in the area called “city center”, but we are in the most privileged part of central Oslo where most of the locals prefer to be both for leisure and living. It is a 10 minutes walk to Aker Brygge- the harbor where one finds best restaurants of Oslo, Astrup Firnely museum and other attractions and great view. Our neighborhood is quiet, safe and elegant.

Thank you for your stay and you are very welcome to visit us again while in Oslo.

Have a wonderful summer and thanks for your choice!

Naira Lalayan
Hotelldirektør/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
Address: Gabels gate 16, Oslo 0272, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#14 Business Hotel in Oslo
#20 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at Hotel Gabelshus offers a deep dive into the culture and history of Oslo. The interior is composed of historical details and fantastic paintings. Being in the heart of an elegant residential area and in walking distance from Vigelandsparken, Aker Brygge and the Royal castle you are guaranteed an exciting stay in Oslo.The hotel offers tasty meals in a charming atmosphere with access to our popular terrace for outside dining. Enjoy your breakfast or complimentary evening meal surrounded by murals reflecting the history of the area. The special atmosphere of the dining room and lounges around has been a background of various fashion shoots.Hotel Gabelshus offers a range of salons with a relaxing atmosphere- the hotel library has a dignified style where you can relax with a book, watch TV or enjoy a glass of wine. The so- called fireplace room is furnished with antique furniture and calming colors offering relaxation in comfortable armchairs in front of the open fireplace.Hotel Gabelshus has a long and exciting history. The mansion was erected in 1912 and was originally a lodging house. The three first managers and owners were women, one more special than the other. Miss Sommerfeldt who ran it from 1933-45 lived herself in the building with her two parrots that had free access to anywhere in the building. She ran the place in a caring and authoritative manner at daytime and used to relax with her guests smoking a pipe in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Gabelshus Hotel Oslo
Clarion Collection Oslo
Clarion Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing