We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in Oslo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
's-Hertogenbosch
1 review
“A great stay in Oslo”
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I stayed in Clarion Collection Gabelshus after extensively reading reviews on hotels in Oslo on Tripadvisor. I must say this hotel is really that good as described in the reviews. It has a charming, homelike atmosphere. Great 100% organic breakfast and diner included. The dinner was a buffet of vegetables with some rice dishes. More than sufficient for dinner and much cheaper than eating in a restaurant in Oslo. Although I can imagine that eating the same buffet 3 times isn't everyones cup of tea.

Coffee, thea and water are freely available for the whole day and you can even bake your own wafles in late afternoon.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and has a lot of nice seats where you can sit and relax.

The single room was not very large (quitte small) but very nicely decorated, feeling like a home room. The bed was very good.

The hotel lies near a tram in a quiet neighbourhood. The centre is within walking distance, although I must say I don't mind walking 20 minutes to the centre.

Big thanks to all the people who reviewed this hotel and helped me make my decision. I hope I can also contribute by this review.

Short conclusion: highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicmakernl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    257
    77
    32
    12
See reviews for
82
307
61
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
89 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Great location, nice design, near the tram, delicous breakfast, lunch and dinner are complimentary! We have liked it very much. We would definetely got there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Repko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Stayed at the Clarion Collection Gabelshus for 1 night on a business trip to Oslo. The hotel is beautifully decorated in a large, old building in Oslos embassy district, but it only takes 10 minutes to walk to downtown Oslo.

My room was quite small, but with a nice gardenview. However, the bathroom was tiny! only about 1 sqm.

The dinner buffet is included in the rate and it was excellent. Fresh seafood, pasta etc. instead of spending lots of money at nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClausP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed here with our three children (ages 9, 13, 15) and had a great experience! Norway is expensive but the Gabelshus has FREE dinner (nice selection of salads and yummy mushroom soup) and FREE breakfast (huge spread) and FREE coffee/tea/hot chocolate- this was a big hit with my kids (I was buzzing on the multiple lattes myself!)- we got 2 rooms at the end of a hall, large and clean. Location is a short walk from the trams and you can also walk to many places easily right from the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone headed to Oslo!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romyzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We stayed at the Gabelhus for 4 nights in mid-May, 2009. We were surprised to discover that our special rate of $159 per night included both dinner and breakfast. The dinner was buffet style, and included soup and salad (very fresh), very good bread and several hot entrees. The breakfast was equally generous. Our room was fine, small, comfortable. Free internet in the lobby. The staff was quite friendly. The hotel is a nice 15 minute walk to downtown Oslo. What really made us like this hotel is that my husband was ill so that we had to stay an extra night. The rate for that night would have been double what we paid and the manager was kind enough to give us the cheaper rate for the 4th night. A class act.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llamalover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Cute boutique hotel.
Downside: A long walk from the city and train station, especially trying to wheel suitcases over pebbly streets (taxi was ~20 Euros just few a few km!). Glass toilet doors - not too private.
Upside: Breakfast & dinner included (you will be happy to stay indoors at night unless middle of summer!). These make it great value for money when you consider the cost of meals in Olso! Free (real) coffee 24/7

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njbula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We chose this hotel for 3 reasons: we thought it is in a quiet neighbourhood but still close to the city centre; easy parking and the comfort of the hotel. Unluckily, only part of it turned out as expected.
Easy parking: Yes, hotel has limited free parking spaces for the quests, which was very convenient if there is one available.
Close to the city center: yes, it is about 15 minutes nice walk from hotel to the harbour, but you can also take the tram. The stop is very close to hotel.
Quiet: It is only partly true. It was a very beautiful sunny evening / night in Oslo (about 20C). Our room become very warm (no air-conditioning in room). We had to open the windows. It was very hard to get some sleep. First, we heard every car passing by. Second, although it was on a weekday, people stayed in their garden / balcony talking / laughing very loudly almost the whole night. Third, we can also hear people talking next to our room. Suggestion: If you stay in the main building during warm days, avoid rooms that are facing the street side.
Comfort: The room is very nice decorated. The comfort and the qualities of the beds and bedlinen are excellent. Although the quality of the bathroom is as good as the rest of the room, the size of it is unacceptable small. It is only about 180 cm by 80 cm. So when I sat on the lavatory, my legs are under the sink (I am only 1.55 cm high!) The door of the bathroom is made from clear glass. Very good choice, I guess. At least you won't get claustrophobia there.
Elevator: We stayed in the main building. The elevator is very very old, small and slow.
The simple free supper is a advantage since in the direct neighbourhood is no restaurant.

So, actually we were not very satisfied with this hotel. However, if I read the reviews about other hotels in Oslo, Gabelshus seems still to be one of the better choices.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
Address: Gabels gate 16, Oslo 0272, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#14 Business Hotel in Oslo
#20 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at Hotel Gabelshus offers a deep dive into the culture and history of Oslo. The interior is composed of historical details and fantastic paintings. Being in the heart of an elegant residential area and in walking distance from Vigelandsparken, Aker Brygge and the Royal castle you are guaranteed an exciting stay in Oslo.The hotel offers tasty meals in a charming atmosphere with access to our popular terrace for outside dining. Enjoy your breakfast or complimentary evening meal surrounded by murals reflecting the history of the area. The special atmosphere of the dining room and lounges around has been a background of various fashion shoots.Hotel Gabelshus offers a range of salons with a relaxing atmosphere- the hotel library has a dignified style where you can relax with a book, watch TV or enjoy a glass of wine. The so- called fireplace room is furnished with antique furniture and calming colors offering relaxation in comfortable armchairs in front of the open fireplace.Hotel Gabelshus has a long and exciting history. The mansion was erected in 1912 and was originally a lodging house. The three first managers and owners were women, one more special than the other. Miss Sommerfeldt who ran it from 1933-45 lived herself in the building with her two parrots that had free access to anywhere in the building. She ran the place in a caring and authoritative manner at daytime and used to relax with her guests smoking a pipe in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Gabelshus Hotel Oslo
Clarion Collection Oslo
Clarion Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing