We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unspectacular and soulless” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
327 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Unspectacular and soulless”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

If you are looking for a hotel with charm, character, smiling staff and excellent food - then don't bother going to the Gabelshus. Set in what once must have been a lovely building, the hotel has at one stage been 'modernised', i.e. stripped of all its features except for a fireplace or two and a bit of wood panelling; the rest of the fixtures and furniture is soulless. My room was rather shabby - paint peeling off the woodwork - but also the chairs in the dining area were battered, the seats stained or the fabric torn. The wardrobe was 40cm wide and the shower one of those 1980s style cabins with two sliding half-doors. There was only one pillow; I began to wonder if this is what life is like in a Dutch open prison. The breakfast was just ok (although I was surprised to see no smoked salmon given that Norway is a major producer of the stuff) but the atmosphere was more of a motorway service station than anything. The 'light evening meal' was not worth bothering with. The staff were, at best, indifferent; perhaps one has to upgrade in order to get them to smile and you can certainly forget anything like an offer of help with your luggage. I chose the Gabelshus because I wished to avoid the large, soulless and IKEA-esque hotels which seem par for the course in Oslo; what I got was a small, soulless and IKEA-esque hotel - not terrible but nothing of any distinction.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    243
    75
    30
    11
See reviews for
77
296
61
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

a great place and good value in Oslo. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Located in a quiet residential area but only a short walk to the city center. Price included a good breakfast and nice dinner buffet. A definite recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasMerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma, Mallorca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

I stayed in Gabelshus for a couple of nights in October while visiting friends and family. This is truly a cosy and very friendly place to stay. The location is great, very residential, and only 10 mins walking distance to the city center. The beds are great, and my room was perfect (ask for room 209). The hotel have several nice lounges, and one even has a open fire. Very nice during the cold Oslo winter. The breakfast is also good. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceans14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Stayed in the Clarion Collection Gabelshus for 2 nights with my husband. Very nice area and convenient to the tram. Hotel old world with modern facilities. Lovely room with balcony and modern shower room. We opted for bed and breakfast and evening supper. Food for both breakfast and evening meal was buffet and you need to be early or else the hot food was only warm. Enjoyed my stay there and would recommend it to friends and family

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 08smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

I very much enjoyed my stay here. The room itself was very quiet and a nice size although the beds were quite narrow (twin size at best) and I'm very small so I think for most people, and definitely most Americans, these beds would be too narrow! Breakfast and dinner are included (a budget relief since this city is very $$$$), but please be aware that it is buffet only and there is no menu so if you are a picky eater, this is not the place for you. Breakfast was very good. I did not eat dinner here but I did look in one night and it didn't look that great so just a note of caution. A good alternative is an Egon restaurant, a chain throughout Norway that serves a wide range of food for a decent price.

I enjoyed the location but it is out of the city a bit - my travel book described it as "further afield" and yet with the tram at one end of the street and several bus lines at the other end, I could easily and safely get wherever I needed to go in 15 minutes or less. It is very residential and I liked being out of the hustle and bustle of the downtown area but some may prefer to be closer. Since it's on the western side of Oslo, it's about a 15 minute tram ride from the Oslo South train station and a 2 minute walk up a slight hill from the tram to the hotel. You MUST buy the Oslo Pass if you are staying here for more than one day - it allows you access to all trams, ferries, and buses and you don't have to buy a ticket every time. Very convenient and a very good value.

Internet access is free with a card, and worked great (I'm writing this review from my room). The room is very work-friendly with a large desk and 2 plugs right at desk level, making it easy to charge electronics.

I would definitely consider staying here again. The only reason I may NOT is to be closer to meetings in downtown (this trip was leisure) but otherwise I would not hesitate. The staff is terrific, all speak absolutely impeccable English and were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SundayRiver2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed in the Clarion Gabelshus for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location was good - very close to the tram to the city centre. The waffles in the afternoon and the evening meal included were a great added bonus - the food in the evenings was very good!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cailin-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

Very cosy old british style, nice comfortable room, good to have the option for a light evening meal and waffles during the day. Tea and coffee available for free. Close to the water if you want to have a nice walk or run. Many nice places within the hotel to just sit down and read a book.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bishop4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
Address: Gabels gate 16, Oslo 0272, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#14 Business Hotel in Oslo
#20 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at Hotel Gabelshus offers a deep dive into the culture and history of Oslo. The interior is composed of historical details and fantastic paintings. Being in the heart of an elegant residential area and in walking distance from Vigelandsparken, Aker Brygge and the Royal castle you are guaranteed an exciting stay in Oslo.The hotel offers tasty meals in a charming atmosphere with access to our popular terrace for outside dining. Enjoy your breakfast or complimentary evening meal surrounded by murals reflecting the history of the area. The special atmosphere of the dining room and lounges around has been a background of various fashion shoots.Hotel Gabelshus offers a range of salons with a relaxing atmosphere- the hotel library has a dignified style where you can relax with a book, watch TV or enjoy a glass of wine. The so- called fireplace room is furnished with antique furniture and calming colors offering relaxation in comfortable armchairs in front of the open fireplace.Hotel Gabelshus has a long and exciting history. The mansion was erected in 1912 and was originally a lodging house. The three first managers and owners were women, one more special than the other. Miss Sommerfeldt who ran it from 1933-45 lived herself in the building with her two parrots that had free access to anywhere in the building. She ran the place in a caring and authoritative manner at daytime and used to relax with her guests smoking a pipe in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Gabelshus Hotel Oslo
Clarion Collection Oslo
Clarion Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing