We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to ask for level 5, don't be shy to ask nicely for better room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Be sure to ask for level 5, don't be shy to ask nicely for better room”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

When I first arrived I was on third floor with 'courtyard' view. The courtyard is noisy air-conditioning and other service area and the sound in my initial room was sure to give me a headache. Likewise rooms facing Karl Johan Gate will be noisy due to busy main street full of tourists below. I asked very nicely and said 'I don't mean to offend but may I please ask for a more quiet room' and the lovely Zeta at reception offered me a choice of two rooms on level 5. Much, much nicer. No where near as noisy but like a lot of hotels in Scandinavian cities I recommend ear plugs or better yet noise cancelling head phones for when you sleep. It is a good location of a hotel if you like being right in the centre of things. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is decent. Level 5 rooms are much much nicer than below.

Room Tip: Read my review above for tips on room choice. Just be extra nice to lovely staff and they should loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yarana_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    324
    176
    58
    37
See reviews for
146
233
73
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Service was extra special because of a wonderful cheerful person at the reception. ..Alejandra.

Alejandra really went the extra mile in ensuring comfort n is an honest, sincere and lovable young lady. She made bookings for us...n contacted the manager for us n selected good rooms n gave us good value for money. If in doubt of any places of interest in Oslo...ask Alejandra.

The summer room rate here is simply the best I ve seen.

Karl Johan Best Western is on the very main street of Oslo. But its in a up class neighbourhood n is central abt 3 to 5 min to roads that lead to the main attractions, parks, the main bus n tram terminal.

As you leave the Oslo S centrsl train station. Exit on the left to meet a giant tiger sculpture.walk past this leaving it directly behind u 18o degrees n walk straight ahead...all the way for abt 12 min. Rows n rows of shopping outlets flank both sides. A nice old church on yr right...aft 12 min...you reach the parliament on yr left n The hotel is just 150 m from here on yr right. This is also almost the end of Karl Johan street.....you ll see large flower basins right in the middle of the road here.. can recognize the parliament by two lion sculptures.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The location of this hotel in Oslo's Main Street is fabulous. You can access all the main attractions. The problem is as other reviewers have said the noise. Our first room on the 4th floor at the back was unbearable. The second room was on the front but quieter ??! That room was lovely. In both rooms we had asked for hostess trays which were provided promptly. Both rooms were clean. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast adequate all the essentials. Overall this is a no frills hotel offering basic accommodation and served our purpose. Oslo is very very expensive and an upgraded hotel would have cost far more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaggersLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

.We spent one night at the hotel in August. We decided to leave our bags in the luggage room since we would be out walking in the city and did not want to drag them along all day. The room has a lock and you get the key from the reception and you put tags on your bags. We went out and came back and our bags were gone. The receptionist was not helpful when I told her that our bags had been stolen and said "I hope you have travel insurance". She was not helpful at all and no effort was made to assist us with our stolen baggage. She did tell me that she had her suspisions but couldn't prove anything. It was frustrating to have our bags stolen and get poor service. The room is located behind the reception desk, you have to ask for the key and show the tags to get bags out.
Our hotel room was located on the 3rd floor facing away from Karl Johan. It was a warm August evening and our room was very warm. There is no AC so you have to keep the windows open and it is difficult to sleep. This hotel is in need of some updating. If you don't want to sleep well at night and want to risk having your baggage stolen this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 8GlobeTrotter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Ras Tanura, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed for one night with our son August 7th. The receptionist was very nice and let us check in at 10am! The problem is there is no AC and to be able to sleep you had to open the windows. Well that would work if the city wasn't so loud. We did not sleep well at all. Plus is that it is in the middle of the city so you can walk to everything.
Breakfast was good and the room was a good size.

Room Tip: Gave away from the street if you stay in the summer time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaSmith53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

i stayed in august for 2 night on b. trip
first i will say that the service of the receptionists were perfect and they try to do the best with a smile.
but still this hotel have rooms that you see only in 2 stars hotel (room 336).
all the rooms don’t have safes and no air-condition.
the single rooms are very small.
the locations of the hotel is perfect but its feel like for the owner is enough.
breakfast was good.
although the perfect service i won’t come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Beautiful hotel, great location, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, not expensive (through Fjord-Pass paid 1200 NOK for 1 night on June 29 for 3 adults in a suite), spacious room - definitely good value. Hotel is very close to a metro station and right in the center of Oslo, close to everything, and is in the pedestrian mall (Karl Johans Gate). Rooms can be a little noisy on weekends. No parking cloeseby, but hotel guests get a 25% discount in an underground parking lot about 400 meters away.

Room Tip: some of the rooms may be noisy at night because of a nearby establishment. The noise didn't both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#42 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Scandic Victoria
#31 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotell Bondeheimen
#43 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Grand Hotel
#15 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#40 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Karl Johan Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Karl Johan Hotell

Property: Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Address: Karl Johans Gate 33, Oslo 0162, Norway (Formerly Norlandia)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Karl Johan Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Oslo's main street and in the heart of the city centre lies this historic hotel from 1899. Next to the Parliament and within immediate walking distance to a variety of museums, attractions, shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel has 114 rooms, as well as 5 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Karl Johan Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell Hotel Oslo
Norlandia Karl Johan Hotell Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing