We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They gave me earplugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They gave me earplugs”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The first 4 days were somehow OK. The room was small, the basinet was tiny and so was the shower, but somehow I managed. Then I left to Bergen and came back. they gave me a 'cabin'! A claustrophobically small room. And the shower is on the toilet (yes, this is not a misspell). They know the room sucks - this is why they asked me to pay in advance.
Now we get to the best part, there some motor outside the room. I asked to replace the room. They told me they are booked full and offered me earplugs.
I am now sitting in a hotel room with earplugs! What a vacation?!!!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, but if you must - Get a room at the top floor (and check the room before paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    336
    182
    64
    38
See reviews for
154
245
77
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of Oslo city. A short 10 minute walk from the railway station; which is pedestrianised.
Excellent buffet breakfast which offers both traditional Norwegian as well as European Continental and a small selection of cooked English breakfast foods; although sometimes there would be a wait for the cooked food to be refilled, and herring is not my choice?
The rooms are comfortable with excellent heating and the beds were to die for. I slept so well with what looks like a shabby duvet on top of me, but yet this is the best duvet I have ever slept under. As for noise there was none for us and we overlooked the side street.
there was a small 'lounge' area if you didn't want to stay in your room where there was plenty of coffee and teas available as a well as a television to watch (though there was one in the room).
It is currently undergoing extension at one of the present hotel to extend its number of rooms; as well as some rooms are undergoing refurbishment, especially to double glaze the windows.
The advantage of this hotel is its closeness to everything as well as transport links out of the city. And the staff couldn't be more friendly - thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and off to the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for it central location and moderate prices butunfortunately didn't read the reviews here before confirming our booking, The staff was helpful, held our luggage because we arrived early and gave us directions on what to see around Oslo until check in time. The room we stayed in on the second floor was spacious (13ft high ceilings), had a large and clear bathroom, an a separate alcove for the bed. There was also a sofa bed (which we had requested ahead of time).

After our walks in Oslo we headed to bed rather early (9:30 p.m. or so) and fell asleep right away until the music started. LOUD. THUMPING. FLOOR SHAKING MUSIC! The second floor rooms are located right above the sports bar (not affiliated with the hotel) but on the first floor. This continued until THREE A.M.!!

Let me just pause this review to ask a rhetorical question - what part of having thumping music under a hotel room makes business sense?

The music was so loud during the first night of our stay the floor and walls were vibrating. It kept me, my son and wife up until 3 a.m. when it magically stopped.

The next day, we brought it to the front desk's attention (they informed us only one other person complained) and they moved us to the fourth floor facing Karl Johans. Street noise was evident, but nothing compared to thumping dance music until 3 a.m.

I felt sorry for the front desk staff as I am sure the noise complaints are brought to their attention on a regular basis. Management needs to take some steps to rectify this - perhaps gut the 2nd floor and make it the location of the dining area or put in some heavy duty sound proofing. The three different staff members we dealt with during our staff were friendly and accommodating.

Pros
------
Great breakfast buffet
Central location
moderately priced
front desk staff, friendly and knowledgeable.
Deli de Luca (like a 7-11) on street level around the corner - for sandwiches, soft drinks etc

CONS
---------
VERY LOUD MUSIC UNTIL 3 A.M.

Room Tip: Select a high room facing away from the street. Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nabilfawzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Aarhus, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This review is written at 2 am directly from the hotel. You can just as well write reviews at this time, since you won't be able to sleep anyway if there's a party at the club in the basement. And this night there is. The music is loud, there are people talking and yelling on the street just below - meaning no sleep. And honestly - sleeping is what a hotel is for.
Thats a real shame since the hotel is pretty nice, wellkept, clean, has friendly staff, good breakfast and is pretty cheap compered to Norwegian standard. But that really doesn't help you much, when you are unable to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henningn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braga
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

From Gardermoen Airport, you will arrive to the hotel in 30 minutes. Catch the Flytoget train to Oslo Sentralstasjon. Once there, walk out the front and Karl Johan Gate should be directly in front of you. Hotel will be 5 or 6 blocks up on the right.
I have been 3 nights in this hotel. I can say it is a very good hotel with a great location on the main shopping street, distance walk (few meters) from the palace, the waterfront and the train station for the airport.
The staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast is very good high quality products.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andreagartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This is a super hotel, great location on the main shopping street in Oslo. Staff are really friendly and the breakfasts are to die for. The only negative is that they are doing building work to the hotel, so there are no views from the windows and there is a bit of noise. But this didn't detract from a great place to stay and a great city to see. MUST SEE.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Oslo has to be the most expensive city I have ever been too. With that, rates at this hotel are a relatively good value. I stayed here 2 days for business. From Gardermoen Airport, I was walking in to the lobby at the hotel in 30 minutes. Catch the Flytoget train to Oslo Sentralstasjon. Once there, walk out the front and Karl Johan Gate should be directly in front of you. Hotel will be 5 or 6 blocks up on the right.

Hotel itself is a little dated, rooms are small (even by european standards). Do NOT stay in a room at the front of the hotel overlooking Karl Johan Gate unless you don't plan on sleeping. All the traffic noise, construction and TGI Friday's underneath you blasting music made it impossible. The front desk agents were very nice and switched me to a room in the back and it was very quiet, no view, but quiet.

Breakfast was minimal. I'm not a big pickled fish guy, so I took advantage of the chicken meatballs, scrambled eggs and breads!

This is a nice central location and there is shopping all up and down Karl Johan Gate. Prepare for sticker shock however. 66 Kr. (about $11 U.S.) for .6 of a pint of beer. Good beer, but not worth $11!! Still I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the front of the hotel facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#36 of 102 in Oslo
378 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#39 of 102 in Oslo
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Victoria
#30 of 102 in Oslo
861 reviews
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Karl Johan Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Karl Johan Hotell

Property: Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Address: Karl Johans Gate 33, Oslo 0162, Norway (Formerly Norlandia)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Karl Johan Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Oslo's main street and in the heart of the city centre lies this historic hotel from 1899. Next to the Parliament and within immediate walking distance to a variety of museums, attractions, shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel has 114 rooms, as well as 5 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Karl Johan Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell Hotel Oslo
Norlandia Karl Johan Hotell Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing