We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Ranked #42 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked this hotel for it's location as we were traveling with our 2 adult kids and wanted flexibility for them. But we also looked for one room, with room for all. We booked because of the bed count and after emailing them, I realized their room didn't match their advertisement. Many back and forth emails later, they fully accommodated our needs and upgraded us to a junior suite. I read a review that they don't have A/C and this is true. However, our room had enough windows to open and the temps weren't that high, plus we requested a fan which really helped. They are located on a busy corner, so it helps to close the windows at night anyway, but by then, the temps had fallen. Breakfast was really good, well worth it, AND the box lunch that you could organize to take away, really saved us on finding lunch to eat out. HIGHLY recommend this place!

Room Tip: If noise is a factor, ask about your room. Luckily they JUST renovated and the windows are very we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roohski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Arrived with a single room booking and found that room to be both small and quite a walk from the elevator. The clerk gave me an upgrade, so nothing to worry :-) Superior room in fifth floor was much better and had a great view out on Karl Johan. Old en slow elevator, but breakfast was ok, rooms were clean and people was very nice and service minded. If you want to stay central in Oslo for a couple of days, you can stay here. No problem.

Room Tip: Take the superior rooms on fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlteEngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great location,right on Karl Johan. Walking distance to lots of the local attractions & activities. The Breakfast included was very nice. Older Hotel, well maintained, clean and staff is super. I am happy to recommend this Hotel to any Oslo Traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Well located with a couple of restaurants next door. No noise issues in my experience.

Only 500m walk from National Theatre station using airport express.

All clean and tidy with good beds.

Very friendly and helpful reception staff.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gmgilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The day after we checked in the elevator stopped working. We weren't given the use of the staff elevator. When I asked why the desk clerk said it only worked between the third and fifth floors. This wasn't true as I'd seen hotel maids using it. I watched 60 and 70 year olds trying to drag their suitcases up four and five flights of stairs with no assistance from the hotel staff. To be fair there was only one person at a time at the desk.
The first room we were given was a broom closet with a window onto huge vents. When I told the desk person it was unacceptable she gave us a nice big room facing the plaza. This was good except there was a heat wave and no air conditioning and windows that only opened 2 inches.

I am sorry to complain but other than the wonderful breakfasts and excellent maid service the hotel really should be closed until it is upgraded.

Room Tip: Make sure the elevator is working. Get an exterior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwensanfranciscob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Hotel is old, with small noisy and warm rooms. Poor air condition. Will never come back. The worst hotel I have ever visited in Norway.

Plus: Central

Negative: noise, service (waiting time in breakfast and reception), air conditions, room's size, design and standard

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Karl Johan street is the main street of Oslo.To go to Nobel Peace Prize building and City Hall takes just 15 minutes by walk, National Gallery is even closer.Near the hotel ,there is subway station and you can also see Munch Museum after a few stops.Spanish lady at the reception is the best.She is very friendly.After I checked out, waiting for my flight hour , I had a great talk with her.I highly recommended this hotel even if prices are also high.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cemre Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Victoria
#29 of 102 in Oslo
916 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Karl Johan Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Karl Johan Hotell

Address: Karl Johans gate 33, Oslo 0162, Norway (Formerly Norlandia)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £97 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Karl Johan Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Oslo's main street and in the heart of the city centre lies this historic hotel from 1899. Next to the Parliament and within immediate walking distance to a variety of museums, attractions, shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel has 114 rooms, as well as 5 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Karl Johan Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell Hotel Oslo
Norlandia Karl Johan Hotell Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing