We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Fantastic hotel and charming staff. Good breakfast. The most central hotel in Oslo. On main street Karl Johan.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fritjoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2009

Book Oslo in the summer well ahead of time! ! We did not, and this was the only centrally located place with a room. The twin room we had booked had been sold on our arrival, so they upgraded us to a "suite" which was basically a huge (very nice) room with an outstanding 4th floor view over the front of the main street with the Parliament building, plazas, etc. Unfortunately the "etc" includes a lot of loud tacky clubs and restaurants. Since there is no AC and it was very hot and stuffy up there, we had to open all our windows and the street noise was awful, and went quite late, as others have noted. The staff did not seem interested in trying to help us with this (or much of anything else). We adapted by using earplugs, and ended up enjoying the hotel for its location and the view/ comfort of the room-- and the noise factor did get better with cooler weather and weeknights. This place is pretty disorganized; they overcharged us and have not replied to our attempts to correct.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

My computer was stolen from the locked luggage room. The hotel staff barely apologized and repeated emails to the management have resulted in no response. Avoid leaving valuables.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel100100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

The hotel is on one of the main streets for bars and pubs, some of which are popular with bikers. In June the noise from the street until 3am or later (it is still liight, so people don't want to go home) is very loud, including music, people shouting, bikes revving. If it is hot, windows open make this much worse fo course, but even when closed it is difficult to sleep.

So not recommended if you actually want to sleep at this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

The hotel is in the perfect location, close to the palace and the ferries and right on the main street where all the shops, restaurants and night life are.
I dont know what everyone is complaining about, the hotel was fine, room was large and clean, service was fine. The breakfast was great and is open untill 10am or 11am in the weekends so allows a good sleep in.
Its no 5 star hotel but it doesnt claim to be!

Good value for money
I would definatley stay in this hotel again and dont really have any complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJ2009London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

I have stayed at this hotel more than 4 times over the last few month and everytime I have been disapointed.

Check-in: Bad service, they don't ask, they don't listen to what you say.
Rooms: Everytime I have had to change the room (unclean, no curtains, smoke, noise, missing lights etc.)
Breakfast: Okay, but they always close a part when they have few guests and then you will have to sit with people you don't know.
Location: The best in Oslo, directly on Karl Johan.
Internet: I really do not understand how you still can charge for this...
Value: If you can put up with the above mentioned, the location is good and the price low.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellerwithstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

We really did great booking the Norlandia Karl Johan hotel in Oslo. It has the best location right in the main street, just a few metres to the underground and rail station (theater) and very right in the middle of the shopping area, with bars, clubs, restaurants, shops and only a short walk to the Akker Brigge (the port) where there is a bunch of restaurants, shops and a few bars. It is just 2 mins to the National Gallery where you can see "The Scream" by Munch and others

Breakfast is superb at the roof with gorgeous local breads, norwegian salmon, mackerels, crepes, etc. Also free coffee and tea machine at receptcion. We had a small but confortable room on floor two, nice bathroom. The hotel is placed in a charming XIX century building and is full of beautiful paintings.

Also, the price was really good compared to other hotels which were not so central located. We will come back

1  Thank Manrique69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#36 of 102 in Oslo
519 reviews
Scandic Victoria
#31 of 102 in Oslo
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#39 of 102 in Oslo
404 reviews
Grand Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oslo
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Karl Johan Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Karl Johan Hotell

Address: Karl Johans Gate 33, Oslo 0162, Norway (Formerly Norlandia)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £108 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Karl Johan Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Oslo's main street and in the heart of the city centre lies this historic hotel from 1899. Next to the Parliament and within immediate walking distance to a variety of museums, attractions, shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel has 114 rooms, as well as 5 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Karl Johan Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell Hotel Oslo
Norlandia Karl Johan Hotell Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing