We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast in Oslo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great breakfast in Oslo”
Reviewed 28 April 2010

You can drink coffee or tea all time you stay in the hotel. The breakfast was great, various foods, there're great so I saw a few customers added foods in their bags. :D

Firstly, no choice for TV program, it's hardly found English program on TV. If you want to watch some international entertainment like movies you need to pay 110 NOK, even the movies in year 2008 such as Seven Pounds. I think if it's not new movies, the hotel should service for any customers who choose to stay this hotel. Secondly, some words from women reception when I told her stay more one night because my flight was cancelled. She upset that I told her on the checkout time even the room was available, she might forgot that customer's always the king.

Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank wnsiripant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    324
    176
    59
    37
See reviews for
146
235
73
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
251 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Really a no frills place. Tiny room overlooking an internal courtyard. Slept OK in it, but it's hardly a charming place. Very average breakfast. All this for a price far from cheap, but hey, this is Norway! In a few words, been there, slept OK, don't necessarily look forward to going back there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfredoLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkenes, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We booked a Suite in this hotel, (now called the Best Western Karl Johan Hotell) their website picture looked fabulous. Although they pride themselves in being an 18th century hotel, there was nothing 18th century about our room. It was completely modern, even down to the pictures on the wall. The reception is very pretty but in my opinion, gives a false impression on the rest of the hotel. The room was nothing like we expected, it had stains all over the carpet, old cigarette butts on the window sills, there were no drawers to put our clothes/personal items in, the bathroom had no room to put out toothbrushes etc, the toilet hugged the wall to the point you had to sit on it sideways on, the whole bathroom was no bigger than 1.5m square. The whole room was only slightly bigger than any standard hotel room but I guess what made it a suite was that it had a sofa in it. We paid a premium rate for this room & we asked if we could change rooms due to the state of it & lack of facility. Staff offered to downgrade but not until the following day & without offering the price difference. We had to ask 3 times for the tea & coffee to be brought to the room as it was supposed to have it in there already. Between 2am & 3am, there was a crane directly outside the window scraping ice off the roof, why that could not have been done in the day is beyond me but staff were not phased by complaint even though this was the only building on the mile long street to have ice scraped at that time of morning. The location is fantastic, that can't be faulted. Plenty of things to do & see. Despite having a perfectly capable dining room for breakfasts, they do not offer any form of dining except a Pizza menu from an outsourced company who close fairly early & charge a fortune! Suffice to say, instead of switching rooms the next day as arranged, we checked out & stayed in the Rica Grand Oslo instead, which was just amazing in comparison & still in a fabulous location. We are still waiting to hear back from Best Western regarding our complaints, they did not even query why we wanted to check out 3 days early on a 4 night stay. I have been trying to think of positive things about this hotel but all I can come up with is: Good location for walking to different attractions, nice decor in the reception, pretty views over the ice rink from the upper floors...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imnotalwaysright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We stayed here for a w/end. Room was small but clean, warm and looked out onto iced skating rink. Buffet breakfast was good. 2 mins walk to art gallery, 3 mins walk to castle, 10-12 mins walk to train/bus station, 3 mins walk to metro for tobaggon trip, on main street. Staff v friendly and helpful. Would recommend with no hesitations.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brambletree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Karl Johan Hotel (now known as Best Western, not Norlandia anymore, could only find this profile) in Oslo in November. Loved our spacious room facing Karl Johan street (Oslo's Champs Elysées), the location couldn't be any better. Friendly staff, our room was nice and clean (to me the negative cleanliness comments from other travellers to this hotel seem like a mystery!) and our room - although it was facing the street - was not more noisy than what you can expect from a hotel with a location like this. Ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor, noisewise I'm sure it helps to get a bit up from the ground. We had originally only booked a standard double room, but were offered an upgrade for only NOK 200 (about £ 20) for a spacious deluxe rooms with a view over Karl Johan street, the Parliament and the park outside the hotel. Sooo worth the money! Great choice if you want to stay in the city centre at a mid-price hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayIda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

For our first time in Oslo this was an excellent hotel. Walking distance to everywhere!
Having read reviews here at Tripadvisor we were expecting some noise as we were staying over the weekend. The staff seems very aware that they get complaints about the nightclubs, and recommended a room on the 5th floor. In general everyone was very friendly and service was excellent. We were able to check in at 11 am!
Room was spacious and had a lovely view (we paid NOK 300, about £30 extra for an upgrade). Breakfast was good and we were able to store our luggage in a luggage room after checking out. We slept well in comfortable beds - I would deffenately recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Oslo.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moss_andy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Fantastic hotel and charming staff. Good breakfast. The most central hotel in Oslo. On main street Karl Johan.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritjoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#42 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Scandic Victoria
#31 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotell Bondeheimen
#44 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Grand Hotel
#14 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#40 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Karl Johan Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Karl Johan Hotell

Property: Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Address: Karl Johans Gate 33, Oslo 0162, Norway (Formerly Norlandia)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Karl Johan Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Oslo's main street and in the heart of the city centre lies this historic hotel from 1899. Next to the Parliament and within immediate walking distance to a variety of museums, attractions, shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel has 114 rooms, as well as 5 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Karl Johan Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell Hotel Oslo
Norlandia Karl Johan Hotell Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing