We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Housekeeping at this hotel must be nonexisting.
Phone did not work and the place was so dirty one did not want to walk on the floor
We had to put towels on the floor in the bathroom to even want to put our feet down.
2 x-a beds was in room upon check-in, hotel did not have personell to dispose of them ( checked in at 6.pm) Had to fold them up and put them in a corner ourselves as we had not ordered them.
Hotel full so was not able to change room.
Supposedly staying 2 nights but checked out after the one night

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedenSkifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    318
    171
    58
    37
See reviews for
142
224
73
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mirano, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

We only stayed one night at this hotel but it was enough to appreciate the great location.
The hotel is on the main street with plenty of shops, restaurants and bars nearby. Up the hill to the right is the royal palace, to the left the parliament building, in front is the park and a short walk through and beyond the park brings you to the town hall, Nobel Museum and harbour where you can take a variety of boat trips.
Oslo is expensive and price-wise, this hotel is in the norm for Oslo. Staff were eager to help, spoke excellent English and our included breakfast was varied and tasty.
A good place to stay in Oslo, especially if you don't have much time and need to get around quickly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarajane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

In what has often be cited as one of the most expensive cities in the world, The BW Karl Johan Hotell might be the best value in Oslo. For about $125 weekend rate (including all taxes and fees), I enjoyed an old world stay (read: classic European building with high ceilings, sweeping carpeted staircases with art on every landing, comfortable bed with nice duvet, etc.). The abundant free breakfast with ample hearty and healthy selections that was constantly replenished with fresh items right up until the final minutes (rather than the typical empty trays and platters 45 minutes early and a tear down that begins 15 minutes early), the free wireless Internet, wall-mounted flat panel TV, friendly and helpful front desk staff, and probably the best location for a tourist in all of Oslo (near tourist office, transportation hubs, multitude of restaurants and cafes, and major attractions) all contributed to my high satisfaction with my stay. The only "negative" points that made the stay less than "perfect" (and they are very minor ones), are the bed was too short for my 6'4" frame and sandwiched into a corner so I could not just "hang ten", the television programming selection was limited (why no CNN or BBC world news?), and there might be possible late night street noise from the TGI Fridays and other restaurant / bars just outside if you get a front facing room. My room was an interior one, so noise was no problem whatsoever. And, like most older hotels I found in Oslo, there is no A/C, which in July resulted in a slight uncomfortable stuffiness during the day, but very pleasant cool temps for sleep through the night. So, if your looking for a Marriott or Hyatt experience, you won't get it here; you'll get much better - a sense of a truly European family run hotel with high standards. The BW Karl Johan will be my first choice when I return!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgb10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

Fantastic hotel. Fantastic location. Fantastic staff!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewanderer2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valongo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

This hotel is perfectly located in Karl Johan Gate very central and a few steps away from the FlyBus. The satff is nice. The hotel rooms are small but have room for all the necessary:single bed, desk with TV, wardrobe, and small bathroom. Hotel price is high but I booked through internet which had very good promotional prices. My room was faced backwards and the view was to the chimennes. But Oslo deserves spending all day in the street not in the hotel, so the view does not matter.
The hotel building is absolutly wonderfull, from the 19th century but very well preserved. Very elegant and charming.
Only has 1 elevator so sometimes we have to wait a bit.
Has a coffe machine at the reception with free coffe to guests.
Free internet wireless in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xanocas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

You can drink coffee or tea all time you stay in the hotel. The breakfast was great, various foods, there're great so I saw a few customers added foods in their bags. :D

Firstly, no choice for TV program, it's hardly found English program on TV. If you want to watch some international entertainment like movies you need to pay 110 NOK, even the movies in year 2008 such as Seven Pounds. I think if it's not new movies, the hotel should service for any customers who choose to stay this hotel. Secondly, some words from women reception when I told her stay more one night because my flight was cancelled. She upset that I told her on the checkout time even the room was available, she might forgot that customer's always the king.

Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank wnsiripant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
251 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

Really a no frills place. Tiny room overlooking an internal courtyard. Slept OK in it, but it's hardly a charming place. Very average breakfast. All this for a price far from cheap, but hey, this is Norway! In a few words, been there, slept OK, don't necessarily look forward to going back there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfredoLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#43 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Scandic Victoria
#31 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotell Bondeheimen
#41 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Grand Hotel
#10 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#42 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Karl Johan Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Karl Johan Hotell

Property: Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Address: Karl Johans gate 33, Oslo 0162, Norway (Formerly Norlandia)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Karl Johan Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Oslo's main street and in the heart of the city centre lies this historic hotel from 1899. Next to the Parliament and within immediate walking distance to a variety of museums, attractions, shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel has 114 rooms, as well as 5 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Karl Johan Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell Hotel Oslo
Norlandia Karl Johan Hotell Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing