We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Car is (almost) a must.”
Review of Soria Moria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Soria Moria Hotel
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2007

I stayed at the Soria Moria hotel for 3 nights when vacationing in Oslo. It's nice, clean and quiet. It has a nice swimming pool and a sauna. If you don't have a car however you will be forced to eat at the pricey hotel restaurant (I believe the dinner buffet is 225 NOK). The closest other restaurant is also somewhat pricey (but nice) about 15 min walking distance. The closest train station is about 15-20 min walk down a steep hill or you'll have to take a cab to take you to town. Having a car made the stay so much easier: you can get close to Oslo Center (the Frogen Park) in 10 minutes, there's a camping site with a little store and a pizzeria 10 min driving distance. Finding the hotel is easier than I thought: you just follow the signs to Hollmenkollen (the ski jump) and then drive past it following the white signs to Soria Moria. There's also a bike rental 15 min walk past the hotel (about 200 NOK per day). The Oslo view from the little terrace 5 min downhill from the hotel is spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JackieSnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2007

There have been a lot of great reviews about this hotel and, being a regular business traveller to Oslo who generally gets little choice about what hotel to stay at, I was delighted when the email came in from my travel desk telling me that I was booked into the Soria Moria.

The hotel is located far from the city centre close to the Holmenkollen ski jump which is quite impressive, and worth a visit, even in the warmer months. After arriving at the Central Station on the airport express train, I jumped into a cab and it was a good 20 –25 minute ride to the hotel and cost 383 NOK (33 GBP, 48 EUR, 66 USD). I’d make sure you have something with the hotel address on it to give to the taxi driver, the one who took me back to the hotel from my office one evening didn’t seem too sure where he was going and eventually had to stop someone to ask for directions!

The building itself is not much too look at and has more than a passing resemblance to an office block. The reception area was bright
and airy and there is a swimming pool available. For some reason, the
hotel is split into two sections and it was quite awkward at first to find your way about; there being 2 sets of lifts and little corridors here and there.

My room was fine, bigger than other Norwegian hotels; clean enough with a desk, TV, mini-bar and a combined bath/shower. I paid 1395 NOK (118 GBP, 175 EUR, 240 USD) per night which wasn’t too bad. Wireless internet access is available in the rooms but is an extra charge of 75 NOK for 12 hours.

There’s a restaurant in the hotel – it’s expensive (and quiet) and the a la carte portions were small. The alternative is to take an expensive taxi back to town, have some food and then take another expensive taxi back to the hotel. There is, of course, the option of taking the more cost effective train. I found the service in the restaurant to be poor with the waiter forgetting my drinks despite there only being a handful of tables occupied. I ate in the restaurant on both nights of my stay and had the burger and chips the first evening and picked from the a la carte on the second – I wish I gone for the burger and chips instead!

Perhaps my expectations were too high and this may be a great hotel for the tourist who’s after a winter wonderland experience or enjoys trekking in the forest but for the lone business traveller it’s just too far from the city and doesn’t offer anything more than you can already find in town.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank LangtounLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2007

We agree with most of what others have said. Just like to let you know if you miss the last train from centre ( leaves at 23.43) and need to take taxi up it cost us 450nk!! for 15 min journey. But if your flight gets in before 21.30 to Torp then you may be okay, and should manage to get little train, second last stop on line 1. we had oslo card, but did see you could get a train only pass from station which would be better option if you don't want to do museams. We went toboggoning......brill, scary and can hurt back on bumps! cheaper to hire sledge from hire place near volksenkollen. Take waterproof clothes and warm gloves etc for this activity!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank a-wartime-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2007

We stayed here for one night and we loved this hotel.

After a long and very rocky ferry trip from Copenhagen we couldn't wait to check into our hotel. The ride up to the hotel was beautiful with great views over Oslo. The walk was longer than we expected and its up hill with no pathways so if you are feeling flush a taxi may be the west way to get the hotel - especially if you have lots of luggage.

When we arrived we realised that I had made a mistake in the booking and had booked our weekend for Feb not March. The staff were amazing and let me call the UK to see if Airmiles could help us out. Sadly they couldn't so we had to pay again to stay but the hotel were very understanding and gave us a great rate.

We then checked in and were suprised by a phone call to our room shortly after offering us free tickets to the Holmenkollen Ski Festival for that afternoon.
We had such a great time watching the Ski Jumping and if you are around Oslo at that time of year we would reccomend a visit. Totally breathtaking seeing the skiers doing some amazing jumps.

Then it was back to our lovely hotel for a well deserved soak in the bath. The rooms were great - We had a lovely bathroom with a bath and shower (and even a pull out washing line to hang your wet snowy clothes on).

The rooms are better than average - Nothing too grand but you had everything you could want. Hot drink machine's were situated all around the hotel by the rooms, although they didn't seem to be working during our stay.

Other handy things about the hotel were 2 computers with free internet accees and an inroning room.

We ate our evening meal in the hotel and it was lovely. There was a fab vegetarian option for me and loads of wines to choose from. We had great views over snowy Oslo from the restuarant and it made our meal feel very cosy and romantic.

Th breakfast was great in the morning with hot and cold food on offer.

We can't reccomend this hotel enough. It was amazing.

I wasn't so keen on Oslo and we hadn't realised that we couldn't do a day trip to see the Fjords due to the weather in March - we would of had to book an overnight trip which was going to cost about £150 each, we were very dissapointed.

The location isn't great for the city centre - however you will see Oslo in a totally different way if you make the effort to stay at this fab hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank alison_insouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2007

Visited Soria Moria for 3 nights on Friday 16th March 2007.

Arrived at Torp airport and took the Express bus to Olso bus terminal (250NOK return ticket per person - takes around 1 hr 45 mins). First time in Olso, and carrying luggage, so took Taxi from rank outside the bus terminal to Soria Moria (cost 350NOK which is quite expensive for a 15 minute trip across town and up the hill).

First views of Soria Moria were breathtaking, nestled in snow covered forests with views over the city of Oslo and Oslofjord beyond. Reception is tranquil and modern, with candles and lanterns burning everywhere - very welcoming.

We were in Room 262, across the Skywalk at the very end of the corridor and had MAGNIFICENT views across the snow-covered forests to the hills, valleys and fjords beyond. Try to make sure you get an even-numbered room to be facing in the right direction for the views. Each corridor has a comfortable sitting area with huge picture windows, a free hot-drinks machine, and an ice-machine - very handy for refreshments in your room.

Our room itself was very modern and comfortable, although we fell foul of the the "twin-bed" problem the hotel suffers from. This is despite an email to the hotel the week before, requesting a double room. Regardless, the bedside tables are not fixed and can be moved to allow the twin beds to be pushed together. Room had mini-bar, television, large bathroom with bath and shower. In general, very nice.

Breakfast was included in our price (around £200 Sterling for 3 nights) and was excellent. Held in the main restaurant, it featured, cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, numerous breads, cold meats, cheeses, scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, even sauteed potatoes. Also, various flavoured teas, coffees, and fruit-juices. Self-service buffet style, you could help yourself to as much as you wanted. Delicious.

A-la-carte menu was a bit expensive at around 350NOK per person, but a lighter menu option is available with Burger and Chips at 100NOK. On arrival night, we had a couple of burgers, a beer and a coffee for around 280NOK which wasn't too bad given Oslo's notoriety as the world's most expensive city. The restaurant iself is surrounded by huge windows affording great views down the tree-covered slopes to the city beneath.

Note that the hotel itself is primarily a conference centre, and has many conference rooms. As a consequence, you can expect to see groups of suited people in the lounge areas or restaurant, although the hotel is huge so there's plenty of room for everyone to mingle and retain the relaxed atmosphere. Benefits however, included free internet access from terminals near Reception.

The main lounge area has a massive log fire, and a piano (with pianist in the evenings) and is very cosy and comfortable. Again, surrounded by glass with views out into the snow.

The hotel also has a fairly large swimming pool downstairs, which we had to ourselves the couple of times we used it. Changing rooms have sauna's (although, not mixed) in each. Lockers need a 10NOK coin to lock, although we didn't bother given it was so quiet. Pool temperature was on the cool side at first but we quickly got used to it, so don't let it put you off.

Nearest train station is Voksenkollen (turn left from the front entrance to the hotel car-park), and is a downhill walk of about 15 minutes on a lit road with no pavements. In the snow, it can be quite treacherous underfoot and is a bit of a trek with luggage (especially on the way TO the hotel) - make sure your luggage has wheels or is rucksack style. Not much traffic on the road though.

The tram (T-Bane) from Voksenkollen is the second-from-last stop on Line 1, and goes to the end of the line westbound to Frognerseteren (snowy cross-country ski stop with restaurant). Eastbound takes you to downtown Oslo city-centre in around 20 minutes, with a stop at Holmenkollen along the way. Cost of the Tram is 22NOK per journey if ticket purchased at the station, or 30NOK if purchased on the Tram. However, note that we travelled on the Tram several times, and were not once asked for our tickets.

If you turn right from the hotel, you head downhill towards Holmenkollen and its famous ski-jump. A meandering road twists down the mountain through various residential areas, and you arrive at Holmenkollen (4 tram stops) in about 20 minutes. Around 5 minutes down the road from the hotel is a spectacular viewing area with a statue on a rock - if you climb up beside the statue the view over the forests, city and fjords is breathtaking (remember your camera). The weekend we were there, Holmenkollen was hosting the Ski World Cup, so the area was bustling with flag-waving spectators and created a great atmosphere. Also, the Austrian and Japanese teams were staying at Soria Moria.

Overall, we'd highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a relaxing break in the mountains, if you want a romantic hideaway, or if you're doing any kind of skiing / snowsports.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
19  Thank MorkenTheMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2007

We got a terrific rate on Expedia. Soria Moria had parking, a wonderful breakfast, and serene setting. A conference hotel with well-appointed public areas and very pretty views. The guest rooms are very small but adequate. A longish walk on a well-lit road (without sidewalks) to a train that takes you on a mostly scenic ride to the center of Oslo in about 25 minutes.The hotel offers reflector strips for walking in the dark to the train or to nearby spots such as over-rated and over-priced Frognerseteren restaurant. Soria Moria is a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank Pen2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2007

After all the glowing reports I suppose I did have high hopes for this hotel. I knew the area having visited nearby last year and thought it would be a good idea to stay high up above Oslo for 2 nights out of our 4 night stay to Oslo. We wanted to go toboggoning and thought this would be ideal.

Firstly, the hotel is not at all convenient to get to. When you get off at Voksenkollen station, it is about a 15 minute walk through heavy snow with suitcases - not ideal and the hotel doesn't offer a shuttle and we couldn't see any taxis. Not only was this an inconvenience for our arrival but also for every time we wanted to get to and from the hotel especially after a full day's activities.

The hotel itself is smart enough, not a 4* but a good 3*. Extremely clean and the rooms were comfortable, although very small if you're in the older building. We had 3 rooms between us and was dissapointed with the views, there simply weren't any from any of our rooms. 2 of the rooms overlooked a solid wall about 10 foot away, so I suggest you make sure you don't get rooms 216/218.

The breakfast was hardly worth bothering with to be honest - the hot food was cold and there were no pastries etc that you normally get, but to be fair, this hotel is very inexpensive - about half the rate of the Radisson SAS Scandinavia where we had spent the previous night.

Good points for us was the cleanliness, warm swimming pool, cheap rates.

Bad points were the lack of good views, poor breakfast, location.

Bar prices were pretty good for Oslo, we got burger and fries for 105NOK one evening and the coffee for 20NOK, beer was about 50NOK and a glass of wine about 65NOK.

A taxi from the hotel to downtown Oslo (Radisson SAS Scandinavia - where we were spending our last night) was 290 NOK which was pretty good I thought, considering the distance.

Overall - not worth the effort of leaving downtown Oslo to stay here - especially when the trains run so frequent and can get you up/down to the toboggoning/skiing in 25 minutes.

Stayed: February 2007
19  Thank Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Voksenasen AS
#58 of 103 in Oslo
184 reviews
Lysebu
#29 of 103 in Oslo
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Quality Hotel 33
#47 of 103 in Oslo
533 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 103 in Oslo
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soria Moria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soria Moria Hotel

Address: Voksenkollveien 60, Oslo 0790, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £90 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soria Moria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Above Oslo you will find Soria Moria Hotel looking over the city, fjord and the forest. You can relax, rest near the forest and still be comfortably close central Oslo. We can offer 156 overnight rooms, divided into single, double and twin rooms - as well as two attractive suites. All rooms were renovated in summer 2013 and holds today a modern atmosphere and comfortable Jensen beds. The hotel also offers a lobbybar, restaurant, swimming pool, sauna, conference facilities and banquet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Soria Moria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soria Moria Oslo
Hotel Soria Moria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing