We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view, breakfast variety, no info about hiking or walking tracks”
Review of Voksenasen AS

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Voksenasen AS
Ranked #55 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 October 2012

From the restaurant, bar and terrace you can enjoy a spectacular view overlooking oslo and the fjord (unless it is misty as it is today). The breakfast provides a vast variety of nicely decorated food. The surroundings are quiet and green. A lot of ways / tracks for cycling, walking and hiking are around and reasonably signposted. Unfortunately, the hotel does not provide any information about any of these tracks, which made me (no map on hand, no experienced hiker) feel a bit unsure of where to go. From my point of view it is rather a negative aspect concerning the hotel, because why do you stay here if not for walking in the nature?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilde2009, Public Relations Manager at Voksenasen AS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Gina

Thank you for your review. We value your opinion.

I`m sorry to hear that you didn`t find any information about the hiking trails around the estate. You did not write if you had spoken to anyone at our reception about this. We do have maps with hiking trails in the reception which are updated every season. Your review has shown us that we have some lacks and we are going to put out information about the trails together with our other hotel information.

I wish you a pleasant day and welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel has very good service. The breakfast was great. The rooms were small and dated, but they were clean and as described. The views of Oslo are spectacular from the rooms and conference center.

The train ride is not too long from Oslo, with the city pass it is free.

The hike up to the hotel with luggage is a bit of a task but stopping for pictures makes it bearable(we did it with a 3 year old child)...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiscingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilde2009, Public Relations Manager at Voksenasen AS, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

First of all thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review.

I`m glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and we welcome you back anytime.

We are in the process of renovating our rooms. Unfortunately you got one of the rooms that wasn’t renovated yet, we are planning on renovating the remaining 16 rooms next summer, so next time you stay with us the rooms are going to be up to date.

The walk from the train station can be a bit tricky, but I like the way you made it much more bearable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

it is a peaceful enough place and quite. In April, the pool still has ice in it. if you want peace and quiet, this is it. however, if you want to shopping or other restaurants, you are about 1/2 hr away. On a tram as indicated by the direction, it is down the hill 5 min walk, then the tram; nice and safe but Oslo S is about 20 min away. From there you need to change to get to other parts of Oslo. For about $200, during off season, it is not worth it. maybe during summer or winter, maybe. Lunch was ok, smoked salmon, and some cold cuts with few Scandinavian salads. good bread.

Room Tip: it is on top of a ridge. good for relaxing and snow recreation and some hiking trails. if that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snmklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

A nice hotell with a friendly staff.
Clean and good rooms with soft bed.
Astonishing view over the city, and a bit far from downtown.
free wireless internet.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 November 2011

Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Located in "the woods". This is the place if you do not want to stay in the center of the city. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda031CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

A nice place to stay if you have a car: it's a 20 minute drive from downtown Oslo, but the road comes with beautiful views. The hotel overlooks Oslo and is situated in a huge green area: nice surroundings. Parking is free and inside the premises.
The room was basic but clean and comfortable. Internet wi-fi was available everywhere. Breakfast was excellent. Dinner was expensive so we decided to have ours in downtown Oslo.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rafernandes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The hotel is away from the city. The location would be nice for winter sports, but not convenient for exploring Oslo. It is also not convenient for the airport. You can take the buses and trains if you have a later flight. Our flight was leaving at 8:30 am on a Saturday morning, so we had to leave for the airport a little after 5 am. The busses do not start running until 7 am. It cost $142 us dollars to take a taxi to the airport. If we had stayed in Oslo we could have caught the airport trains which started at 5 am.
We had booked a standard double room. We got two twin beds. From what we could see all of the rooms had two twin beds. We were allowed to put the beds together to make a double, but we had to do this ourselves. We were two floors down. There is no lift so you have to carry your luggage down two flights of steps. The carpet had obvious water damage down the whole hallway. The room did have a door to the outside, but there was no sitting area, just a concrete walkway.
The breakfast buffet was good. Dinner was good but very expensive. The menu had very few items on it and there was not much variation from night to night. This hotel caters to conferences, and one night one couple could not get in to eat because they were full. There are no other places in the area to eat.
This hotel is away from the city. However, I would not stay here again. It costs money to get back down to the city, and if your flight leaves early you may spend more in transportation than it would cost to stay in a hotel closer to Oslo. There is no alternatives to their restaurant. You have to walk down a large hill to get the bus then back up it again when you come back. If it is raining you will be soaked. And you have to carry your luggage up and down the hill when arriving and leaving.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Soria Moria Hotel
#28 of 102 in Oslo
210 reviews
Lysebu
#32 of 102 in Oslo
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel 33
#46 of 102 in Oslo
515 reviews
Gamle Oslo
Scandic Helsfyr
Scandic Helsfyr
#53 of 102 in Oslo
513 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voksenasen AS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voksenasen AS

Address: Ullveien 4, Oslo 0791, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oslo
#24 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £106 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Voksenasen AS 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voksenåsen Hotel - ’Pearl of Nordmarka'Voksenåsen is the hotel located on Oslo’s rooftop, with the world famous Holmenkollen Ski Jump as one of its closest neighbors. Miles from the noisy city, but yet so very near. As long as you carry on driving uphill you are heading in the right direction – until you reach a unique hotel offering Oslo’s most spectacular views, a relaxed and international atmosphere. A distinct, contemporary interior helps to inspire the guests. Something out of the ordinary, this will always entice you to come back.Voksenåsen’ s location, 20 minutes from Oslo city center and 501 meters above sea level, combines the close proximity to the woods of Oslomarka, the forested and hilly areas surrounding Oslo. Another close neighbor is the Oslo Vinterpark ski center, all this makes Voksenåsen the ultimate hotel for anyone wanting more than just another city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Voksenasen AS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voksenasen Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing