We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book by Phone Directly!”
Review of Voksenasen AS

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Voksenasen AS
Ranked #57 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Our family booked a total of 3 rooms for a weekend in April. 2/3 were dissatisfied. The main issue was difficulty booking. Their website's online booking feature does not work, so you must call during business hours, which if you are outside the local time zone isn't convenient. 2/3 rooms had problems booking and required a follow-up phone calls as there was a mistake or problem accepting payment .It seemed their system is perfectly suited for local guests, using Norwegian bank cards, but are apparently not conducive with international travelers with foreign cards. One room was booked via a consolidator to avoid dealing with their arcane booking system, one guests was told the room was canceled upon arrival and that it was her fault. We later learned it was an internal error, yet no apology was offered. Rather, she had to pay the difference in the room rate and told it wasn't their problem that the cost had gone up. The reception seemed quite happy to turn away business, rather than be understanding and helpful. In addition, once they finally got into their room, it had not been properly cleaned. There was rubbish in the bin and a few other issues. The others were satisfied with their room quality, but not happy with the hotel's ability to control a loud student party on the premises which continued late into the night on the hotel grounds immediately outside the guest rooms . This hotel is potential very nice, and in a beautiful and interesting location. However, the staff's lack in attention to their guests, to cleaning detail, or maintaining general professional standards is enough cause to never do business with this hotel again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small, but in terms of noise, they were quieter. Most rooms seems to offer a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandieree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilde2009, Public Relations Manager at Voksenasen AS, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

God day Mandieree

I`m sorry to hear that you visit with us didn`t meet your expectations.

We are much better than this.

Regarding your trouble with booking a room on our website, we have an external vendor that offers this service on our website. We are trying to find our why the solution didn`t work for you.

I hope you will give us another chance on a later occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

The conference part was superb, but for a 4 star hotel the bathroom was not up to it. I didn´t think they could make bathrooms that small, toilet was angeled in towards the sink, just to make it fit... Not for anyone with a bit more than average legs etc. Brakfastmenu only average; would like more to choose from at a 4 star venue, but good/fresh quality on what was served. View is supposed to be exeptional, but the Oslo fog swept in and left us in the clouds.. :-)

All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaManga3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilde2009, Public Relations Manager at Voksenasen AS, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Hello LaManga3

Thank you for your input, we appreciate it.

I`m sorry you didn`t get a chance to see our wonderful view, but I hope you will have better luck next time.

We are at the moment working on a new breakfast concept and hope to implement it before summer. We are confident that our future guests will have a much better breakfast experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed two days at Voksenåsen hotel on a businesstrip. The location is a gem, situated at the very top of Oslo West hills. Spectacular views, amazing food and world class meetingrooms. Will definetly bring my associates here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldclassinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilde2009, Public Relations Manager at Voksenasen AS, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for your review. I`m glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.
You and your associates are more the welcome to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This hotel was absolutely terrible. No access to food after 19:30 , at least when there is business/conference here that have ordered supper. And this happens a lot due to that this is also a conference/business hotel. Btw the hotel is 2 miles from the city center! So be prepared to be incredibly hungry, thereby angry ;)

My impression is that the staff is very rude, and not at all service orientated. The pictures of the room at expedias webpage is also misleading (used expedias webpage to book the room). The room I got looked more like a hostel room, but the price was not in the hostel price range ( paid 1198 NOK for a single room)

I did not see the so called amazing view due to extremely FOG!!!! And the fog is quite normal here.

I would not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilde2009, Guest Relations Manager at Voksenasen AS, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Maria

I`m sorry to hear that your stay didn`t meet your expectations.
I do not wish to go in to details but I do want to insure you that this was very unfortunate and that we are much better than this.

On behalf of the hotel I offer my deepest apologias.

I hope you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

From the restaurant, bar and terrace you can enjoy a spectacular view overlooking oslo and the fjord (unless it is misty as it is today). The breakfast provides a vast variety of nicely decorated food. The surroundings are quiet and green. A lot of ways / tracks for cycling, walking and hiking are around and reasonably signposted. Unfortunately, the hotel does not provide any information about any of these tracks, which made me (no map on hand, no experienced hiker) feel a bit unsure of where to go. From my point of view it is rather a negative aspect concerning the hotel, because why do you stay here if not for walking in the nature?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilde2009, Public Relations Manager at Voksenasen AS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Gina

Thank you for your review. We value your opinion.

I`m sorry to hear that you didn`t find any information about the hiking trails around the estate. You did not write if you had spoken to anyone at our reception about this. We do have maps with hiking trails in the reception which are updated every season. Your review has shown us that we have some lacks and we are going to put out information about the trails together with our other hotel information.

I wish you a pleasant day and welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel has very good service. The breakfast was great. The rooms were small and dated, but they were clean and as described. The views of Oslo are spectacular from the rooms and conference center.

The train ride is not too long from Oslo, with the city pass it is free.

The hike up to the hotel with luggage is a bit of a task but stopping for pictures makes it bearable(we did it with a 3 year old child)...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiscingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilde2009, Public Relations Manager at Voksenasen AS, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

First of all thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review.

I`m glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and we welcome you back anytime.

We are in the process of renovating our rooms. Unfortunately you got one of the rooms that wasn’t renovated yet, we are planning on renovating the remaining 16 rooms next summer, so next time you stay with us the rooms are going to be up to date.

The walk from the train station can be a bit tricky, but I like the way you made it much more bearable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

it is a peaceful enough place and quite. In April, the pool still has ice in it. if you want peace and quiet, this is it. however, if you want to shopping or other restaurants, you are about 1/2 hr away. On a tram as indicated by the direction, it is down the hill 5 min walk, then the tram; nice and safe but Oslo S is about 20 min away. From there you need to change to get to other parts of Oslo. For about $200, during off season, it is not worth it. maybe during summer or winter, maybe. Lunch was ok, smoked salmon, and some cold cuts with few Scandinavian salads. good bread.

Room Tip: it is on top of a ridge. good for relaxing and snow recreation and some hiking trails. if that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snmklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Soria Moria Hotel
#29 of 102 in Oslo
212 reviews
Lysebu
#31 of 102 in Oslo
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel 33
#48 of 102 in Oslo
520 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
870 reviews
Gamle Oslo
Scandic Helsfyr
Scandic Helsfyr
#54 of 102 in Oslo
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voksenasen AS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voksenasen AS

Address: Ullveien 4, Oslo 0791, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oslo
#26 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £97 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Voksenasen AS 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voksenåsen Hotel - ’Pearl of Nordmarka'Voksenåsen is the hotel located on Oslo’s rooftop, with the world famous Holmenkollen Ski Jump as one of its closest neighbors. Miles from the noisy city, but yet so very near. As long as you carry on driving uphill you are heading in the right direction – until you reach a unique hotel offering Oslo’s most spectacular views, a relaxed and international atmosphere. A distinct, contemporary interior helps to inspire the guests. Something out of the ordinary, this will always entice you to come back.Voksenåsen’ s location, 20 minutes from Oslo city center and 501 meters above sea level, combines the close proximity to the woods of Oslomarka, the forested and hilly areas surrounding Oslo. Another close neighbor is the Oslo Vinterpark ski center, all this makes Voksenåsen the ultimate hotel for anyone wanting more than just another city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Voksenasen AS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voksenasen Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing