We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not an attraction”
Review of Colosseum

Colosseum
Ranked #6 of 51 Fun & Games in Oslo
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not an attraction”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I live close by, I go here to see movies, but its not an attraction unless you are very interested in a specific form of architecture. I would not recommend spending time to go see it as a form of attraction unless theres a movie you want to catch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vindens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    37
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Comfy seats, easy to get to, original language films”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

As frequent moviegoers back home in England, we were looking for something to do on a cold, wet and rainy night in Oslo (little is open on a Sunday night). We decided to see a film at the Colosseum cinema which had a 15 age certificate, but back in England was an 18 certificate, so my teenage daughter was excited to go and see a film she couldn't see back home! The cinema was easy to find and was very close to the Majorstuen T-banen (metro/ underground) station. The cost of the cinema tickets were probably comparable to cinema tickets prices in London at £12 per ticket, and about a third more expensive than tickets to our local cinema back home in Suffolk. The cinema seats were leather, very comfortable and we had allocated seating. The film was an American film with Norwegian subtitles (we now know the most common Norwegian swear word!). Snacks at the cinema were actually cheaper than in English cinemas (the only things cheaper in Oslo than back home!), but you could get snacks even cheaper at a couple of newsagent-style shops opposite the cinema which even sold popcorn and slush puppies. Evidently the cinema doesn't mind at all if you bring in snacks purchased outside the cinema. The cinema was packed, but it was a popular film. Always check that you are seeing the original language film, although the clue leis in the advertised film title. If it's an American film with a Norwegian title, then the film has been dubbed. If it's an English title, then it's English with Norwegian subtitles. If in doubt, just ask cinema staff. Norwegians are a friendly bunch who speak flawless English and always seem happy to help. Great cinema and a fun experience, especially for my 16 year old daughter who was able to see a film that she couldn't back home.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bronzevernis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent cinema”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is my favorite cinema in all of Oslo, and I've been to everyone! If the movie shows in theater number one it means that basically witch ever seat you get is a good one since it's a huge dome you sit inside. 3D movies is a little more expensive here. The kiosks have an ok variation of goodies to purchase and staff are usually both friendly and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Majestic”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Seeing a movie in the big theater in this cinema complex is very special. The big oval is like nothing I have seen before.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Finnerikkescreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“Raj Kumar”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Excellent, I had Visited the Cinema in 1979.

I liked the View From Inside and Outaide
as well.

I like the sitting arrangements, Projector & 70mm
viewing as well.

i want to go there again, see when the time comes!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rk5407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colosseum also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Colosseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing