We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice experience in Oslo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anker Hotel
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A nice experience in Oslo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed at Anker hotel for 3 days and besides from not quite central location I can't name any other disadvantages.Very helpful staff,clean rooms,free internet,great view from the window-what else does a person need for a good stay?In addition,it's one of the cheapest hotels in Oslo! I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irena_rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    577
    388
    75
    39
See reviews for
218
402
177
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

To start with I was a bit worried because when I printed the hotel confirmation it was actually saying Anker Hostel but when we arrived we realised that they do both (two separate entrances). It was very pleasant and we felt welcome. Room was very nice with small bathroom. Buffet type breakfast was ok. Not big selection but definetelly - compared to Oslo prices - worth of money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenkavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

I stayed one night in this hotel. My room was on the 12th floor (of 13) and had two single beds, which were comfortable and a nice view over the city. The ensuite had a good shower but I always prefer a "proper" shower tray but this was a small point when staying for one night. The hotel is within walking distance of the centre although the immediate area was a little run down. Staff efficient and the breakfast was usual good buffet standard. Very well priced considering the stunningly high prices for everything else in Oslo.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tortoise2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston lancs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

We paid £90 per night for a twin room and it was good value. Clean, comfortable, decent bedding, everything worked. Efficient shower. Hiardyer and shower gel etc in bathroom. Good selection of food at breakfast. Walking distance from city centre and close to Munch Museum. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda19536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Nice hotel near the city center, but security is rather poor. One day about a dozen rooms were burglarized (including mine) and my notebook computer was gone :-( . Do NOT leave valuables in the room!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Me and my friend stayed in this hotel recently and we were little bit disappointed.
There was a television in the room but you could only watch a TV if you'd pay 170 krone which is about 22€ (not that we came there to watch TV but the weather was pretty bad on the first day and we came back to the hotel at 8pm to have a drink and watch a TV before falling a sleep) but that wasn't possible.
When asking to borrow two wine glasses we were told that they can't do that so we were given two paper cups..
They had little brochure in the room which stated that you can get a toothpaste at reception (we forgot to get it at the airport) so when we went down to ask for it we were told by one of the receptionist who didn't seem to understand much English that there's no toothpaste..
My friend had also forgotten to take her phone charger so when she took her phone with a USB cable to get it charged at reception we were told that she can't help us that we can charge it at the public computers (would you sit at public computer charging a phone for two hours?).. we found this really weird as we both work at hotels and we would never say anything like that to a guest.

I would also mention the cleaner who came to the room at 8am waking us up (it wasn't our check out day)!!

I have to mention one receptionist who's name we can't remember but when we asked for help or had questions in regards to food, things to do or see she was very helpful and very nice and professional.

The hotel itself was alright, very close to the tram and bus station and the breakfast was pretty good :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monica295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Anker was ok. Everything was a five minute walk away. Transport was no issue. Not where I would stay with my family, not where I would have a business meeting to impress but if you are looking for a good Internet access, helpful staff, and a good nights sleep. This is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank owambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#37 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
P-Hotels Oslo
#83 of 100 in Oslo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hotel

Property: Anker Hotel
Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hotel is a popular and affordable 3 star hotel in Oslo city centre. Walking distance to the central station and to all major attractions. Parking facilities. Buses and trams nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo
Oslo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing