We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best cost benefit in Oslo.”
Review of Anker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anker Hotel
Ranked #46 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The room of the hotel is comfortable, quiet and noiseless, the breakfast is exceptional and delicious, the staff are friendly; I had a small problem with my room that was solved very fast and according my request, the internet works very well and there is a tram station close the hotel; also the airport train station is 20 min walking from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the room of the new hotel building, the rooms are better than the old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yuri_Capi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed one night only, but found Anker Hotel to be good & clean with a good surrounding. A bit of walk from the Olso Central Station, but enjoyed walking. You tend to see & experience a lot of immigrants in shabby out-fits looking keenly at at times begging from you. The breakfast room is just ok. Breakfast variety was average.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vagabond786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We only stayed for one night, but we were satisfied with our choice of hotel this time. We needed a room with three. We were very happy to find that the room was an actual three bed room and not a twin room with an extra bed. We have often found that the extra bed is not very comfortable. This was not the case here. All three beds were equally good.
The room in itself was ok. It was clean, of a good size and had a small wardrobe and a desk in addition to the beds. Both the mirror and the window was actually broken though.
We stayed at the 9th floor and had a great view of the neighbourhood of Grunerløkka.
The hotel is not in the centre of Oslo, but the tram stops right outside and takes you to the city centre in minutes.
If I need a Budget hotel in Oslo again I will probably choose this again.

Room Tip: Choose a room as high up as possible as there is some noice from the the street outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mengha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed in Anker Hotel for about 5 days in June 2012. I loved the fact that it was in the city and therefore could walk to any part of the city without having to take a tram or cab. I loved the fast wireless internet, the pleasant staff. though my favorite part of the hotel was the breakfast buffet though the ambiance and seating arrangement can be improved.

Room Tip: Over looking the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenMungai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed in the Anker Hotel a couple of weeks, really enjoyed it. Friendly, helpfull staff. Perfect location to discover Oslo 'nightlife'.

The breakfast room isn't very cosy and not the best place to keep your stuff unattended. While i was at the breakfast buffet ( +/- 1 minute) my laptop bag including passport was stolen. There wasn't a camera in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raoullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

this was a delight to stay at, it was clean, the breakfast was great, the staff were more than helpful (where English permitted). without the front desk staff, I would have been lost the whole time. This Hotel is handy to everything, trains, buses, trams, food shops.
thank you, Lynn

Room Tip: ask for map from train station to hotel, taxis expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Someone booked a two-night stay for me at this hotel located at 55 Storgata in Oslo Norway which in reality is more like a "Hostel". The rooms were Ok and clean but my God the cafeteria or rather the hall where the free breakfast is served is totally "DISGUSTING". The floors were dirty with muddy spots all over the place - a photo is available for upload- there were fruit flies hovering overhead and the whole atmosphere was simply gross, I was afraid to eat there but managed to swallow my oat flakes with the liquid yogurt served out a milk carton. I had arrived on Friday evening and discovered the hellish place on Saturday morning. Now on Sunday morning I went back hoping the Saturday experience was just a fluke, but no, the mud spots were still on the floor and to make matters worse, they had run out of the liquid yogurt at 10:15 AM even though breakfast was being served until 11:00 AM. And things got even worse because I had gone out to find something to eat and returned after their 11:00Am check-out time, I was charged for half a day; a total nightmare, I ended up walking around town, never found a restaurant that served oatmeal and stayed hungry until I picked up a sandwich at the airport.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel even if it is free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#21 of 102 in Oslo
1,640 reviews
Scandic Solli
#32 of 102 in Oslo
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
P-Hotels Oslo
#86 of 102 in Oslo
505 reviews
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#38 of 102 in Oslo
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hotel

Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £75 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hotel is a popular and affordable 3 star hotel in Oslo city centre. Walking distance to the central station and to all major attractions. Parking facilities. Buses and trams nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo
Oslo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing