We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean and modern hotel”
Review of Anker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anker Hotel
Ranked #45 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is in a very good location, a short walk from the central bus/train/metro station. It is clean and very modern, the rooms are clean and warm, the bathrooms have heated floors, however there was no bath in our room. Our room had a great view over the city.
The staff were very friendly and professional. I found the breakfast excellent; there was a huge variety of foods,in fact there was enough food to make some sandwiches for lunch which helps in expensive Oslo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arantimeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

Location's alright, staffs are helpful and polite, for what you have paid, I think this hotel is up to standard without doubt.

The rooms and their breakfast are alright... the only issue is their lifts are so small

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalvinChoi129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Having looked at some of the reviews of this hotel I feel I must say that I was pleasantly surprised.
Its location from Oslo centre is 10 minutes flat walk,& there are trams almost outside the hotel door.
The hotel is very clean, nice new bathrooms & was very warm. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice with a 4 hour period for eating breakfast. Staff, though not over friendly, were pleasant & helpful. I would recommend this hotel, for Oslo its good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bathplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Rooms range from the good ones to the horrible ones. The bathroom is the worst, even the "best" one we got didn't have a divided shower area, making the whole bathroom all wet, if not the bedroom! We got no air conditioning, but at least we could open the window a little bit to allow some cold air to get in. Breakfast is kind of good, with a reasonable variety of options. The price was not good at all, but it's probably hard to find something good at a good price in Norway. The hotel is located about some 15 minutes walking distance from the central station, equivalent to 2 bus stops.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wanthuyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a very comfortable stay in this lovely clean, fresh and bright Hotel! It was ultra modern and quite trendy with its bright furnishings! The breakfast buffet was excellent! Everything was there!
Staff were very nice and helpful too! All in all a nice stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teena_marina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for two nights stay was great rooms were tidy and clean. Bed was comfortable and warm didn't hear any noise from other guests or outside traffic. Staff very friendly and helpful to us. A 10 minute walk from the train station.
Great location would stay again. 5/5

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CwPitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very good hotel with an attentive staff! Comfy mattress and pillow! I had a little problem in my room that was solved in a few minutes, by the way, if possible, ask for a room in the new building. Rooms are a little bigger, the bathroom disposition is sensibly better, wifi is also better.

Breakfast is great! A lot of choices of bread, yoghurts, hams and sausages, vegetables and so. Cereals and juices are also very good! In an expensive city like Oslo, a great breakfast included is something to really be taken into account!

The location is also great! Tram and subway stations nearby, by the way the hotel is at a 10-min walking distance from the Oslo-C (central stration). Very convenient to visit the city centre and take the transportation needed to go to the "farthest" places.

That's my choice to stay in Oslo, no doubts about that! I do recommend!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrekkingGuy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#21 of 102 in Oslo
1,677 reviews
Scandic Solli
#35 of 102 in Oslo
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#36 of 102 in Oslo
977 reviews
Gamle Oslo
Norwegian Hotel
Norwegian Hotel
#63 of 102 in Oslo
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hotel

Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £61 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hotel is a popular and affordable 3 star hotel in Oslo city centre. Walking distance to the central station and to all major attractions. Parking facilities. Buses and trams nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo
Oslo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing