We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great bargain for the money”
Review of Anker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anker Hotel
Ranked #45 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Three of us stayed at the Anker Hotel in May and found it to be very convenient to transportation. Restaurants were all within walking distance and the staff was very helpfull and always friendly. Special mention should be made of Terese, who went beyont the call of duty with all her suggestions and tips. Room and bathroom was very clean and served our needs just fine. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oma504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hello.
My wife and I visited Oslo on 23/05/2014-27/05/2014. We stayed at the hotel Hanker. I think in terms of quality / price is acceptable, well positioned, easy access to transport, easy access to major points of access. I consider it a safe city. I think a very expensive city but using the guide Oslo Pass is easy and is not expensive. We were pleased with the visit to this city but we were sad for not having eaten codfish and as in Portugal. We know that fish comes from Norway, but …

greetings

José Carlos Silva

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilvaSetubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Not a bad hotel not a gret hotel.

Pros: Close to the action (&bus/train terminal), friendly helpful hotel staff, not a bad view from the 12th floor. There is a nice cafe right accross the road, and a taxi rank close by too! bathroom was spotless!

Cons: We couldn't get an iron!! we asked for an iron and was told there was a wait list but we would not get one that day (we asked for it around 5 oclock) we had to go out wrinkled!!!
Room was a little grubby - we had no aircon in our room and every morning when we woke up we felt chocked up (buffy eyes and throat) even thought we left the window open every night - we felt that perhpas the carpet was very dusty but it's hard to know.
Hotel is not located in the best area - two of the roads leading to the hotel were full of drug addicts (down by the river and the road parallel) - nothing happenend to us but we got taxis more often as a result - taxis in Oslo are expensive!
Breakfast was not great - Not healthy enough I thought. the only fresh fruit were oranges/bananas. No yogurt or healthy musli. The scambled eggs were swimming in butter - ick! The bread was nice though.

Room Tip: Get a room high up and bring a travel iron/hairdryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyraTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is located just a short walk from the central station. There are trams and buses stopping near the hotel all the time which makes it a good location. In addition, if you want to walk away from the downtown section of Oslo, there are several pubs and cafes nearby. Of course, everything you eat or drink in expensive in Oslo. The rooms are small and basic, but hospitable. The staff is very welcoming and helpful -- transportation, restaurants, hotel services, they help with everything. Breakfast is included and is typical European with lots of choices. I would probably use it again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The triple room was really comfortable enough for 3 people. The breakfast was rich, offering even 3 types of herring. The hotel is actually 15-20mins away (walking) from the Opera and the city center, although the area you must pass through to reach them is not very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PalomaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Went here with my girlfriend. Wasn't expecting much from the hotel really and wasn't left in a different mind after staying there.
The staff were friendly, able to speak english and efficient.
The room, apparently a superior double, was just grand. Clean but a bit dated. It was very warm despite having the window open all night. No fridge, safe or tea making facilities.
For the price paid there can't be complaints really as Oslo in general is very expensive. Hotel is in a great location to go and see things.

Room Tip: Sortgata is the road we walked on getting to the hotel. It didn't feel like the nicest of street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScuPhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My stay didn't get off to the best start.

Upon arrival we were told that the hotel had overbooked on double rooms and that the only room available was a smaller room with a smaller bed (140cm instead of 180cm). Not a double room we had paid for and requested.

Normally we're not fussy at all, but my boyfriend has recently had back problems and the womans attitude on the front desk was absolutely appalling and she didn't help matters at all.
She did admit that it was the hotel that was at fault -that they had overbooked, but she was not sincere or helpful at all and it felt like she just wanted rid of us, not welcoming at all - I was pretty shocked to be honest.
As we weren't left with many options (no upgrade available, unless WE paid extra!) and as we were staying with another couple who had checked in before us at this hotel and as it was such late notice to do anything else -we had no other options than to take the room with the smaller bed.

I have received a £20 discount from the agent I booked through, but that is just small change really -as we got a room suited for 1 person even though we paid for a double, i find this discount a disgrace - they have pretty much made a profit out of putting us in a smaller room which is at a cheaper rate anyway.

Otherwise, the hotel had some plus points,

it was in short walking distance of the train station and close to many shops and restaurants.
Room was clean.
Breakfast was good. and I liked that they had a later breakfast on a weekend - great idea.
They allowed us to leave our luggage at the hotel after checking out and picked it up later.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandaArvika66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#19 of 102 in Oslo
1,701 reviews
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#31 of 102 in Oslo
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamle Oslo
Norwegian Hotel
Norwegian Hotel
#62 of 102 in Oslo
28 reviews
Scandic Solli
#35 of 102 in Oslo
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hotel

Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £56 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hotel is a popular and affordable 3 star hotel in Oslo city centre. Walking distance to the central station and to all major attractions. Parking facilities. Buses and trams nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Anker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo
Oslo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing