We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable & convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Anker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anker Hotel
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Affordable & convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I've stayed her about 5x in the past 3 years. It's like a horizontal, better cared for Motel 6 with quite good complementary buffet breakfast in a city where a coffee might be 1/4th of your daily food budget. Rooms are a decent size with park views & you can't find comparable rates anywhere in town and its not far from the train station when you come from airport.There's a bar/cafe open lat afternoon to late evening behind the lobby. Shop the web bookings for the best rate. Front desk staff are of uneven quality but they're usually smiling! Good luck

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seedsedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    585
    394
    77
    40
See reviews for
224
410
177
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Three of us stayed at the Anker Hotel in May and found it to be very convenient to transportation. Restaurants were all within walking distance and the staff was very helpfull and always friendly. Special mention should be made of Terese, who went beyont the call of duty with all her suggestions and tips. Room and bathroom was very clean and served our needs just fine. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oma504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setubal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hello.
My wife and I visited Oslo on 23/05/2014-27/05/2014. We stayed at the hotel Hanker. I think in terms of quality / price is acceptable, well positioned, easy access to transport, easy access to major points of access. I consider it a safe city. I think a very expensive city but using the guide Oslo Pass is easy and is not expensive. We were pleased with the visit to this city but we were sad for not having eaten codfish and as in Portugal. We know that fish comes from Norway, but …

greetings

José Carlos Silva

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilvaSetubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Not a bad hotel not a gret hotel.

Pros: Close to the action (&bus/train terminal), friendly helpful hotel staff, not a bad view from the 12th floor. There is a nice cafe right accross the road, and a taxi rank close by too! bathroom was spotless!

Cons: We couldn't get an iron!! we asked for an iron and was told there was a wait list but we would not get one that day (we asked for it around 5 oclock) we had to go out wrinkled!!!
Room was a little grubby - we had no aircon in our room and every morning when we woke up we felt chocked up (buffy eyes and throat) even thought we left the window open every night - we felt that perhpas the carpet was very dusty but it's hard to know.
Hotel is not located in the best area - two of the roads leading to the hotel were full of drug addicts (down by the river and the road parallel) - nothing happenend to us but we got taxis more often as a result - taxis in Oslo are expensive!
Breakfast was not great - Not healthy enough I thought. the only fresh fruit were oranges/bananas. No yogurt or healthy musli. The scambled eggs were swimming in butter - ick! The bread was nice though.

Room Tip: Get a room high up and bring a travel iron/hairdryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyraTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is located just a short walk from the central station. There are trams and buses stopping near the hotel all the time which makes it a good location. In addition, if you want to walk away from the downtown section of Oslo, there are several pubs and cafes nearby. Of course, everything you eat or drink in expensive in Oslo. The rooms are small and basic, but hospitable. The staff is very welcoming and helpful -- transportation, restaurants, hotel services, they help with everything. Breakfast is included and is typical European with lots of choices. I would probably use it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The triple room was really comfortable enough for 3 people. The breakfast was rich, offering even 3 types of herring. The hotel is actually 15-20mins away (walking) from the Opera and the city center, although the area you must pass through to reach them is not very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalomaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Went here with my girlfriend. Wasn't expecting much from the hotel really and wasn't left in a different mind after staying there.
The staff were friendly, able to speak english and efficient.
The room, apparently a superior double, was just grand. Clean but a bit dated. It was very warm despite having the window open all night. No fridge, safe or tea making facilities.
For the price paid there can't be complaints really as Oslo in general is very expensive. Hotel is in a great location to go and see things.

Room Tip: Sortgata is the road we walked on getting to the hotel. It didn't feel like the nicest of street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScuPhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#36 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Astoria
Thon Hotel Astoria
#59 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
P-Hotels Oslo
#85 of 100 in Oslo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hotel

Property: Anker Hotel
Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hotel is a popular and affordable 3 star hotel in Oslo city centre. Walking distance to the central station and to all major attractions. Parking facilities. Buses and trams nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo
Oslo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing