We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy and very good location”
Review of Anker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anker Hotel
Ranked #47 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Oslo center is in walking distance. Or you can take the tram to the Oslo S (center Station) in 2 stops only.
The receptionists are very nice and helpful. Room is nice and clean but lacks of basic things like kettle, tooth brushes...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was a good location in Oslo - just away from the train station. The hotel was basic - we had a triple room which was very small - more like one big bed with no walking room! It was also very warm (we stayed in July) but it was comfortable - perfect for our needs. The breakfast was nice - something for most palettes and the staff were really helpful - bringing plenty of gluten free bread for one of our party! Delighted!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the outdoor bins.... we had birds attack the bins outside our room (windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michellekildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very basic hotel but cosy and close to the center and Grunerlokka, if you're a fan of Harry Hole that counts for a yes! Breakfast is rich but also risky for gluten so keep asking and asking.
The area is very nice just above the Akerselva river with lots of bars in the surroundings. Really Oslo is a walking distance town so you can be anywhere in 20 min. tops.
Enjoy

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bruno F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed there for only one night, but with good experience. First of all, it was reasonable price, judging by the everything-is-so-expensive-in-northern-Europe. We were located on a higher floor, great view, no street noise at night. Room was spacious and clean. Amenity was good too. Front desk staff was helpful. The next day, we had full buffet breakfast, which was excellent, a lot of varieties available. Location was very convenient, tram stop was only door step away, short tram ride to the CBD and short walking distance to the central station. Free WIFI. Recommend to budget travelers for sure.

Room Tip: higher floor has excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoenjoytraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is located just a short walk from the central station. There are trams and buses stopping near the hotel ,if you want to walk away from the downtown section of Oslo, there are several pubs and cafes nearby. The rooms are small and basic, but clean. The staff is very welcoming and helpful -- transportation, restaurants, hotel services, they help with everything. Breakfast is very good with lots of choices(even fish for breakfast! ) I would probably use it again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dr_taxdir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We got a triple room, it was very big (it has 4 beds and a little kitchen) and had a beautiful sight. I would recommand this hotel to anyone. It's clean and easy to reach the centre both by bus/tram and walking. Enjoyed stay very much!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Elisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is not a special hotel room. But it is a good hotel room. It is also a fairly cheap hotel room.

I am sitting in the hotel room now, writing this review and looking out at the city. That is actually pretty awesome.

Last night I slept really well in a double bed that is pretty comfortable.

The shower is small. That really isn't a big deal though.

There is no minibar. So bring bottled water or booze.

The bottom line is, if you are on a budget, this place is awesome. It is a really top notch budget hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 216erikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#20 of 102 in Oslo
1,662 reviews
Scandic Solli
#35 of 102 in Oslo
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel 33
#46 of 102 in Oslo
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hotel

Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £70 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hotel is a popular and affordable 3 star hotel in Oslo city centre. Walking distance to the central station and to all major attractions. Parking facilities. Buses and trams nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo
Oslo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing