We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Better than Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Little Better than Average”
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed for two nights in early December. Location is great which the hotel's principal attraction.My room was very small and basic - only dispensed soap supplied, no tissues or bath mat. Excellent Wi-Fi throughout.Flat Screen T.V but mostly Nordic channels. Breakfast good average but finishes at 09.30 which is a little early. In summary a good location for a short stay but nothing out of the ordinary

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DERRATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear DermotMB,
Thank you for your stay with us. The fact that it is possible to walk indoors from the hotel room to the flight home will hopefully be a long term success factor for many of my guests through a cold and snowy Oslo winter. We will consider new breakfast hours January 2013. Thank you. Wishing you and yours a Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    729
    259
    54
    26
See reviews for
243
656
137
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I arrived in Oslo central train station and had difficulties finding the hotel that I have booked. I asked a few people and nobody seems to know where it is. I went into Comfort Grand Central and asked for directions. Emelie Hamberg was the staff manning the front desk on that day. Although I was not a guest staying at the hotel, she was still extremely helpful and helped me find the hotel on the google map. But I was not very confident of getting to the correct location being first time in Oslo. So I decided to stay in Comfort Grand Central as I believed that it would be a great stay with staff like Emelie. And it was great. The room was converted into triple sharing very quickly. I love the breakfast spread and the wifi was very good. Emelie was also very helpful when we were leaving the hotel for Tromso. Thank you Emelie for making my stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Esther T,
As General Manager of Comfort Hotel Grand Central, I read your Trip Advisor feedback with reverence and respect. Our dear colleague Emilie live here up to all the Nordic Choice Hotels values we all strive for and dream to give our guests on a daily basis. It is touching to read that due to the good service you chose to book your night with us. Thank you. We`ll share your feedback on our monthly staff meeting and Emilie will be rewarded for having given you great service and a good stay with us.

Thank you for sharing this story Esther T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel in the heart of Oslo city.
Good rooms, and a big great breakfast :)

Short way to train, subway, bus and other transport.
Shopping is also nearby, "Oslo City" & "Byporten" is across the road.

WiFi, they also have public computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear allx84.
Thank you for your feedback. Many travelers will appreciate your accurate information.
Hope to see you again as our guest allx84.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed here 1 night on a business trip and we really liked this hotel. Located at the Central station the communications are at your doorstep which saves a lot of time. Check in was very quick, my room was on the second floor and had a view of the station from a huge window, maybe 3-4 metres tall. The bed was located on a loft, accessed by stairs and I had 2 TV's. The bathroom was modern and clean. Overall the hotel felt very modern and designed. In the lobby there was free tea and coffee and they had a kind of lounge area where you could have a coffee and read magazines. Breakfast is included and it was very good, bacon and eggs, bread and yoghurt and fresh fruit. The only minus is that the room didnt have a lot of storage space and no mini bar. I was very happy to stay at this hotel and can definately recommend it. Although it was so centrally located it was completely quiet during the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sannis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Sannis82
With three minutes to the airport express – and three minutes to Oslo's main shopping district we hope our guest will save both time any money during a stay with us. Glad you liked the room style. Your room is actually inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn.

Thanks for your recommendations. As a brand new hotel, we are still unknown to many travelers.
Welcome back to us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel is situated in the old Oslo train station, beside the central station.

It's quite new, and they are rooms all around the building in different variations.

Our room had a very high ceiling, a decent size, a big flat screen TV (with only one non Nordic channel), and a big, bright and clean bathroom. The only drawback was the bed which could have been more comfortable.

The breakfast also was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneAdvisedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear OneAdvisedTraveller,
It's nice to read your feedback an early Monday morning in a snowy Oslo.
Glad you liked the hotel concept and breakfast. We'll see that you get a bigger and better bed during your next stay with us. We have all types of beds, twin (90cm), Queen (150/160cm) and King size (180cm) beds - Welcome back to Comfort Hotel Grand Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei Darussalam
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed at the Comfort Hotel Grand Central in the beginning of November 2012. The hotel is located in the old Oslo railway station building and both the exterior and interior of the building are aesthetically very nice.
The hotel lobby/reception area is bit of a departure from the norm but fits the overall style and concept quite well. Hotel corridors can be a bit confusing with multiple levels on one floor and winding hallways but not a big problem.
The room was really nice and spacious; most of the rooms are individually decorated and mine was one of them. Large comfortable bed, big screen TV, desk, and a vintage leather club chair all fit comfortably with room to spare. The bathroom was not the biggest I've seen but spacious enough and as the hotel is fairly new (opened Spring 2012) everything was still shiny and new. Free wifi was included and really the only drawback of the room was that - as is the case with many/most hotel rooms I've stayed in - it was a bit dark with only spot-lighting available. While this is probably not a problem for a leisure/vacation trip it makes working in the room just a bit more difficult.
The breakfast was sufficient and tasty and there was plenty of space in the breakfast room on a weekday morning.
The location of the hotel is at the railway station and that normally means that the "ususal suspects" will be hanging out in the area. However, the Oslo Central Station area has cleaned up during the recent year or so and the location is not a problem and, bearing in mind the ususal precautions when travelling, quite safe.

All in all I enjoyed my brief visit. I would stay again and recommend to friends/colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear haerski,
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us. I think your information will be very helpful for people who plan to stay with us in the future.

Look forward welcoming you back to Comfort Hotel Grand Central in Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel as my wife fell in love with the decor, I was not so easily suduced. However upon arrival I knew we had made a great decision. The hotel is centrally located with excellent transportation links - all public transport was within 2mins walk yet we didn't hear anything at night. Yes there is no mini bar but the reception service cold drink n offer complementary tea / coffee. The room was a little small but okay for our three night stay - although we were a little spoilt in tromso. Breakfast was a vast buffet. The staff were really friendly offering to bo resturants for us and posting our postcards. Overall definately worth staying-great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear scott o,
It was a pleasure to have you both as our guests. We are so grateful and happy that you seemed quite pleased with our new hotel product (opened 31/4-12).

We are a hotel with a diversity and there are certainly some who find the style a bit much while others love it. Some rooms are inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn, while others have protected historical significance and many a story to tell. (Norway's first railway
track started right at this station.) Interior designer Lars Helling describes the look he has created as "industrial shabby chic".

Looking forward to seeing you both again at the Comfort Hotel Grand Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#22 of 101 in Oslo
1,529 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 101 in Oslo
800 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 101 in Oslo
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Grand Central

Property: Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Address: Jernbanetorget 1 | Oslo Central Station (Oslo S), Oslo 0154, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Hotel Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is your time worth? If you know the answer, you'll choose Comfort Hotel Grand Central. We are Oslo's most centrally located hotel. Just three minutes to the airport express – and three minutes to Oslo's main shopping district.We are challenging the traditional model for a business hotel. Ourlocation is outstanding, our cutting-edge facilities are housed in an historic railway building and our prices are excellent.Once in your room the only sound you will hear will be the faint hum of the airconditioning. We have 170 rooms. And 113 of these are unique. Many enjoy views of the opera house or Oslo's bustling main shopping district. Some are inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn, while others have protected historical significance and many a story to tell. (Norway's first railway track started right at this station.) Interior designer Lars Helling describes the look he has created as "industrial shabby chic". We'll treat you to a free breakfast in our restaurant where you can enjoy our homemade strawberry jam and fresh bread. The man in charge of our restaurant is celebrity chef Ole Johnny Eikefjord, of Eik Annen Etage fame. He dishes up what may be the best bolognese in Oslo – andgives you the right Barbera to go with it. And if you're only after a quick business lunch, you are welcome to order a half portion. But if you have more time, feel free to compose your own three-course menu.Enjoy the food while you imagine the bustling railway concourse in 1854: travelers hugging their loved ones, children smiling and laughing from the trainwindows, and steam trains snorting into life.Whether it's early in the morning or later in the day, many of our guests enjoy working out. Our training suite is compact, but very well equipped. And it's open 24/7,so you can go at it whenever you like.We tell our guests that they save an hour by staying so close to the airport express. That's an hour you can spend however you like. A workout? A beer with an old friend? Or perhaps you'll make an earlier plane so that you can kiss your children goodnight. It's up to you.If you are looking for elegant and efficient hotel, Comfort Hotel Grand Central is the easy choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing