We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the middle of Oslo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Just got back from two nights in the super suite called "The Zeppelin Suite".

The service level from the hotel staff is superb!
They give you the extra attention and seek sollutions to all problems you might have, Hans in the reseption are an excellent Clarion ambassador!

The Zeppelin Suite with the angel from one of their covers panted big on one of the black walls is a design gem at a good price in the middle of Oslo.
Breakfast is super good!

We will absolute be back to this super hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Stefi N,
Thanks for the nice feedback. We wish you both warmly welcomed back to the Comfort Hotel Grand Central. Then perhaps a test of “The Rolling Stones Suite”? Hans will be rewarded at my next internal meeting. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,880 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

I chose the hotel since I wanted easy access to/from Oslo S and the Airport Express and was pleasantly surprised about the design and level of standard. My room was large and with a big wall painting, huge bathroom, a very comfortable bed - and with a view of the Opera House. I loved the fact that the atmosphere of the old station building is preserved. The staff was very nice and friendly. I would have preferred better selection of toiletries, but no must. Great breakfast. I would definitely stay here again, especially when carrying a lot of luggage and depending on the train as means of transportation...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hveflen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear hveflen,

Makes me happy to read your feedback- in busy days location and time saving is important for many of us.
On our own website, we market ourselves with;
“We tell our guests that they save an hour by staying so close to the airport
express. That's an hour you can spend however you like. A workout? A beer with an
old friend? Or perhaps you'll make an earlier plane so that you can kiss your children
goodnight. It's up to you.”
- and thereby it makes me happy when guest experience the location as valuable and service as pleasant during a stay with us.

I warmly welcomes you back to the Comfort Hotel Grand Central.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

If you looking for a good looking and easy hotel to stay at in the middle of Oslo centrum, then you pick Comfort hotel Grand Central. Located at the central train station in Oslo. With a urban and cool style Comfort give you a amazing experience. I got a room facing the Opera and with a small terrace. Clean room and a big bed. Fantastic to sleep in. You can choose between check in and out at the automatic computers or at the front desk with staff. Friendly and helpful people in the restaurant and at the front desk. Recommend this for people that just is in Oslo for a few days.

Stayed: September 2012
3  Thank T-Bear12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear T-Bear12,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences about the hotel on TripAdvisor.
I and all my colleagues warmly welcomes you back to the Comfort Hotel Grand Central.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Just checked into the hotel by friendly and helpful staff ( Daniel). He made us feel welcome and told us info of 24 hr pass for trams and buses. The hotel is located within the old station building (cream yellow colors) and the internal entrance is facing Mc Donald's within the station building (see
photo) at the main old station entrance.

Rest at the hotel loung and had free hot drinks provided by hotel (self service).
We stored our luggage at the hotel's locker at reception when we arrived early in the morning by Dfds seaways ferry from Copenhagen to Oslo. It was a long walk from terminal to the hotel 20 minutes. Left terminal crossed the roads and turn right (can see all the city centre buildings -checked for signs for central station) followed the road and crossed fews side streets (uneven surfaces); followed the road til when you see 7 Eleven and HM (cloth store) turn into the street and you will see station building (cream yellow). At the station entrance (enter from the street) Mc Donald on your left and hotel on your right next to a cafe/bar so turn right straight away! Hotel entrance with clear lit signage. With heavy luggage take the taxis from terminal or bus from terminal station. Will post more info later.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lipsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Lipsytravel,
Thankful for your stay with us and your contribution to the many travelers who need to find the way to Comfort Hotel Grand Central.
The DFDS is as per today located 1 km from the hotel. With construction work in the DFDS terminal area your route is a good one. In the future you`ll walk along the seaside with nice view to the Opera House with a beautiful park area surroundings directly to the hotel. My colleague Daniel will be rewarded at my next internal meeting. Thank you and welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The Hotel was amazing. Inside of Oslo S, Central Station with awesome rooms (mine was a room with 2 floors) Nice tv channels, perfect channel for music, 1003 I think. The breakfast was perfect, one of the best with nice cheese, nice ham, good juices. The wifi was good and you had free coffee and tea anytime you what. Automatic check-in in the machine (it was my first time doing this). The was staff was friendly and helpful. No doubts about the Hotel, jus choose it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marcelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear Marcelo C,
Thanks for the very nice feedback about your stay. It pleases me and all my colleagues that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Info: Your 2 floor room is actually inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn. Other have protected historical significance and many a story to tell.

Hope to see you back soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We choose to stay in this hotel due to its location at the Oslo Central Train Station. However, due to a change in the flight schedule by SAS, we had to arrive in the hotel at midnight instead of the original planned midday.

Upon arrival at the central station, we found that the hotel was situated at the building next to the train station. Due to our late arrival, the main entrance was already locked and thanks to a nice lady who pointed out to us that the hotel entrance was by the side while we were trying to make a call to the hotel.

When we made our way round the building to look for the side entrance, we were `greeted’ by the frozen slippery ice that was surrounding the entrance of the hotel. We really had a hard time trying to make our way into the hotel with several huge luggages through the slippery ice without falling.

We were later informed by the receptionist that the main entrance was closed/locked for security reasons after eleven in the night. So just an advice for those arriving in the late evening, the hotel entrance is at the right side if you are facing the main entrance of the hotel building.
The double rooms that we were allocated were clean and spacious and so were the attached bathroom/toilet. However, the bathroom could get very wet after showers due to the only `incomplete’ glass panel that separate the shower cubicle from the rest of the toilet.
The free wifi and the spread of the breakfast were good and there was free coffee/tea available at the reception at all times. There was express check in/out terminal and free internet terminals but we did not use them.

Overall, the stay is a pleasant one except for the `slippery’ arrival. We will recommend this hotel to those on budget that arrives from the train station due to its location but please remember to take note of the entrance if you arrive after 11 in the night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SQFlyer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear SQFlyer72,

Thank you for your stay with us. With a central location its many considerations to take regards Health, Safety and Environmental activities (HSE).

Our HSE focus has and will always be a top priority, but with that in mind we need to make the entrance area also within HSE. I hereby confirm that we have based on your information implemented a new routine for de-icing and gritting the road better, starting from today.

Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind recommendation. Its highly appreciated. Look forward seeing you all soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The hotel is locted basically in main railway station Oslo S bulding. The same time it's not so easy to find hotel front door, as there is no directional signage in station and the entrance is not well-lit. The lobby looks trendy, with comfortable sofas. There is self-check in desk, but also service desk with small drinks and snacks kiosk. Double room was very compact and without cabinets for clothes. So it might be not so convenient for longer stay for two. But as I travelled solo, it didn't bother me. What positively surprised me was:
1) large bathroom, compared to bedroom
2) big screen LED TV
3) quietness during the night (no traffic under window)
4)possibility to open window (majority city centre hotels have only air conditioning)
5) the most silent airconditioning, like ever.
The sleeping quality was excellent. Nighttime lightning was also well thougt thru, but in the morning I missed the proper lightning for the room, it was very dark.
There are no free toiletries in bathroom, just box on the wall with soap. But it was not filled with usual smelly-itchy stuff - it was pretty decent showering gel. No tea making facilities either, but wi-fi was well functioning and free of charge.
Breakfast has plenty of options and most of it is organic. So all-in-all it's decent place to stay overnight during business trip. Price / quality ratio is very good for Oslo.

Stayed: January 2013
3  Thank Kai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Kai R,
Thank you staying with us and for sharing an informative and detailed review. Appreciated! I totally agree with you regards signage. I promise you its my top priority but as one of many companies within station its political work need to be done to signage approval. Rooms are very quiet, even if it's in the heart of Oslo. I think it's one of our best selling points. And very glad you did sleep well. It pleases us who work here that you found the hotel suitable for you, hope we see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#21 of 102 in Oslo
1,641 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#18 of 102 in Oslo
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,244 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Grand Central

Address: Jernbanetorget 1 | Oslo Central Station (Oslo S), Oslo 0154, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £102 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Hotel Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is your time worth? If you know the answer, you'll choose Comfort Hotel Grand Central. We are Oslo's most centrally located hotel. Just three minutes to the airport express – and three minutes to Oslo's main shopping district.We are challenging the traditional model for a business hotel. Ourlocation is outstanding, our cutting-edge facilities are housed in an historic railway building and our prices are excellent.Once in your room the only sound you will hear will be the faint hum of the airconditioning. We have 170 rooms. And 113 of these are unique. Many enjoy views of the opera house or Oslo's bustling main shopping district. Some are inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn, while others have protected historical significance and many a story to tell. (Norway's first railway track started right at this station.) Interior designer Lars Helling describes the look he has created as "industrial shabby chic". We'll treat you to a free breakfast in our restaurant where you can enjoy our homemade strawberry jam and fresh bread. The man in charge of our restaurant is celebrity chef Ole Johnny Eikefjord, of Eik Annen Etage fame. He dishes up what may be the best bolognese in Oslo – andgives you the right Barbera to go with it. And if you're only after a quick business lunch, you are welcome to order a half portion. But if you have more time, feel free to compose your own three-course menu.Enjoy the food while you imagine the bustling railway concourse in 1854: travelers hugging their loved ones, children smiling and laughing from the trainwindows, and steam trains snorting into life.Whether it's early in the morning or later in the day, many of our guests enjoy working out. Our training suite is compact, but very well equipped. And it's open 24/7,so you can go at it whenever you like.We tell our guests that they save an hour by staying so close to the airport express. That's an hour you can spend however you like. A workout? A beer with an old friend? Or perhaps you'll make an earlier plane so that you can kiss your children goodnight. It's up to you.If you are looking for elegant and efficient hotel, Comfort Hotel Grand Central is the easy choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Hotel Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing