We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Nearby Hotels
US$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$261
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Citybox Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Scandic St. Olavs plass(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Holmenkollen Park(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$411
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saga Hotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,010)
Filter reviews
2,010 results
Traveller rating
799
828
290
64
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
828
290
64
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationopera housebella bambinagreat locationold railwayironing roomsame buildingnutshell tourhotel entrancefree tea and coffeegreat breakfastairport expressrooms are smallkarl johans gatepublic transportationsuperior roomlate check
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
973 - 978 of 2,010 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. At first, we were given a double room with stairs inside, bed at the cockloft. Since my wife is pregnant, we requested to change the room. The staff was very helpful to find a room at the same floor immediately for us to switch to. Travelers may need to pay attention that they have several kinds of double room, some are quite far from entrance, and need to change lifts to that particular floor.
Other than this, room was clean and nice, though not particularly spacious.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank eric511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear eric511

Thank you for staying with us during your 3 days in Oslo. Thanks for the good description from your experience of your days with us. Genuine experiences are the best and most honest marketing tool. For better or worse.

Hope your wife is healthy and fit and that pregnancy and birth goes well.
Myself and my team wish you and your family a wonderful Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Recently spent 3 nights here in room 353 - a double room overlooking the lane beside the train station. The room was simple but had everything we required, was very clean and was really quiet. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice - they do remove it on the exact time breakfast finishes so it is best to make sure you arrive in time. The location was great as it was right beside the train station and at the bottom of Karl Johans gate. The room was a long walk from reception which we didn't mind except for the last day when the key stopped working in the afternoon and we had to traipse back to reception to get it working again. We appreciated the late check out on Sunday which was a nice touch. We did find that the room could be a little chilly during the day and very stuffy at night time but that would be the only complaint we would have.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillicentDDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear MillicentDDublin

Thank you for staying with us during your 3 days in Oslo.
We love your headline, and we already look forward to welcome you bot back to Comfort Hotel Grand Central.

Myself and my team wish you both a wonderful Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have stayed here for one night to do some Christmas shopping in Oslo.

Perfectly located the hotel can be reached from the train station in 3 minutes. Just go outside the train station direction to the Opera, down the stairs, to the right and you will directly see the two giant pink plants in front of the main door.

We arrived at 11 a.m. and got our room right away. We didn't expect that, so that was a very positive surprise :) I had asked for a room with a bath tub (we had booked a Superior room) but unfortunately, there was no one available as the lady at the reception told us that they only have 6 rooms with a bathtub...

Our room was on the 3rd floor, we had a small veranda with a good view to the opera. The room itself was smaller than I had expected but the bathroom was very big. Everything was very clean, so thumbs up for the cleaning ladies :) Other than advertised we didn't have a seating area with sofa and chairs but only one chair with a tiny table in front. The thing that we were most unhappy with was the bed. It was only 160cm which would be ok but a terrible mattress and everytime you turned around you were afraid that it would break. We have asked for two extra pillows which came ten minutes after, so very good service.

The breakfast was ok, but the bread variety was not very good, just two different bread types and knekkebrød but no rolls. But the rest was good with fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, yoghurt, etc. My German taste would have liked to have honey, Nutella or more choice of marmalades :)

Just an idea: why not include Pay TV in the rooms?

We would definitely go back to that hotel for a weekend-trip but asking for a different room than the one we had because from the pictures, there are many different types of superior rooms and maybe in another room the bed is better for our poor backs :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnkeMarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear AnkeMarita

Thank you for staying with us during your superb shopping days in Oslo. Glad you were able to get an early bird check inn. We offer this service when ever its possible. I need to clarify info` from my college regards the bathroom tub number. Within superior its 6, in total we offer 17 rooms with bathtub.

Glad you liked the breakfast. The homemade jam its my favorite.

Myself and my team hope we will see you soon again at the Comfort Hotel Grand Central. We also wish you and yours a Happy New Near!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great hotel, very clean and very good location to visit Oslo !!!
the breakfast and the restaurant was very good !!!
The staff was wonderful and hepfull expecially Hans and Emelie...
Our trip was fantastic and this hotel too !!

Room Tip: the room 330 was very big and you have a wondeful view to the opera and the sea
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Amadine R

THANK YOU!
I`m glad you loved my Comfort Hotel Grand Central and the city of Oslo.
My colleague’s Hans and Emelie will be given a high 5` and a personally bonus from the hotel as a thank you.

We all looking forward seeing you both soon again! Merry Christmas to you and yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Very nice hotel at the center of Oslo. So close the Oslo train center. Old building and modern designing. Smiley personnel, good breakfast, very big room, nice working desk at the room. Free and speedy wi-fi, free coffee at the lobby.

- little bit noisy bed
- heating system not enough. I sometimes cold.
- little bit expensive hotel
- No wardrobe

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gertyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear gertyum
Thank you for your kind feedback during your business stay with us. We`re glad you appreciate the hotel and hope you’re coming back soon as our guest.
My response to your good comments:
- The room is checked, bed fixed. Thanks to you.
- Temperature adjusted to winter season Thank you!
- Expensive. I feel we`re a mid-rated hotel. Tip: Look after campaign periods on web.
- Wardrobe. Will not be either, and my guest haven’t forgotten much either. The Lost & Found storage is the “smallest in the World”..
Merry Christmas to you and yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews