We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Ranked #17 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Modern, friendly and clean hotel. Small rooms however, but a fresh, modern style. The breakfast buffet could have been better, as well as the breakfast area which was very crowded. Reseptionists gave service from the heart, with joy.


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Carina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

My dear guest Carina B, from Sandefjord- Norway.
Thank you for staying with us Carina B. It makes me glad reading your warm comments regards the staff. We`re in need of apology the experience regards a crowdie breakfast restaurant this morning. Look forward seeing you again as my guest. Happy Easter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

926 - 932 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a realy good choice to live in both buissnes and privat accoations. The staff is young but gives you the impresion of several years in the buissnes. They are friendy and suviceminded at al times. The breakfast give you a great start and the hiht tech fitnes center provides you with a good workout.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

My dear guest Martin K, from Molde.
Smooth! Thank you Martin for staying with us and for choosing Comfort Hotel Grand Central and also for your feedback and your 5 of 5 score. Highly appreciated and its motivate us all! Happy Easter greetings from team Grand Central to you and yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights before we went further North. It was in a brilliant location - at the train station - and right across the road from the Opera house. We had quite a large room with a huge bathroom.
It was spotlessly clean and beds were really comfortable.
The check in was seamless-staff are really friendly. All day coffee/tea making facilities in the foyer area which was also a great place to chill out a bit.
Great breakfast and nice dining room. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for one of the new double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharlsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

My dear guest SharlsG from Traralgon, Australia
Thank you for your super-nice comments from your stay with us. I hope your trip further North went smoothly and that you`ll return to Norway and the Comfort Hotel Grand Central soon again. Best regards General Manager Olav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we were in Oslo for few hours and the location seemed convenient for a one night stay. We arrived by the Flytoget from the airport and just had to walk for 2 mins to reach the hotel. Most of the sights are nearby walking distance or you have easy access to the subway/bus etc.

The rooms although quite small are nicely decorated and have everything you need. They don't have much of a view so don't plan to stay in. The reception staff is helpful and they a tea/coffee station which is complimentary at the recpetion. The restaurant is nice and they have a great breakfast spread.

The best part of my stay was location as it had easy access to the railway station , main sightseeing, public transportation and access to karl johans gate for restaurants/shops/banks. The only drawback was we were given a room rather far away into the floor so we had to take another elevator to reach the room. It might help is you have a short stay to ask for a room near the main elevator.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

My dear guest prachi from Mumbai(Bombay), India
Thank you for your informative comment from your stay with us. I hope to see you both again in Oslo and at the Comfort Hotel Grand Central. Best regards General Manager Olav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here two nights on a camapign rate, so I got a really good price. The hotel is centrally located, quite new and the rooms are spacious and modern and clean. I had a room facing "Østbanehallen", which was nice and quiet. Staff was very friendly and check-in was efficient. Breakfast was good, plus for many organic items, although the breakfast room felt somewhat crowded.

Only negative thing to remark was that the hotel somehow managed to assign my room to someone else late at night while I was sleeping. It was rather unpleasant to have someone lock themselves into my room while I was asleep. Fortunately, you can lock the door properly from the Inside. I complained the next day and got a sincere apology and they reset the room keys, so I didn't make any more fuzz about it.

I will probably stay again, if I find a good rate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bugman_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

My dear KL_Oslo, from Porsgrunn
Thank you for choosing the super deal we by time to time promote on the website. If you are looking, we have started the summer rate campaign yesterday. Apologize for the episode during the stay with us. The routine is totally evaluated. Hope to see you back soon again. Best regards General Manager Olav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Best location you can find in Oslo.
Room was spacious.
Free Coffee is the plus point.
A fridge would have help to leave a better impression.
Breakfast could have been better if there is more variety. :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank ywaihong80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

My dear guest ywaihong80 from Singapore,
Location-location-location. My 3 best-selling points. Thank you for your top rating and your very kind comment from your stay with us. I hope to see you again in Oslo and at the Comfort Hotel Grand Central. Best regards General Manager Olav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Nice hotel with good location. Modern and clean rooms. The staff met us with a big smile. We asked for a good room and got upgraded for free. Close to the national opera, and the main shopping street.


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

My dear guest Jon G from Oslo,
Thank you for your kind comment regards smiley service. It’s very important for us to give the best welcome we can, every day- to every guest. Hope to see you both soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#18 of 103 in Oslo
1,717 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#16 of 103 in Oslo
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Grand Central

Address: Jernbanetorget 1 | Oslo Central Station (Oslo S), Oslo 0154, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £109 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Hotel Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is your time worth? If you know the answer, you'll choose Comfort Hotel Grand Central. We are Oslo's most centrally located hotel. Just three minutes to the airport express – and three minutes to Oslo's main shopping district.We are challenging the traditional model for a business hotel. Ourlocation is outstanding, our cutting-edge facilities are housed in an historic railway building and our prices are excellent.Once in your room the only sound you will hear will be the faint hum of the airconditioning. We have 170 rooms. And 113 of these are unique. Many enjoy views of the opera house or Oslo's bustling main shopping district. Some are inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn, while others have protected historical significance and many a story to tell. (Norway's first railway track started right at this station.) Interior designer Lars Helling describes the look he has created as "industrial shabby chic". We'll treat you to a free breakfast in our restaurant where you can enjoy our homemade strawberry jam and fresh bread. The man in charge of our restaurant is celebrity chef Ole Johnny Eikefjord, of Eik Annen Etage fame. He dishes up what may be the best bolognese in Oslo – andgives you the right Barbera to go with it. And if you're only after a quick business lunch, you are welcome to order a half portion. But if you have more time, feel free to compose your own three-course menu.Enjoy the food while you imagine the bustling railway concourse in 1854: travelers hugging their loved ones, children smiling and laughing from the trainwindows, and steam trains snorting into life.Whether it's early in the morning or later in the day, many of our guests enjoy working out. Our training suite is compact, but very well equipped. And it's open 24/7,so you can go at it whenever you like.We tell our guests that they save an hour by staying so close to the airport express. That's an hour you can spend however you like. A workout? A beer with an old friend? Or perhaps you'll make an earlier plane so that you can kiss your children goodnight. It's up to you.If you are looking for elegant and efficient hotel, Comfort Hotel Grand Central is the easy choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Hotel Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing