We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tourist Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Ranked #18 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at Comfort Grand Central. Cool vibe in hotel. Great restaurant that also does a fabulous breakfast of fresh fruits, pastries and Bacon/eggs that are class. Bedroom while not large includes a great en - suite with beautiful shower. Fabulous flat screen TV in every room and designer lighting. Staff very friendly. Location, can't be beaten.Very well priced for Oslo. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank busymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,842)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Hotel Grand Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This very hip, comfortable & superbly located property was a fantastic end to our holiday in Norway. Located right at the train station and the city centre we enjoyed a fabulous stay. The restaurant was fantastic for breakfast & our room was amazing, so comfortable & facing the city square. All very helpful nothing too much trouble & a very tech savvy property ample computers for your use & great to have gratis WiFi & gym . We shall be back !

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank yanya14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Comfort Grand is adjacent to the main railway station where both the regional trains and airport trains terminate. It couldn't be more convenient. When you get off the airport train, go to the nearest station exit( facing the Opera house) and turn right- the hotel, in the old station building, is 100 metres away. The old station shell has basically had a hotel dropped into it- for instance, the old windows still exist, but new double glazed units sit inside them. The decor is industrial chic-- excellent sized rooms, interesting furniture and decor, big bathroom and fun. The foyer is casual and inviting. The single receptionists on duty while we were there were unflappable and helpful. Free coffee and tea is available all day downstairs, there is an ironing room, and a gym. The breakfast area gets a bit contested in the morning, but that's not a big deal. We got a really good deal through hotel.com, at which price we thought the room was a bargain. We would return- thought it was great

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Frans_12255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Comfort Hotel Grand Central won't win any design awards. Its bizarre, edgy decor and boot camp room numbering at first are off-putting (room numbers stenciled on walls). And the entire site is a construction site because the old train station is being renovated. The area adjacent to the hotel is a construction site towards the Oslo Opera house, and the old train station hall is completely boarded up; the hotel is about two years old but you can smell the construction elements in the hallway.

When you first arrive, it is a bit confusing to find your room. There are three second floors and two or three third floors -- so the split floor thing can be disorienting at first. There are elevators to get you to the half-floors but a bit disorienting. Overall, four stars because:

(1) Excellent sleep quality. Despite being right at the train station, the rooms were double-windowed. We heard no noise in our rooms, despite being on the second floor. (The window closure gizmos are a bit odd too, but we managed.) Hotel is two years old so rooms are new and clean.

(2) Cost. Great value. This was about $150USD a night per room for us -- a fraction of the Hotel Continental.

(3) the one employee on hand had a great attitude. Emilie was our one employee on duty the night we stayed at Comfort Hotel Grand Central. She was constantly running around but always in good cheer. An amazing performance and it cause us to add one to two stars to this review. If the staff is happy, the guests are happy. She really was the only employee we saw on check-in afternoon -- the source of snacks, check in, extra towels, etc.

(4) Bottom line: This is a reduced service hotel. So the rooms are stripped down bare, but you have pretty much what you need to sleep. So this is not a hotel where you want to hang out in the room and read. The rooms do not have that Hollywood grand hotel quality. There are not going to be vials of shampoo, body lotion, or a bar of soap set out for you (just the pump thingy on the wall). But the value is quite good. You are about five minutes to the Oslo train station.

There is a full service Peppe's Pizza across the train station plaza -- which got the job done. Food: yes. And Flytoget train to the Oslo airport is next door. About a two to five minute walk outdoors (maybe construction will solve that) right now but on a good temporary asphalt walking path. 19 minutes to airport on the direct train. Staff at train station there was pleasant too. You are only 10-12 minutes from central city Oslo and then Aker Brygge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Dates of Stay: May 16th - 17th, 2014

Location: The Comfort Hotel Grand Central is located next to Oslo's central train station. Construction is underway, and once completed you will be able to access the hotel from inside the train station. Otherwise, it's just a short walk around the building. Taxis are not allowed to stop in front of the hotel, but plenty are available around the corner at the train station.

Value: We booked via Expedia and paid $208.52 for a standard, non-smoking room with 1 double bed. For the Oslo city center this seemed to be a very reasonable rate. The rate included complimentary Wi-Fi and breakfast.

Room: The room was very small, with a single bed downstairs & a double bed in the loft area. The stairs are staggered, which looked cool, but are quite awkward, and dangerous, if you have to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night. Based on the hotel's photos, this feature is not in most rooms. If 3 people are staying in the room, you better only have carry-on size luggage, because there is room for only one suitcase, and only small bags can be carried upstairs.

Housekeeping: The room was spotless.

Front Desk: Erica assisted us with check-in, and she is absolutely charming. A great ambassador for the hotel & Oslo. She was very helpful in answering all of our questions, and assisting us with directions. The hotel has a few complimentary lockers in the lobby area, and we were able to leave our carry-on luggage locked away, while we traveled to Bergen.

Dining: The breakfast buffet was very good, with a nice variety of foods.

Summary: We very much enjoyed our brief stay & would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OUTCRUISIN2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel was perfectly situated next to the Central Train station (exist the main entrance and it will be to the left). It is walking distance to all the sites in central Oslo, and for those just outside, is a two minute walk to the tram and bus station. The room was a bit dark, but had a massive modern bathroom and lovely windows looking over the main square in front of the hotel. If you are a light sleeper, I would recommend asking for a room on a higher floor and to the back of the building as there are lots of people walking around and talking in the square, as well as the restaurant and night club. With no air conditioning, you are forced to open the window and that could make it a bit loud as well. The complementary breakfast is excellent, with free range eggs, bacon and fresh fruit are exceptional. I would recommend you attend breakfast early to ensure you get a seat as there is limited room. The staff members are incredibly helpful and always able to provide you with advice on what to do and where to go. Late check out until 6pm is incredibly generous, particularly if you have a later flight.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is very nice. The staff is friendly and kind. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable which provides a good quality sleeping time. The breakfast is delicious and the hotel location could not be more perfect: on the Central station! You only need to climb down the stairs and you'll be into the station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World-Czn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#19 of 102 in Oslo
1,613 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#17 of 102 in Oslo
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Grand Central

Address: Jernbanetorget 1 | Oslo Central Station (Oslo S), Oslo 0154, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £112 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Hotel Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is your time worth? If you know the answer, you'll choose Comfort Hotel Grand Central. We are Oslo's most centrally located hotel. Just three minutes to the airport express – and three minutes to Oslo's main shopping district.We are challenging the traditional model for a business hotel. Ourlocation is outstanding, our cutting-edge facilities are housed in an historic railway building and our prices are excellent.Once in your room the only sound you will hear will be the faint hum of the airconditioning. We have 170 rooms. And 113 of these are unique. Many enjoy views of the opera house or Oslo's bustling main shopping district. Some are inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn, while others have protected historical significance and many a story to tell. (Norway's first railway track started right at this station.) Interior designer Lars Helling describes the look he has created as "industrial shabby chic". We'll treat you to a free breakfast in our restaurant where you can enjoy our homemade strawberry jam and fresh bread. The man in charge of our restaurant is celebrity chef Ole Johnny Eikefjord, of Eik Annen Etage fame. He dishes up what may be the best bolognese in Oslo – andgives you the right Barbera to go with it. And if you're only after a quick business lunch, you are welcome to order a half portion. But if you have more time, feel free to compose your own three-course menu.Enjoy the food while you imagine the bustling railway concourse in 1854: travelers hugging their loved ones, children smiling and laughing from the trainwindows, and steam trains snorting into life.Whether it's early in the morning or later in the day, many of our guests enjoy working out. Our training suite is compact, but very well equipped. And it's open 24/7,so you can go at it whenever you like.We tell our guests that they save an hour by staying so close to the airport express. That's an hour you can spend however you like. A workout? A beer with an old friend? Or perhaps you'll make an earlier plane so that you can kiss your children goodnight. It's up to you.If you are looking for elegant and efficient hotel, Comfort Hotel Grand Central is the easy choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Hotel Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing