We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible staff!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here in mid July. The front desk staff is phenomenol! They are invested, helpful and VERY friendly! We hope that this "boutique" Comefot inn continues to provide great people, service, incredible breakfast and rooms and improves the overall central station area. Oslo is a beautiful city with lots to offer. The central station area is great but needs establishments like this to balance the, sad, heroin addict populations effect on this area. The government has apparently stopped efforts to curtail this scourge. We will return to this establishment always! Again, incredible staff and all around hotel ! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjfphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Hotel Grand Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

The one reason I still give it a 3 is the good rate we got when we booked compared to alternative and similar hotels in Olso. It was a good deal. However, we were not happy at all.

Arriving at 14.30 hours we were told the room was not ready yet. No problem. They checked our reservation, asking us to leave our luggage and come back later. No welcome, no city map. The reception desk looks like a kiosk and the staff acts like working in one where you buy a water and gum.

Coming back later in the day we went to our room, the room door opened to the outside (that was a 1st for us) and for a good reason: the room was tiny tiny tiny. No problem with that, but although we travelled light, we were really were getting annoyed by the size of the room since we were staying 4 nights. The view was looking through dirty windows into another part of the hotel.

Every morning we were woken up around 7.30 by heavy drilling and construction noise. Very irritating if you are on a holiday break. Housekeeping was a joke, our beds were made up looking like we quickly did it ourselves and they came into our room without knocking at 10am on our departure day.

No safe, breakfast only until 9.30.

We are not the complaining type. We feel uncomfortable having to approach staff to complain so we did not. We would have had no complaints if we were allocated a bit larger room that was free of construction noise which surely they know off.
Overall I would not recommend.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room as the standard rooms are TINY
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thefortA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunhildEL, Leder  at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Fosrtamsterdam,

I am so sorry to hear about your stay, it is so much here that we can be better at. Until next time, please tell us during your stay so we can try to fix it right away. Please send us a email next time you are visiting Oslo, and we will try to make it up again.

Best regards
Gunhild, Hotel Manager, Comfort Hotel Grand Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel has friendly staff, clean rooms and a very convenient location.

The hotel is in the railway station square (it used to *be* part of the station) and Karl Johan street, the main street in Oslo, starts from here.

The rooms were bright and comfortable, a great choice for a couple of days' stay in the Norwegian capital.

The breakfast was a decent buffet, with a good selection of Norwegian foods and international staples.

As with all accommodation in Oslo, the price was relatively high for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Egeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Value for money was excellent and staff were very friendly and helpful. I loved the fact that free (good) wifi was included in the price, and the inclusive breakfast made it even better value, expecially for a horribly expensive city like Oslo.

The location is excellent, being just steps from the station. There is building work going on at the moment, so I think eventually you will be able to access the station directly. Given all the building work and city noise around, the rooms were really quiet - we could not even hear people walking past the rooms in the corridor outside.

However, the air conditioning in the rooms was absolutely useless. It was a very hot weekend, and the air conditioning seemed to have no impact at all. The windows did not open much (and housekeeping closed them anyway). This made the rooms absolutely stifling and it was very uncomfortable and difficult to sleep. Thank goodness we were not in there that much. Our room keys needed re-programming twice during our stay, which was a bit disappointing, especially as our rooms were a long way from reception.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Location : next door to Oslo S, very convenient for all transportations. Fly to get, express train from Oslo airport takes only 20 minutes to Oslo S. After you walk from the platform to the station, just turn right and walk out of the building, look to the right, you'll see the sign of the hotel. There're many convenient stores, department stores, restaurants around. You can walk to all attractions in Oslo from here but if you're lazy like me, bus, tram and subway were very easy to manage from here too.
Hotel : lobby was small and quite busy, lifts were new and quick. The corridors were like labyrinth.
Room : many sizes, I chose the basic double, so quite small but ok for 1 person, I think too small for two with luggage. Decor was chic but basic. Bed was very comfortable, curtain worked very well for there was light all night when I was there. There were a flat screen TV, a chair, a fold up desk, no fridge, no tea or coffee. Bathroom was big, bright and functional. Good supply of towels. Shower was great but took a long time before the water got hot.
Wifi : free and working ok.
Breakfast : great, great, great, it was included so don't miss it.
Staff : very helpful and very efficient.
Rate : it's Norway! This hotel was a good find.
I would recommend this hotel highly especially if it is the first time to Oslo.

Room Tip: If you are not on the budget, standard double is too small, pay more for a bigger room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank arayaBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here twice on a trip to Norway. On the first night we realised what a labrynth the hotel is, spread over five floors, it can sometimes be difficult finding your allocated room. That aside, we had good sized rooms on both stays, it is utilitarian, very clean, staff were fantastic, nothing is too much trouble for them. The dining area is a bit undersized for the amount of guests, one morning tables had to be shared between guests just so they could sit down to eat. Some were taking their food out to the tables in the foyer at breakfast. Our companions had an upgrade to the "Led Zeppelin" room, has to be seen to be believed! (See the picture). It is right in the heart of Oslo and yes, we would happily stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We arrived at the train station in Oslo at almost midnight after 30 hours of flying. The hotel was right at the station and the service from the first minute was exceptional all the way through our stay. We even had a late afternoon departure, and they allowed us to stay in the room right up until we left. The included breakfasts were five star buffets. Location for walking and sight-seeing throughout the city was ideal. Yes, the art deco rooms are a bit interesting, but that just made it more fun. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms with the bead curtains and colored lights. Sounds strange (think 1967 San...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IGO2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#19 of 102 in Oslo
1,615 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#16 of 102 in Oslo
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Grand Central

Address: Jernbanetorget 1 | Oslo Central Station (Oslo S), Oslo 0154, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £112 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Hotel Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is your time worth? If you know the answer, you'll choose Comfort Hotel Grand Central. We are Oslo's most centrally located hotel. Just three minutes to the airport express – and three minutes to Oslo's main shopping district.We are challenging the traditional model for a business hotel. Ourlocation is outstanding, our cutting-edge facilities are housed in an historic railway building and our prices are excellent.Once in your room the only sound you will hear will be the faint hum of the airconditioning. We have 170 rooms. And 113 of these are unique. Many enjoy views of the opera house or Oslo's bustling main shopping district. Some are inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn, while others have protected historical significance and many a story to tell. (Norway's first railway track started right at this station.) Interior designer Lars Helling describes the look he has created as "industrial shabby chic". We'll treat you to a free breakfast in our restaurant where you can enjoy our homemade strawberry jam and fresh bread. The man in charge of our restaurant is celebrity chef Ole Johnny Eikefjord, of Eik Annen Etage fame. He dishes up what may be the best bolognese in Oslo – andgives you the right Barbera to go with it. And if you're only after a quick business lunch, you are welcome to order a half portion. But if you have more time, feel free to compose your own three-course menu.Enjoy the food while you imagine the bustling railway concourse in 1854: travelers hugging their loved ones, children smiling and laughing from the trainwindows, and steam trains snorting into life.Whether it's early in the morning or later in the day, many of our guests enjoy working out. Our training suite is compact, but very well equipped. And it's open 24/7,so you can go at it whenever you like.We tell our guests that they save an hour by staying so close to the airport express. That's an hour you can spend however you like. A workout? A beer with an old friend? Or perhaps you'll make an earlier plane so that you can kiss your children goodnight. It's up to you.If you are looking for elegant and efficient hotel, Comfort Hotel Grand Central is the easy choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Hotel Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing