We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, good breakfast and nice price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Norway, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central location, good breakfast and nice price”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Very central location especially if your going by train to airport. The breakfast was better than expected. Missed room service (but yes, I know this is a budget hotel), and it was quite difficult to find the room (a labyrinth!)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MrLee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunhildEL, Leder  at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear MrLee79,

Thank you for a great feedback. We wish a good day!

Best Regards,
Gunhild, Hotel Manager, Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    715
    255
    54
    26
See reviews for
229
640
130
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This place is super convenient and this alone is worth your attention and consideration. It is right next to the train station which means no need for expensive taxis and no need to drag big bags over cobblestone streets. The rooms are basic but very cool and extremely comfortable. They care about the footprint we leave on the earth and I am happy to forgo some creature comforts to reduce my earthly impact too. Free coffee can be found in the lobby an ironing room located on the 2nd floor (which I found by accident and would have been nice to learn this at check in). The restaurant which serves breakfast does a really nice breakfast with lots of choices and tasty food. It's very close to the Opera House and the start of the pedestrian street Karl Johan gate. This area is under some construction though (around the water near Opera House) and you will need to negotiate a bit of construction zone. Nevertheless, I would definitely stay here again and I look forward to this region when the improvements are completed.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwanderer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunhildEL, Leder  at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Worldwanderer75,

Thank you for such a great review!
And thank you for the tips about the ironing room, we will try to be better to inform about the room in the future.
We hope to see you again when all the construction outside is finished.
Wish you a great day!

Best Regards,
Gunhild, Hotel Manager, Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great location, reasonable price and friendly reception. But air conditioning does not work and room is hot and stuffy, so need to open windows and put up with some noise. Overall the stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunhildEL, Leder  at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear P W,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the heat.

Best Regards,
Gunhild, Hotel Manager, Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Clean single expensive small dorm like room with no view. Conveniently located adjacent to the central rail station. Reception was polite and breakfast is included. There is currently extensive construction on.

Room Tip: Specify a room with a view and ask about the room size to make sure you have enough space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunhildEL, Leder  at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Manshms,

Thank you for your feedback, we always aapriciate to hear from our guests.
Wish you a great day

Best Regards,
Gunhild, Hotel Manager, Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Clean single expensive small dorm like room with no view. Conveniently located adjacent to the central rail station. Reception was polite and breakfast is included. There is currently extensive construction on.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunhildEL, Leder  at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Scott M,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review, we always appreciate to hear from our guests.
Wish you a great day

Best Regards,
Gunhild, Hotel Manager, Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Non-traditional but nice. Large comfy room. Fantastic location 100 meters from Central station. By heart of Oslo. Lots of lively restaurants and bars nearby. Urban chic interiors. Shower a little funky, a drain in shower curtained area of bathroom. Very clean and modern. City center views. Friendly staff, good service.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pilot210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunhildEL, Leder  at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Len F,

Thank you for a great feedback. Hope to see you next time visiting Oslo.

Best Regards,
Gunhild, Hotel Manager, Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel two times during our Norway vacation, at the start and end of our trip. We booked two superior double rooms each time. The first visit we got exactly what we expected - superior rooms that met the advertised features of size, view, and extra amenities (separate sitting area). On the return, we had the opposite experience - our rooms were small, had no view, and no amenities. I spoke to the staff about this but was told that these rooms were, in fact, superior and there were much smaller rooms in the hotel. Nevertheless, our rooms did not in any way match the description of a superior room. Apart from this negative issue, the location is good if you are flying out of Oslo (due to the airport train), and the included breakfast is fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrel470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunhildEL, Leder  at Comfort Hotel Grand Central, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Barrel470,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had two so different experience during your stays. With 113 different rooms, it is not easy to set same standard - but we are always working on it, your feedback is useful during our work. Thank you for doing us better.

Best Regards,
Gunhild, Hotel Manager, Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
1,495 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
777 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Grand Central

Property: Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Address: Jernbanetorget 1 | Oslo Central Station (Oslo S), Oslo 0154, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Hotel Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is your time worth? If you know the answer, you'll choose Comfort Hotel Grand Central. We are Oslo's most centrally located hotel. Just three minutes to the airport express – and three minutes to Oslo's main shopping district.We are challenging the traditional model for a business hotel. Ourlocation is outstanding, our cutting-edge facilities are housed in an historic railway building and our prices are excellent.Once in your room the only sound you will hear will be the faint hum of the airconditioning. We have 170 rooms. And 113 of these are unique. Many enjoy views of the opera house or Oslo's bustling main shopping district. Some are inspired by the compact studio apartments of Brooklyn, while others have protected historical significance and many a story to tell. (Norway's first railway track started right at this station.) Interior designer Lars Helling describes the look he has created as "industrial shabby chic". We'll treat you to a free breakfast in our restaurant where you can enjoy our homemade strawberry jam and fresh bread. The man in charge of our restaurant is celebrity chef Ole Johnny Eikefjord, of Eik Annen Etage fame. He dishes up what may be the best bolognese in Oslo – andgives you the right Barbera to go with it. And if you're only after a quick business lunch, you are welcome to order a half portion. But if you have more time, feel free to compose your own three-course menu.Enjoy the food while you imagine the bustling railway concourse in 1854: travelers hugging their loved ones, children smiling and laughing from the trainwindows, and steam trains snorting into life.Whether it's early in the morning or later in the day, many of our guests enjoy working out. Our training suite is compact, but very well equipped. And it's open 24/7,so you can go at it whenever you like.We tell our guests that they save an hour by staying so close to the airport express. That's an hour you can spend however you like. A workout? A beer with an old friend? Or perhaps you'll make an earlier plane so that you can kiss your children goodnight. It's up to you.If you are looking for elegant and efficient hotel, Comfort Hotel Grand Central is the easy choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing