We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, charm and convenience awaits you”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfort, charm and convenience awaits you”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This city centre hotel combines old-world charm with modern comforts in an ideal location convenient to all the main city attractions, The rooms are small but well appointed and those on upper floors are quiet with views over the city from their small balcony. The buffet breakfast is extensive and of high standard. The free sauna, plunge pool (10c) and power showers are a valuable bonus on cold winter days. Room rates reduce by the number of days stayed and offer excellent value for money compared to other hotels even within the Thon group. I would not think of staying in any other hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    519
    133
    28
    21
See reviews for
128
487
99
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Beautiful, very clean. I loved the lobby. You can get a light meal all day/evening in elegant but not pretentious surroundings. Super comfy- warm bed. Breakfast was yummy with the same elegant atmosphere. We sat in a small alcove off the main dining room. Close to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you need one. They will accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Great hotel, staff and decor. Period decor in lobby and restaurants. Perfectly located, close to the central railway station, tube and tourist info offices. We spent 3 nights here in room 566. The bathroom is a bit of a let down compared to the beautiful lobby and pleasant room. Only a shower cubicle and no bathtub and no extras like moisturiser with toileteries. Quite expensive at over 140 euros for a double room but Norway is expensive. We were here to bring in the New Year. Breakfast - something to look forward to every morning in this hotel.

Room Tip: Book online and in advance for a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brusselsmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Arrived at hotel early but reception staff were able to check us into our room immediately. Our first impression of room was WOW, large and comforable. Hotel is old and decor is traditional, and very classy. We ate in the restaurant both nights, food was great as was the service. Wine of course was expensive but thats just Norway. Breakfast was buffet style, huge amount of choice and excellent quality. Location of hotel was perfect, we walked everywhere to sightsee. Short walk to harbour. To top off our stay we ordered Hot Chocolate in the foyer cafe and it was served in a silver pot with cream on the side. Best hot chocolate on our entire trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Our small group of hotel&restaurant managers met again, yesterday for our annual special dinner gathering. "Lutefisk" & "Creme Caramel" accompanied by selected Aquavits and beer was again served in a most professional way although Hotel Bristols restaurant division was serving the entire top management of Philips oil in their banquet departement at the same time.
Excellent Lutefisk - try it, by all means it is a Norwegian delicacy, however tasting a bit strange to foreigners.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUMOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Splendid location, with comfortable and spacious room. Overall impression is good service, breakfast and quality, but the standard is a bit run down around the edges. For instance I had to use considerable strength to close the balconydoor.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The Bristol Hotel has been in business for almost 100 years, so tradition is a very important aspect of its appeal. The decor of the lobby and Café is very impressive with beautifully painted ceilings, pillars, overstuffed furniture and dark wooden paneling. There is a guest office with computer, internet and printer available. We stayed here twice in a period of three weeks and both times the rooms were newly refurbished, very comfortable, spacious and clean.

The reception staff was mostly friendly and helpful, but there are those that would rather take a phone call than help a paying guest standing right in front of them.

Breakfast is excellent with a wide variety of foods available. Dinner in the hotel dining room and open sandwiches for lunch in Hambro’s Café on the entrance level was really special, but very, very expensive.

In all, a great stay, but two things colour my review. The first was an emergency evacuation at approximately 20h00. We all duly traipsed out into the cold. The fire brigade arrived and a few minutes later we were all allowed to go back in. I’m assuming it was just a drill, but some information on what was happening would have been nice. The second was something that happened in the dining room – while laying a table the waiter dropped a knife on the floor under the table. He put his foot on it, slid it out and completed his task, using the dropped knife without even wiping it. We know these things happen in hotels, but if there are witnesses, please don’t do that sort of thing!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#15 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#5 Family Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing