We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Well-Located Base in Oslo”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Well-Located Base in Oslo”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Bristol is well-located near the National Gallery and the Karl Johans Gate main thoroughfare. The SAS Flybussen bus from the airport stops half a block away (Prof. Aschehougs Plass). We checked in around noon, but were able to get a room right away. Reception was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The décor is classic English, with a large leather-furnished lobby and piano bar. Our standard-double room (#512) was a decent size and comfortable, with a view over the roof tops toward the Palace and the ski jump. The bathroom (watch the step up) was spotless with a half glassed-in tub and a great shower. The beds (two twins together) were soft and comfortable. The room was very quiet except for the occasional screeching of the seagull nesting on the nearby roof.

Dinner in the Bristol Grill was a bit fancier than expected. There are 3, 4 or 5-course tasting menus. We opted for a la carte entrees (about 300 NOK apiece) which were very substantial.
Wines by the glass averaged 100 NOK. Tax (25%) and service included in the bill.

The breakfast buffet rates an A+. There is a wide selection of cereals, fruits, meats, cheeses, yogurt, hot dishes, etc., plus you can have a made-to-order omelet. We loved the croissants with home-made jams. Everything was well-labeled in Norwegian and English.

We second the recommendation of Kafe Love across the street in the theatre building.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escargo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    523
    135
    29
    21
See reviews for
128
499
100
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel Bristol is charming, bit to the old fashion if you like it. Rooms are nice and clean, bathroom has only the basic equipment, which felt like little too less for a 5 star hotel. Breakfast offers wide choice, including variety of healthy food which is my favorite. Service at the hotel is excellent, there is always several staff members at reception, thus you do not have to wait for service.

The best thing about the hotel though is the location. We went there for a weekend break and have not used public transport at all for sightseeing as everything is within walking distance. As well the restaurants and bars.

The most important thing to plan for in Oslo is weather, and yes- the price level ;))))

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kbelska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Breakfast at the Hotel Bristol was great. It was plentiful and delicious. Norwegian good were offered as well as common foods like cereal, yogurt and pastries.There were many choices for any kind of eater, adventurous to picky. Staff also cleared plates right away. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. Bedding was very comfortable. The lobby is very nice and the staff is helpful and kind. The Hotel Bristol also has a great location, near the main drag. Very good Hotel for many types of travelers.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TillyTravel1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is a lovely hotel, centrally located for all of the attractions and restaurants in downtown Oslo.
The breakfasts are huge and varied. The lunch/tea served in the large lobby restaurant with open faced sandwiches and wonderful deserts, was one of the best meals that we had in our four days in Oslo. The suite was attractive with antique furniture and a full kitchen. The staff was fluent in English . HOWEVER, If your stay includes a Saturday night in the warm months, insist on an interior room , because there is a VERY loud bar opposite the side of the hotel which does not close until 3--so you won't be sleeping until then unless you are deaf!

Room Tip: Interior suites are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Norma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Enjoyed our 3 night stay, in hotel that still retains charm and character. Excellently located for museums, sites and shops, 10 minute walk to station for express to airport ( only 19 mins ) or airport bus stops virtually opposites the hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly, rooms quite spacious and plenty of room in single beds pushed together as a double.

Breakfast as good as anything I can recall from the numerous hotels I have visited in Europe.

Only issues I had was the rather forthright explanation that if mini bar was as much as opened there would be a charge. Tip for management, try a softer message e.g. "to ensure accuracy in your bill........ etc) also shower cubicle is quite narrow so if you are carrying a few extra pounds of weight it could be a problem!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruddles26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sistranda, Norway
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Nice 4 day rate to come back as tourists to Oslo after living in the city 30 years ago. Centrally located to go shopping and to take the ferry to Bygdøy for museums Friendly staff and good breakfast and cozy library bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

We chose Hotel Bristol based on location and decor. We wanted an old European feel. The lobby is lovely, staff is fluent in English and helpful with maps, rooms are clean and location is perfection! I even loved their choice of shampoo and soap (L'Occitane, France) even the hair dryer was great, I finally felt attractive haha!! I would recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#15 of 100 in Oslo
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
2,054 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#5 Family Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing