We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly wonderful hotel in a great location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful hotel in a great location!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Recently I was lucky enough to stay in Hotel Bristol with my family for a week. It was our first visit to Norway and having researched lots of hotels in Oslo we chose Bristol because of it's many great reviews. We weren't disappointed. The foyer is so welcoming and a lovely place for a relaxing drink. We asked for quiet rooms and I must say that I didn't hear a sound from any of the adjacent rooms all week. The rooms, although small, were extremely clean and well kept. The beds were the most comfortable we had ever slept in! Getting up every morning was a treat because of the AMAZING breakfast! Every taste is catered for and they also had a great selection for anyone who's gluten intolerant. The staff were a lovely helpful bunch and there's a great gym and spa area on the basement floor. If you are planning a trip to Oslo you won't find anywhere better than this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    513
    132
    28
    21
See reviews for
128
483
99
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel was nicely restored and well-maintained, as well as centrally located for sightseeing, public transportation, and restaurants.The lobby was warm and welcoming, and sandwiches and desserts could be purchased from the afternoon on. The rooms were a little small, but well-furnished and comfortable. We asked for a quiet room, and we never heard a sound. The beds,as we later discovered all over Norway, were 2 twins put together, each with a mattress topper which not that firm. The bathroom was modern and clean, but rather spartan in terms of amenities, such as bottles of shampoo or lotions. The shower was very small and it would be difficult to accommodate a large or tall person. The breakfast was excellent, and, in retrospect after 2 weeks in Norway, it was by far the best that we had. They had a full array of breakfast/brunch items, including freshly squeezed orange juice and made-to-order omelets. We tended to eat large breakfasts and skipped lunch because the food and beverages were unbelievably expensive throughout the country. Recommendation-if you are spending several days in Oslo,get the Oslo pass. It saves you a lot of money on transporation and museums and other sights. They have a senior rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mxalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I hand selected this hotel for our recent visit to Oslo. I will be bringing a large American group there and I was impressed with this hotel's elegant ambiance and décor as well as its superb location (right off of the pedestrian-friendly Karl Johans Gate. I actually liked the location of The Bristol better than other hotels located on the pedestrian drag as it is quieter and less hectic. The interior of The Bristol is lovely with lots of leather seating and nooks for drinks and conversations. The breakfast was very abundant and delicious. I also experienced friendly, professional service from the staff at the hotel. Additionally, I was impressed with how friendly Oslo as a city is to visitors. I will enjoy bringing groups to this wonderful city and fabulous hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBTravelDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a standard double room. Hotel location is close to transportation & within easy walking distance to sights. The airport bus stops right near hotel. We arrived in early morning & they were able to accommodate early check in. Room was clean & bed comfortable. Room was quite small, but we had reserved a standard double rather than a superior. Breakfast was one of the best we found at any of our hotels in Norway. Excellent service by the front desk staff. Someone always at desk & they were knowledgable & friendly. They sell the Oslo Pass. We found the Oslo 24 Hour Pass a good value for the touring we had planned.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lov2TravelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a good solid choice for upscale but not luxury hotel centrally located. Our room was large, clean and quiet. The breakfast was excellent. The best thing is that it is easy and inexpensive to get to from the airport. Taxis are outrageous and the train drops you in the central station and that is a real problem if you have more than hand luggage because you have to find a taxi to the hotel. SAS Flybussen runs an express bus from the airport that drops you 50 yards from the hotel and it runs every twenty minutes. Ask for the senior discount. There is no concierge but the people at the front desk were helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forch, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We where lucky to get a room the 5star hotel Bristol in Oslo. The hotel is very well situated and nearly all places in Oslo can be reached by walking - around 15 minutes walk to Akers Brygge.

The room was clean and was well furnitured. The bed was ok. Maybe a little to soft, but this is only a personal requirement.

The bathroom was clean, but and this was a little bit disturbing - it smelled a little bit - but we where not able locate it. Additionally the shower was not 100 % easy to use, since the swinging glassdoor - if not positioned properly helped the water flowing into the rest of the bathroom.

The bar. Nice and quite cosy. We ordered two gin tonics, but where suprised that this was served (in a 5-star hotel!) without napkins under the glass (on a glasstable) and there where no chips or nuts served additionally.

The breakfast is just great! You get nearly all you can wish for breakfast, the staff is friendly (as
all the staff in hotel) and it was a great start into a new day!

All in all the hotel is a very nice place to stay and having a great stay in Oslo.

Room Tip: We had a room in the 6th floor and this was just great! Be careful, that you might request a porter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjellsiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel was well-appointed, clean, and centrally-located. The rooms were elegantly simple and very clean. I had to move a nightstand to get to a power outlet, and the hardwood floors were dustless (mine at home aren't that clean!) The location is good, too, although you could say that about almost any hotel in the area (Oslo is not a huge city). We asked for a late check-out (13.00) after thoroughly enjoying the scrumptious breakfast buffet, which included the staple Scandinavian breakfast items. Free Wi-Fi, too. I would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: We were in the back of the hotel, and we heard zero street noise. Other reviewers have recommended t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#10 of 100 in Oslo
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
749 reviews
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#5 Family Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing