We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

WWe always stay at Hotel Bristol when we are in Oslo.lovely atmosphere..Good breakfast and very nice staff .Bristol grill is a good place to have dinner. Pianobar is just super to have a glas of wine and listen to the piano.

Room Tip: every room ar good ,thats what we think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandineAnitra59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

The hotel is nice. Traditional. Smaller rooms, good breakfast. Only real complaint was the size of the shower. I felt like "elf" in the movie "Elf". The slant on the wall/roof made it impossible for me 6'1" to stand up straight...and the water temp was hard to regulate. And they only provided one towel when there were two of us staying in the room.

That said, it was clearly a popular place, always packed during breakfast and in lobby. Served traditional food.

I wish I would have known about the hot chocolate.....would have loved to have tried it.

Was in good location....close to main strip.

Room Tip: If you like older hotels with charm this is your place. Ask for a larger shower and more towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bp1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is my preferred hotel when visiting Oslo for work/business. The historic atmosphere of the the entire hotel, the friendly staff and the extravagant breakfast buffet is at the top. Unfortunately my budget doesn't always allow a booking there.

Room Tip: Remember that during breakfast you can get the cook to create your choise of eggs. Also there is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakob Schreiber V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Apparently this hotel is well known among local for having some of the best hot chocolate in Oslo.

Plus points of this hotel include; the breakfast, the bar and the location (and small fitness room)

Down sides are that the rooms are slightly dated and need a bit of tlc.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank andyhook2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Normally on vacation we prefer staying at smaller, non chain hotels but I wanted to use some credit card points....For a large hotel there was a great deal of old school charm. The lobby and hotel bar were very welcoming and the breakfast buffet was huge! The room/bathroom was nothing special. Large by European standards. Great location! About a 7 min walk to the main train station and 5 min to the harbor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The short story:
Pros: The bar, the breakfast and the historic setting
Cons: Bathroom needed new tiles, no chance to open windows, touch sensitive minibars, small towels

I enjoy staying at hotels from time to time. Partly because I enjoy hotel breakfasts, and compared to other Norwegian hotel breakfasts, this one is up there among the best ones.
I also like to spend quality time pampering and there Bristol has some shortcomings. The towels are neither large nor fluffy. I get the "cheap'ish" feeling. which is a bit sad. Also, there were some loose tiles both on the floor and those surronding the tub. I liked their eco-friendly attitude from the aspect that they were having wall mounted bottles of shampoo and shower gel. A very good brand as well.

The hotel bar and the Library bar are some of mye favourite hotspots in Oslo. I have never ever tasted such a good hot chocolate and is bordering on an iconic status.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a fabulous hotel, very historic and grand. The lobby is a great place to sit and enjoy coffee with friends. The rooms are very clean and comfortable but COLD. Of course you can turn the heating up but it take quite some time for this to take effect in large rooms with high ceilings - it took in fact until the next morning just before checkout.
The really great aspect of note to this hotel was the cocktail bar which was excellent - really friendly, helpful bar staff, knowledgeable and happy to make whatever you would like to drink. So leave the room and just sit and have a cocktail or two.
The location is excellent for both shopping and sight seeing, it is really in the centre of things. There is however a noisy pub nearby and unfortunately we arrived at the same time as a large group of very drunk and very noisy football supporters - this of course is not the fault of the hotel, just bad luck.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praguevisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
366 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#10 of 102 in Oslo
871 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#5 Family Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £124 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing