We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent grand hotel”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed there for 6 nights. Hotel is located on a quieter street in bustling Oslo, but just block or so from the attractions. It is an older hotel, but it is so well maintained and refurbished that it is better than any of the newer hotels. It is warm and welcoming. Breakfast was high quality and good variety. Airconditioning is adequate. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. Mostaba was great.

Room Tip: Higher floor west facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank acimex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear acimex

What a great pleasure it was to read your review from your stay at Hotel Bristol. We allways strive to serve the highest quality breakfast, so we are very thankfull for the recognition.

Our friendly and helpfull staff wishes you a relaxfull summer and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Location location location! We found it to be in a great spot to explore Oslo on foot. A little far from central train station to roll much luggage but great for getting to City Hall and the waterfront as well as the main pedestrian streets for cafes and shops. The staff was enthusiastic and helpful with suggestions and tips for the best things to see and where to go. We loved the Old World charm and vintage atmosphere. The rooms were comfortable as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatoratlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear gatoratlarge

Thank you so much for this positive review and recomendation. We are glad you found the location to be convenient situated in Oslo. Our staff is most greatfull for your lovely comments and wishes you a relaxfull summer.

We hope to see you again for your next trip to Oslo.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Traveling with friends, but staying in a room for one person, I was stunned at the difference in room quality. We paid the same price, but I was put in a very small room with one twin bed stuck into a corner. When I asked for a room similar to my friends, I was given the same small room, but on a different floor. The third time I got a room with a slightly bigger bed, but nothing like the rooms my friends had. Even they were surprised. If I had paid less than my friends I might understand, but when you pay the same price.........

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fdhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear fdhappy

We sincerely apologize for not beeing able to accomodate your request during your stay with us. We would apreciate if you could send us the roomnumber from your visit so we can look into this.

Please feel free to contact me during your next trip to Oslo, and I will personally see to a great experience.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Comfortable hotel but a little tired (tiles were falling off in our bathroom and the shower was in the bath which was all a bit cramped). Central location and airport bus stop just across the road. We were there on a very hot day and one of our 2 rooms (516) was very hot - there is no air conditioning but they gladly changed rooms for us. Once again couldn't get adjoining rooms in this hotel which can be an issue travelling with small kids. The staff were very helpful in arranging transports etc. The buffet breakfast is very good and if you are tired of the black brewed coffee that Nowegians appear to be so find of there was a Nespresso machine!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Luke J

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive review from you stay with us. We do have some adjoining rooms available, we are sorry that we could not accomodate this request during your stay. We are glad to see that you were taken well cared of by our staff, and that you enjoyed the breakfast as well as the Nespresso option.

We wish you a wonderfull summer and hope to see you back again at Hotel Bristol.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel Bristol's brunch had a great variety of dishes to please everyone's taste and needs. The room was really good, the shower powerful. Personnel were very professional and when we had questions, the Service staff handled it well. Location is simply the best. Within walking distance to the Royal Palace, the City Hall, Nobel Peace Center, downtown, 3 different shopping center.

Also, if you get the "Flybus" from the airport for about $20-25 dollars each, the big bus will drop you off within 270 feet from the hotel's entrance plus the bus has wifi so you can get your electronics update while you travel from the airport to the hotel. No need to pay high prices for a taxi.

Room Tip: The most quiet rooms are overlooking the inside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Spitfire04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Spitfire04

Thank for this positive review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that we were able to contribute to a sucessfull experience in Oslo.

We hope to see you again for your next trip.

Welcome back!

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here twice on a recent trip to Norway. After landing from the US, we stayed overnight before leaving on a train and at the end of our trip, we stayed here two nights. Both nights were very good. We took the Flytoget train from and to the airport. It was an easy 15 minute walk to or from the central train station. The best part of our stay was the amazing breakfast. Unless you have impossible needs, you will find food to your liking at breakfast.

Room Tip: We just took what we got and were happy with both rooms in our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear southborough_man

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review from your stay at Hotel Bristol. We apreciate your lovely comments regarding the breakfast that we continuously try to improve.

We wish you a great summer and welcome back any time.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

There is only one thing to say about this hotel. Amazing!
The breakfast is more than what you can expect, and the service is great.
Especially the guys in the front desk deserve attention for the great service.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank petterj8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Petterj8888

Thank you for this lovely comment on Tripadvisor. It was a great pleasure to see that we could meet your expectations when it comes to breakfast and service.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

We wish you a great summer.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Grand Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oslo
412 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
THE THIEF
#3 of 102 in Oslo
1,844 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,296 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £132 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing