We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Bristol--Good location”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Ark533
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Bristol--Good location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. Easy to get to from the airport with Flybus from the airport, which I would definitely recommend (as you come out of the custom, the desk for bus is right there, with the bus parked right outside of the door). Check in at the hotel was quick and front desk personnel was very friendly. The family room was reasonably sized but there is no air-conditioning available. We asked for a fan, which was delivered to us quickly. It is an old hotel with old configurations for the room and bathroom. Breakfast was served on second floor with good choices of fruits and drinks. It was more than adequate. Staff was very accommodating and efficient. It is located in a near central area and is easily walkable to all the tourist places.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ark533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Ark533

Thank you for this nice review and for choosing Hotel Bristol. We appreciate the positive feedback regarding our location, service and breakfast.

We to hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    519
    133
    28
    21
See reviews for
128
487
99
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
402 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This older hotel is delightful, except for the street noise. Rooms are well maintained, staff is helpful and responsive, breakfast buffet is very good. First night was fine, second though, even with the windows shut, the noise from the bar across the street woke me up at 02:00 am. And it kept on till around 03:30.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggold113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear ggold113

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and that you found our staff to be helpfull and responsive. For your next visit you are free to request one of our more "quiet" rooms facing our courtyard.

On behalf of Hotel Bristol we wish you a pleasent summer and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It is a warm inviting atmosphere in a classical tradition. It is an older hotel, but well kept. The street noise gets a little loud if you have to have the windows open. There is no air conditioning so if it is warm you need open windoows. The breakfast buffet was good with many choices. The location was good as it was around the corner from the National Gallery if you want to see The Scream. It was close to all things downtown

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribmanChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear CaribmanChicago

Thank you for the postive feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast as well as our central location.

Hope to see you again for your next trip to Oslo.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gjovik Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My favourite hotel in Oslo. The Winter Garden/Library bar is an experience in itself, live piano music, great atmosphere, excellent a la carte sandwiches and fabulous cakes. A preferred hotel for low key national and international celebrities (once I checked in next to Sting, another time the national soccer team of Norway). Central location, quiet street right behind Carl Johan, the main street of Oslo.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear F H

Thank you for this wonderfull feedback. We are proud to be your favourite hotel in Oslo.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnetka, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed there for 6 nights. Hotel is located on a quieter street in bustling Oslo, but just block or so from the attractions. It is an older hotel, but it is so well maintained and refurbished that it is better than any of the newer hotels. It is warm and welcoming. Breakfast was high quality and good variety. Airconditioning is adequate. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. Mostaba was great.

Room Tip: Higher floor west facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank acimex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear acimex

What a great pleasure it was to read your review from your stay at Hotel Bristol. We allways strive to serve the highest quality breakfast, so we are very thankfull for the recognition.

Our friendly and helpfull staff wishes you a relaxfull summer and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Location location location! We found it to be in a great spot to explore Oslo on foot. A little far from central train station to roll much luggage but great for getting to City Hall and the waterfront as well as the main pedestrian streets for cafes and shops. The staff was enthusiastic and helpful with suggestions and tips for the best things to see and where to go. We loved the Old World charm and vintage atmosphere. The rooms were comfortable as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatoratlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear gatoratlarge

Thank you so much for this positive review and recomendation. We are glad you found the location to be convenient situated in Oslo. Our staff is most greatfull for your lovely comments and wishes you a relaxfull summer.

We hope to see you again for your next trip to Oslo.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Traveling with friends, but staying in a room for one person, I was stunned at the difference in room quality. We paid the same price, but I was put in a very small room with one twin bed stuck into a corner. When I asked for a room similar to my friends, I was given the same small room, but on a different floor. The third time I got a room with a slightly bigger bed, but nothing like the rooms my friends had. Even they were surprised. If I had paid less than my friends I might understand, but when you pay the same price.........

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear fdhappy

We sincerely apologize for not beeing able to accomodate your request during your stay with us. We would apreciate if you could send us the roomnumber from your visit so we can look into this.

Please feel free to contact me during your next trip to Oslo, and I will personally see to a great experience.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#15 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#5 Family Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing