We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Old Day Charm ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
241 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Location, Old Day Charm ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location that is in easy walking distance for any sightseeing you want to do.
Royal Palace, Nobel Museum, Resistance Museum, ferry to Viking Museum and many others.
The rooms are very comfortable and quite charming. The lobby has the flare of the olden times yet the conveniences of today. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Jim L

Thank you for this lovely recomendation on Tripadvisor. We are happy that we could accomodate all your needs during your trip to Oslo.

We hope to see you again for your next visit.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    511
    130
    27
    21
See reviews for
128
478
98
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here in July during our visit to Oslo. Perfect location to visit all main attractions in Oslo. Great breakfast as well. Hotel is an older one, but a classic. Unfortunately, the main restaurant and bar were closed, but we enjoyed the Library Bar. Just be prepared for sticker shock, which, as we learned, is the norm in Norway. Were even charged $5 for a bowl a peanuts in the bar! That was an unexpected charge for "bar snacks". Strongly recommend. Ask for a fan if you visit during warm months, as room was a bit stuffy.

Travel tip...skip the touristy boat tour for about $75pp for two hrs, and take the public ferry (part of the public transit system) that takes the locals to 6 islands. The ferry was $10 each and we spent two hours going from island to island. We didn't get off, but could have. Had we planned ahead, we would have brought beverages to enjoy the ride. We were the only "tourists" aboard.

Room Tip: Inside room was quiet. No view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouixC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear SouixC

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this postive review as well as the usefull traveltips for Oslo.

We are sorry that you did not get to experience our main restaurant that has been under full renovation this summer. I am happy to announce that Bristol Grill is now open for business.

We hope to see you for your next trip to Oslo.

Welcome back!

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ark533
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. Easy to get to from the airport with Flybus from the airport, which I would definitely recommend (as you come out of the custom, the desk for bus is right there, with the bus parked right outside of the door). Check in at the hotel was quick and front desk personnel was very friendly. The family room was reasonably sized but there is no air-conditioning available. We asked for a fan, which was delivered to us quickly. It is an old hotel with old configurations for the room and bathroom. Breakfast was served on second floor with good choices of fruits and drinks. It was more than adequate. Staff was very accommodating and efficient. It is located in a near central area and is easily walkable to all the tourist places.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ark533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Ark533

Thank you for this nice review and for choosing Hotel Bristol. We appreciate the positive feedback regarding our location, service and breakfast.

We to hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
355 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This older hotel is delightful, except for the street noise. Rooms are well maintained, staff is helpful and responsive, breakfast buffet is very good. First night was fine, second though, even with the windows shut, the noise from the bar across the street woke me up at 02:00 am. And it kept on till around 03:30.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggold113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear ggold113

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and that you found our staff to be helpfull and responsive. For your next visit you are free to request one of our more "quiet" rooms facing our courtyard.

On behalf of Hotel Bristol we wish you a pleasent summer and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
179 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

It is a warm inviting atmosphere in a classical tradition. It is an older hotel, but well kept. The street noise gets a little loud if you have to have the windows open. There is no air conditioning so if it is warm you need open windoows. The breakfast buffet was good with many choices. The location was good as it was around the corner from the National Gallery if you want to see The Scream. It was close to all things downtown

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribmanChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear CaribmanChicago

Thank you for the postive feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast as well as our central location.

Hope to see you again for your next trip to Oslo.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gjovik Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My favourite hotel in Oslo. The Winter Garden/Library bar is an experience in itself, live piano music, great atmosphere, excellent a la carte sandwiches and fabulous cakes. A preferred hotel for low key national and international celebrities (once I checked in next to Sting, another time the national soccer team of Norway). Central location, quiet street right behind Carl Johan, the main street of Oslo.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear F H

Thank you for this wonderfull feedback. We are proud to be your favourite hotel in Oslo.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnetka, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed there for 6 nights. Hotel is located on a quieter street in bustling Oslo, but just block or so from the attractions. It is an older hotel, but it is so well maintained and refurbished that it is better than any of the newer hotels. It is warm and welcoming. Breakfast was high quality and good variety. Airconditioning is adequate. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. Mostaba was great.

Room Tip: Higher floor west facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank acimex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander B, Leder  at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear acimex

What a great pleasure it was to read your review from your stay at Hotel Bristol. We allways strive to serve the highest quality breakfast, so we are very thankfull for the recognition.

Our friendly and helpfull staff wishes you a relaxfull summer and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Alexander Bergh
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#16 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#5 Family Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing