We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and clean hotel, well located. Would stay again.”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A comfortable and clean hotel, well located. Would stay again.”
Reviewed 15 January 2010

TripAdvisor reviews of Oslo hotels are very mixed and so we spent a lot of time considering which place to stay, and in the end gambled on the Bristol. We were happy with the choice. The room was clean and comfortable, the hotel ambience traditional and festive for Christmas. The hotel was well heated, and we were able to open our room window as we needed for any ventilation. Our room had a vestibule for hanging coats etc, and this reduced hallway noise to zero, but the wall to the adjoining room was a bit thin and we could hear their tv. Thankfully the neighbours kept reasonable hours and went to sleep about when we wanted, so we didn't have to deal with partying teens etc. The hotel restaurant served traditional Christmas foods and these were done well. The buffet breakfast was very good and we pilfered liberally to make packed lunches. Internet was free. The hotel itself is very well located in the centre of the city, and Oslo itself is a beautiful city that is easy to get around. Overall we found this a good hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barium99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    534
    140
    29
    21
See reviews for
130
511
103
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

It is right in the center,very close to all the shops and restaurants and also to the public transport(tram),the staff was very helpful and friendly and it is just next to London Pub whitch it is a very popular gay pub.
i got a double room but it was a interior room so i did not have a nice wiew but it was big and very clean,i have nothing complain about...
the taxi service is pretty good,if you ask for a taxi you will get in no time no matter what time it is and you also get a good price
The meals were very tasty and yummy and i think the prices are probably good if you compare it to other places in Oslo,anyway i would recommed this hotel to any of my friends!!!

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel-Jet-Setter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We stayed here at the end of our European holiday vacation. This is an absolutely charming, old world hotel with a youthful energetic and caring staff. The location is fantastic - you can walk to the town center or the waterfront in minutes. The staff on the front desk is nothing short of fantastic - they are exceptionally customer service focused. The breakfast buffet is outstanding, the library is great for drinks or coffee, and our dinner in the Bristol Grill was memorable. Top notch hotel!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cntrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Ihave just arrived back after a 3 night stay in this hotel. The hotel has an extremly convenient location, just 1 street away from city centre square. Oslo is a compact city and everywhere of importance is within walking distance of this hotel. The service in the hotel was fantastic, all staff spoke excellent english. my room (a double) was of a good size with a flat screen tv inside. the bathroom was good too providing plenty of room and with underfloor heating. The breakfast was plenty and filling. the only thing i found wrong with the room was the double bed as two single beds pushed together. Although the bed was good and comfortable. outside of this i loved oslo and i absolutly loved this hotel. i would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandGavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2009

Excellent hotel to experience warm traditional feel with beautiful Mo Moorish Decor. Nice comfy beds and warm rooms. Walking distance to shopping and tourist attractions.

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank shahkaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Great location in central Oslo, just where you want to be for the main sights and shopping and very close to the National Theatre train station for a twenty minute ride to and from the airport. Hotel has a slightly faded feel about it, but if anything this enhances the old world charm. Pleasant, comfortable rooms with wooden floors and under-floor heating in the bathrooms is a nice touch in winter. Staff were generally very pleasant and helpful. Only complaint would be breakfast where an otherwise enjoyable stay was mildly tarnished by a limited buffet and the least communicative staff I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliestubbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

I arrived at the hotel late one evening as a walk in guest without reservation, just needing a place to stay for the night, had been travelling for a couple of days and looked a bit scruffy , not clean shaven and in jeans - a contrast to the other well groomed guests that at the time were at the reception. Still I was received and treated very well, and told a room was available. When the check in was done I was told I was upgraded to a better room at the same standart rate I was quoted at the beginning. The room was very nice, the bathroom comfortable and spotlessly clean - big tub, shower and a separate wc room. The room faced the street, but no streetnoise at all came through. Roomservice arrived promptly, the food was ok, but part of it had been prepared well before my order. The bed was ok, but have experienced better. Check out was quick and efficient. All in all a nice hotel, a nice experience and I wouldnt mind staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#10 of 101 in Oslo
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 101 in Oslo
2,109 reviews
The Thief
#3 of 101 in Oslo
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#5 Family Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing