We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you a bee around the honeypot?”
Review of Restaurant Sawan

Restaurant Sawan
Ranked #39 of 1,482 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Are you a bee around the honeypot?”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Tourists, and locals for that sake, tend to relate to central area restaurants like bees around a honeypot. But often moving a little off the beaten track can have great benefits. If you care to walk for 10 minutes behind The Royal Palace you will be at Restaurant Sawan - a modern thai fusion restaurant. You probably won´t regret the walk.

We had the Tom Kah Gai soup, Popya springrolls and Gaeng Ped Taley seafood in red curry. The presentation was as elegant as the interior design and the taste was fabulous and well balanced.

When Sawan opened in 2012 several reviewers commented on slow service. The service we had was perfect, so it seems as they have taken the hint and improved it.

PS: Try the cocktails – for example the Ginger Bomb!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank VonKrogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    85
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good service”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Without a doubt one of the best east-asian couisine in Oslo, period.
Everything on the menu is tempting, an they have a great selection of wine as well.
Not too expensive for the quality eiter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nico1983_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Very good Thai food”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The food was really good and it's no wonder why the place was full packed even on a Tuesday evening. Most people sat outside. They have quite a big outdoor seating.

We had 5 dishes and dessert. It started with a salmon and a white fish as starters and then 4 other dishes followed: tuna with foie gras on the side, a collection of different kind of small dishes, 2 types of maki and lastly, the crispy duck with the wrapper and the vegetables.

We had dessert and it was a collection of small pieces of cake.

They serve white and red wine. I don't know how much was the cost as we were only invited but I think you could check their prices on the website. I would only guess that a bottle of wine here costs from 450 kroner and up.

I highly recommend this restaurant to those who would like to experience authentic Thai dishes in Oslo. The food making reminds me of Nodee and Diner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingisagift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

A wonderful and sublime dining experience. The presentation of the food and attention to detail was remarkable, the food exquisite, all combined with excellent service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 60Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good asian food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was here with a bunch of colleagues. We had a delicious 4-5 course menu.
There was shared platters with lots of different food to choose from.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eivind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Sawan also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Restaurant Sawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing